We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (88)
Filter reviews
88 results
Traveller rating
48
24
7
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
48
24
7
5
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 88 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2017

When our group goes on these trips as we do medical mission work, we don't expect too much of hotels. We generally want to put more money into helping people. The hotel looked in great shape. The rooms were very clean and modern. The bed was very comfortable as well as the linens. I will even say the WIFI was incredibly fast. I carry an in-country local hotspot and the hotel wifi was still faster as I have to upload video fro our group. I will also say the buffet at the restaurant was very good as well. They had some themes and each night was always something good.

The staff was extremely attentive and helpful and really worked hard. Manta is a recovering area and this hotel is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Hobbesey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cesar T, Director Comercial at Hotel Sail Plaza Manta, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Dear Hobbesey:

You know that hte hotel is your home, please feel free tocontact us any time to come back any time you will like.


Best Regards,
CESAR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017

The best hotel we have ever stayed in
Beautiful facility. Outstanding customer service from every employee Juan was waiting for us at the airport with our name on a large poster. Jorge went out of his way to help us get a sandwich when we did want the full buffet. We did not speak Spanish, but this was never a problem. We cannot say enough praise for this hotel staff

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Marquette50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cesar T, Director Comercial at Hotel Sail Plaza Manta, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Dear Marquette:

Thank you very much for your comments, please feel free to contact us any time to come back to the hotel, you will be always welcome.

Best Regards,
CESAR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2017

Excellent hotel, either for business or family saty, have all the services, very kind crue, excellent food, great rooms, and it the salons are very big and nice, all rooms have sea view, will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank ofrig2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017

The evening of April 11 expats were going to go to dinner. So we decided to go to the NEW BEST WESTERN PLAZA SAIL and check it out. This is something we do on a regular basis. One of the lady's is a great pianist so she played for us. We were the only people in the lounge and we all ordered drinks. We then found out that the bar wasn't staffed but they would have no problem serving us.WRONG! It took anywhere from 20 to 40 minutes to receive our first drink or glass of wine. I ordered gin and tonic and after about 10 minutes I was informed that they couldn't make a gin and tonic. But they did have vodka and orange juice. Well after another 10 plus minutes I did receive a glass of orange juice with a hint of vodka in it. Next week went to the dining room, nice area but empty. At that time we took a vote and voted not to waste our time at the BEST WESTERN PLAZA SAIL.
I MUST say the young lady at the reception desk had perfect English and did the best she could to apologize for the management. I felt sorry for her as the hotel management should have staffing to accommodate people that come thru the door. We were the only people who came in the door.

Room Tip: Oro Verde is a great choice.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank HowardWestSeattleWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cesar T, Director Comercial at Hotel Sail Plaza Manta, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2017

DearHoward, thank you very much for your opinion and we are so sorry with your for all the inconvenients during your visit to the hotel as you may feell we are in an openning process and we are going to have bilingual people all over the hotel, so please we want you to apologize as for this , let us to have another opportunity to serve you as we have to do.

Best Regards,
CESAR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

People and staff everywhere throughout the hotel are very customer friendly, service oriented and highly motivated, a very good basis for future success! Especially the guys at reception are very helpful. In general this hotel has a lot of potential. Beautiful swimming pool and comfortable reclining chairs. Rooms are good in general, as one expects from this hotel type.

And I'm absolutely sure it will be five star and highly ranked on hotel sites and Tripadvisor in the near future, considering the large scale effort to finish the building and decorate the remaining rooms. And that sums it up: the hotel is not yet ready enough. It's been open for a few weeks we were told. So for now, I'm afraid I cannot give it a high score yet, because expectations of high-end upmarket hotel were high. There are some startup issues. Below are the reasons why, and I am writing this so that the very motivated staff can learn and improve, and will make this place a high score in the future.

Some electrical wall outlets not working in room. Check all rooms on working outlets.

No hot water in shower; they tried to fix it immediately for us, but no luck. Things like hot water should be ready in an upmarket hotel, one would expect broken hot water in a hostel, not in this type of high end hotel. Check all rooms on hot and cold water.

Big buffet lunch served every day for virtually no guests, what a waste of a lot of good food. Very uninspiring restaurant decor. No a la carte, only after insisting; we don't want to spend 40 dollars on buffet, while all we want is one sandwich...

Underground parking and hotel site construction still in full swing. Building waste materials are not disposed of, but just dumped outside the hotel. Sea view from left side of building is pretty good, but way too much garbage and building waste just laying on the ground, which looks like it could have been cleaned up several months ago. Clean all garbage in the hotel surroundings visible to customers.

Some part of the swimming pool area can not be reached, only through shallow water. Looks like steps were forgotten.

Fitness equipment not hooked up. Not ready. Electrical cable plugs of fitness equipment do not match power wall outlets... Hook up the right cables.

Booked superior suite, but not ready, as in: not completed furnishing and decorating it. Got standard double, which is a perfectly fine room, but don't sell the superior suite in the first place if you don't have it.

Tv only one channel. Cannot figure out how to get other channels (and I am in the IT industry). Provide each room with a manual.

Booked one large king bed, but got two single beds instead. Give customers what they booked, or check with customer instead of proactively changing it without consultation.

Lobby music system is just little too loud late in the evening, it keeps you awake when you are trying to sleep...

I guess a restaurant must be built on the terrace looking towards sea, but not there yet.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank WouterAmstel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews