We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2012

If you want to be right in the center of everything...and you have money to burn, this place is your address. You get all the wildlife you can imagine thanks to the birds, iguanas, and other animals that are probably paid employees who show up to hang out by the pool all day.

Room Tip: Get the Charles Darwin room...perfect for the animal lover in you.
Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
2  Thank SoloSeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
finchbayhotel, Gerente at Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

Dear SoloSeat,

Thank you very much for your review, our peaceful location is a blessing, we are right in front of the beach surrounded by mangroves and lagoons, wildlife is all over, the perfect place for nature lovers like you!
What you write about the wildlife you find around the hotel is funny but at the same time makes me think about animals and nature in general, they dont charge anything for us to see and enjoy their beauty, one more reason to be happy and grateful with life!

Best regards,

Xavier Burbano de Lara T.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (871)
There are newer reviews for Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

472 - 476 of 872 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2012

Quite a trip from the airport involving a bus, two boats, a taxi and a walk that passes by a nesting site for marine iguanas but when you arrive this is a little haven. The rooms are not luxurious but they are clean and relatively spacious with everything you need, no TV thank goodness - why would you need one, there is a lovely balcony with hammock. We did have an ocean view and to my mind it is worth the extra. Being vegetarian I found the food lovely, quite the nicest breakfast all holiday and this was our 7th out of 8 hotels during our trip. The chef was very amenable and prepared some lovely veggie options for me and the matre d' really took care to ensure everyone was spoken to by name and looked after. The pool is great and the chairs just inside looking out onto the pool were my favourite place to sit with a G&T or beer and just chill after a long days outing. Excursions booked on the hotels yacht are expensive and limited in the options but they are very nice and well run. If you wnat to go elsehwere then the hotel will book it for you with other companies so do ask, you can be more certain of getting what you want then.. Bug spray is essential for early evening as the bugs are pretty evil - we were there in April so the end of the wet season so perhaps a bit worse. Rain almost constant in land, so if you go to the Giant Tortoise finca then take a waterpoof - if you don't then be prepared to get wet and muddy (they do provide wellies so socks are a good thing to take), it is a grat trip and most of the taxi drivers will take you there and be your guide for about $30/35 - a must do as it is one of the only places to see them in their natural habitat. Away from the highlands it is hot and mostly sunny (quite high humidity in April) beware when it is cloudy as you will still burn so good quality high factor sunscreen is essential. Absolutely recommend this hotel and truly hope to go back one day.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penjn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
finchbayhotel, Gerente at Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

Dear Penjn,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review, your feedback and suggestions to other travellers are appreciated, you will be always welcome and we look forward to see you again and be able to serve you.
The other "must do" when you are in Santa Cruz Island is to visit Tortuga Bay, the most famous and most beautiful beach in the Galapagos Islands.

Warm regards,

Xavier Burbano de Lara T.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Good, inventive food and a relaxing, out-of-the-way location make for a relaxing time at this Puerto Ayora resort in the Galapagos.
Clean, spacious rooms with outdoor seating and hammock.
Lovely pool and a beach right in front of the hotel. Within walking distance of Las Grietas - a landlocked pool surrounded by high rocks from which locals and tourists jump into the water.
It is at least an hour trip from the airport in Baltra, so the hotel-organized transfer for $50 is well worth it if you are not familiar with the 'planes, trains and automobile'-like journey from Baltra to the hotel.
Puerto Ayora has many shops for good quality souvenirs.
Book any day trips through the hotel, as local vendors don't always provide what they promise.
Take bug spray, as the mosquitoes are vicious and strike right at sundown.

Room Tip: Not sure the ocean views are worth the extra $100 per night, but if you want one, book early, as the...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hamburgdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
finchbayhotel, Gerente at Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

Dear hamburgdude,

Thank you very much for your review and for sharing your experience and suggestions with other travellers, Las Grietas is an amazing geological formation and the perfect place to take a bath in the hot season, it is like a natural aquarium and in fact, a place for "extreme adventure" if you jump into the water from the cliff..
I hope you had a nice time in the Enchanted Islands!

Best regards,

Xavier Burbano de Lara T.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

The long way is really worth it: here you lounge at the swimming pool and ducks, pelicans or cormorants stop by to take a bath in the pool :-) When the sun sets you will need an insect repellant right away, unless you want to be carried away as prey...
The food is great, breakfast is for an island in the middle of the ocean very good. The rooms and beds a better than standard, but the bathroom could be renovated.
We can really recommend a stay at the Finch Bay Eco Lodge!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biker5050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
finchbayhotel, Gerente at Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

Dear biker5050,

Thank you very much for your review and suggestions, believe it or not i have seen even baby marine iguanas coming to the pool; insects show up during the hot season and it is very important to bring bug´s spray, we have it always available at the bar and frontdesk. We are renovating the bathrooms in the Garden View Rooms.
I am happy to know you had a great time in Galapagos and look forward to see you again.


Best regards,

Xavier Burbano de Lara T.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

lovely 5 day relax despite some rain. lovely big bed in a/c room. Pristine bathroom. Outside sitting area and a hammock! Lovely clean pool area which on one day we had to ourselves while other guests were out visiting the islands. Pretty beach at the end of the patio area. Good breakfasts and nice dinners. Also had some lunches by the pool. Our package did not include any outings and we shyed at paying £150($220) each! for a day out so booked an afternoon outing in Puero Ayora for $35 each. Getting from the airport to the hotel takes just under 2 hours and involves a (free) bus, a ferry, a private taxi, a water taxi and a 10 minute walk while your luggage is being transported by either tractor or wheelbarrow. all very organised. the pool area could do with some more parasols with the sunbeds and every evening we had to ask for the fans in the openair restaurant to be switched on. Free wi-fi in an a/c room which also had books and a TV. Bar area by the pool. Staff quite helpful although at times the service was a bit slow. One of the waitresses, Katty, was the exception! overall I would recommend this hotel for its position and peaceful location.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
finchbayhotel, Gerente at Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review and feedback, i just want to explain why our excursions are more expensive than the ones you found in town, we offer full day all included trips to 4 different islands aboard very confortable and spacious yatchs, the excursion you took was a half day bay tour aboard a smaller boat and i hope you had a nice experience.
I am delighted to know you liked our peaceful location and to know you had 5 lovely relaxed days!

Best regards,

Xavier Burbano de Lara T.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Ayora hotels
10.3 km away
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
#1 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
435 reviews
1.2 km away
Red Mangrove
Red Mangrove
#8 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
663 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Cucuve Suites
Hotel Cucuve Suites
#4 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
#3 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
348 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#7 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
314 reviews
7.8 km away
Casa Natura Galapagos Lodge
Casa Natura Galapagos Lodge
#14 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Puerto Ayora

Been to Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel

Address: Punta Estrada S/N | Puerto Ayora, Puerto Ayora, Ecuador (Formerly Finch Bay Eco Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Ayora
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Ayora
Price Range: $494 - $781 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning hotel enjoys a peaceful and magical beachfront location in Puerto Ayora, on Santa Cruz Island. The 21 Garden View-rooms and 6 Ocean View suites hotel makes the ideal base for exploring the natural diversity and attractions of the island – including Tortuga Bay beach – and for taking day-trips to nearby islands, aboard its own, specialized yacht. The hotel also implements best practices in sustainable tourism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Finch Bay Eco
Finch Bay Eco Puerto Ayora
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing