We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fanastic visit at Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 15 August 2017

We stayed at Semilla Verde in July 2017 for 9 nights. Prior to arrival, we were very concerned about how our food restrictions and room requirements would be addressed. However, we were very relieved as the food and rooms were all excellent and the staff made changes to the menu to suit our dietary needs. We certainly felt quite at home at the hotel!

Cattya was extremely helpful in making arrangements for our travel and tours and was very hospitable. That was a very positive experience.

We stayed in the Finch Wing - very beautiful and warm décor. The rooms were comfortable and we had a fantastic view of the surroundings.

We were also pleased to see that being environmentally conscious was also one of their priorities of Semilla Verde.

Thank you Robert, Cattya and staff for your hospitality and great food. To summarize, Semilla Verde is a great and safe place to stay!

The Hotel is suitable for all. Children have the freedom to run outdoors safely.

Winston & family

Room Tip: Finch Wing rooms - beautiful.
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank winstonm315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SemillaVerde, Owner at Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Dear Winston & Family,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of Semilla Verde. It was our pleasure to host your visit and I am so glad that I got to meet you personally.

As a small boutique-style hotel we are flexible enough to offer such an exceptional experience and tailor our services on a personal level, ensuring that each and everyone of your family group is happy.

All our nine rooms have a view through sliding glass doors to a private terrace and the world beyond, whether that be the coastline and Pacific Ocean or our very own private forest, the coffee plantation or the tortoise pond and flower gardens.

Semilla Verde was designed originally for family and friends to enjoy intimate and quality time together, and that philosophy still holds true today.

Thank you once again for your review and for recommending us so highly.

Our very warmest regards,

Robert, Cattya & the SV Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (446)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 446 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2017

Perfect place to combine a family vacation with daily trips to different Islands in the Galapagos! We had an amazing vacation!

Robert, the owner, was incredibly patient in answering all my questions prior to booking and, most importantly, in organizing a great variety of boat tours with enthusiastic and knowledgeable guides. We stayed 6 days and he choose a broad variety of experiences. So happy we didn't take a cruise. It would have felt too confined for our family's desire to have a blend of privacy and group experiences. Plus, it was a more economical approach.

The accommodations were wonderful. Feels like you are living in the jungle! Plus they have 2 wonderful lab puppies that my kids loved. They also have a hotel employee facilitate and accompany you on your transportation to and from the airport. He was particularly helpful in navigating the crowds on the return to the airport. Overall, the hotel manager Cat and her staff were incredibly helpful and friendly! I have a son who is vegan, and Cat and her team went above and beyond not only meeting his dietary needs but serving absolutely delicious meals. Speaking of Cat and staff, they are the best! I don't write a lot of reviews - but this was a very special place. Strongly recommend!!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SemillaVerde, Owner at Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

Dear Jim,

Thanks very much for your kind words. A trip to Galapagos is a big decision and an even bigger investment and so it's important that we work closely with you to get the details just right. As a naturalist guide with almost two decades in the islands I am well placed to help you craft an itinerary that is suitable for each member of your group, especially regarding land based tours from Santa Cruz Island and indeed island cruises.

And yes, our staff are just wonderful and we feel very lucky and honoured to have each and every one of them on the team.

Our very warmest regards,

Robert, Cattya & the SV Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017

We genuinely enjoyed the service, facilities and daytrips (booked via Semilla Verde). Food was delicious, atmosphere lovely, and Cattya is a phenomenal host. We traveled with a 1.5-year old, and while the Galapagos is a challenging destination with a toddler, the 4-night package worked out great for us. We also arranged a dive with Scuba Iguana and a babysitter through Semilla Verde, and we were very please with these too.

A sincere thank you, we hope to return one day. <3

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank nooras32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SemillaVerde, Owner at Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2017

Dear Noora,

It was long in planning, and not without it's challenges when your luggage didn't arrive on the plane, but we're so glad everything worked out in the end for you and the family. Thank you so much for your review.

We work with a local tour agent to formulate and book the tours on behalf of our guests and so thanks to them for their hard work and dedication to their work. And Mayra is a very caring and careful babysitter, we'll pass on your compliments.

Our very warmest regards,

Robert, Cattya & the SV Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017

We spent three nights here, and it ranks among the best places we've ever stayed. We're very happy to add another 5* review to all the others which persuaded us to choose Semilla Verde in the first place. It's a perfect sanctuary from which to explore the wonders of the Galapagos, but also to avoid the touristy side of the town - although not so far that you can't easily get a taxi, if you fancy a trip one evening (although why would you?). The hotel, which stands in large, lush grounds up in the cloud forest, about 12K out of town, is beautifully conceived and elegantly furnished, in a local, unpretentious but fine style which feels of a piece with its absolutely stunning environment. There's a nice swimming pool, and a very comfortable lounge area in the house. Our room, no 9, had a sensational 180 degree view of tree tops, drifting mist, and in the distance the coast. At night, there's no traffic, only the sounds of the forest. We slept brilliantly.
Robert, naturalist, guide and enthusiast, and his staff are extremely nice people, great fun, passionate, superbly helpful. You eat with other guests at long tables, which we loved - much cheerful conversation - and the food, cooked in the kitchen, is healthy, plentiful and extremely good. No crappy breakfast buffets here. Excellent tours can be arranged by the hotel, and we recommend you take these, as Robert knows what he's talking about, and booking tours in town is a lottery. As a gay couple we were also made to feel supremely welcome. Thank you Robert and Cattya, for a glorious visit. We can't wait to return...

Room Tip: We loved room 9 - worth the extra for the beautiful views, the handsome wardrobes and the excellent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SemillaVerde, Owner at Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2017

Dear Nick,

Thank you so much for your glowing review of our hotel and our people. It was our pleasure to host your visit and we very much enjoyed your company and positive vibes.

Semilla Verde was originally designed as an intimate retreat where close friends and family could escape from the hustle and bustle of modern life and their daily routines. The social and dining areas are spacious but intimate and allow our guests to easily interact with each other if that is their preference. Or enjoy quiet time alone if they wish.

The entire Semilla Verde experience is meant to be enjoyable for everyone, not only for our guests but for our staff members. The wonderful characters we have working with us reflect that sentiment and their contentment reflects in the service you receive and ultimately in the experience you enjoy.

We sincerely look forward to your return in the not too distant future.

Our very warmest regards,

Robert, Cattya & the SV Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017

Located in the sanctity of the Highlands, PA is only a short cab ride from SV. As a result, you can "have the best of both worlds" by staying here!

This trip was long in planning and Robert never disappointed. He customized an itinerary for our group and was always quick to get back to me. There's a very good reason SV is #1 in PA, Robert, Cattya and the team take care of everything.

In addition to this the food on site is delicious and authentic, customizing menus and using ingredients from the property. I only wish I drank coffee..........

Another part of the charm here is the stunningly beautiful property, with nature trails, abundant wildlife and the fun loving dogs.

Thank you ALL for enriching our lives!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TimeTraveler0123_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SemillaVerde, Owner at Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

Dear TimeTraveler,

Thank you for your concise and complementary review of Semilla Verde. We are especially pleased to have received your comments as you are such a seasoned traveler with hundreds of hotel experiences for comparison.

The pre-trip planning is as important to us as your experience at the hotel and this is why I dedicate my day to helping confirmed and potential guests with questions and recommendations. For anyone thinking about a trip to Galapagos, it can be a daunting task working through all the different options. As a naturalist guide myself I have worked on the cruise boats - both naturalist and scuba diving focussed - and the day tours, land and scuba again. So, I am well placed to answer almost any question that can come up and recommend the best course of action or itinerary for a particular person or group.

The hotel team itself is by far our best asset and are key to making the experience the best it can possibly be. All our staff are multi skilled and multi task so that everyone can move between the restaurant and hotel. Thus we maintain a consistent level of service and product.

Having said that we are not perfect and we actively welcome daily feedback from our guests so that we can correct any concerns immediately and not wait to read about them on an online forum such as Tripadvisor. And, of course a questionnaire is issued to everyone before they leave so we can reevaluate their experience and our service once they leave.

For example, I had resisted the temptation to build a swimming pool, but continual comments made me reevaluate. We have recently finished our new 'Rock Pool' but limited the size of the pool and made it a saltwater environment, not chemical chlorine. We use a machine that breaks down the salt crystals into sodium and a natural chlorine that doesn't affect your eyes nor leave you with greasy skin nor the 'smell of swimming pool'. It's a perfect alternative and ecologically responsible too.

Based on occasional other commentary, we will also be changing out our curtains and replacing those with roll blinds in the coming months. And swapping our towels back to clean white and somewhat thicker and softer material. All as a result of our customer feedback.

Once again I thank you very much for your gracious commentary. It was a pleasure hosting your visit and we are so glad you felt your lives 'enriched' by the experience.

Our very warmest regards,

Robert, Cattya & the SV Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Ayora hotels
10.3 km away
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
#2 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
893 reviews
9.4 km away
Red Mangrove Ecoluxury Hotel
Red Mangrove Ecoluxury Hotel
#8 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
673 reviews
10 km away
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
#3 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 km away
Hotel Cucuve Suites
Hotel Cucuve Suites
#4 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
71 reviews
9.2 km away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#7 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
321 reviews
6.6 km away
Casa Natura Galapagos Lodge
Casa Natura Galapagos Lodge
#11 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel

Address: Km 12, via a Baltra | Isla Santa Cruz, Puerto Ayora 200350, Ecuador (Formerly Semilla Verde Galapagos Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Puerto Ayora
Price Range: $275 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Semilla Verde is an exceptional hotel with the customs and personality of a traditional guesthouse." We believe your experience in the Galapagos Islands should be as unique and natural as you are. So, here at Semilla Verde we offer you the chance to stay somewhere far removed from your busy life and the standard hotel offering you may be used to. We invite you to step into another world, the original Galapagos, the true and enchanting islands. And, to experience the wonders of a rural forest dwelling and life alongside the unique wildlife you came so far to see. Your stay will be based in an original and idyllic rural retreat where peace, privacy and Galapagos wildlife abounds. You will enjoy one-to-one personal service, traditional home cooking, panoramic views from private terraces and exclusive access to nature trails through twelve acres of private forest where giant tortoises lumber freely and native birds thrive. At night, gaze up into the unspoilt majesty of the milky way. Nine comfortable en-suite bedrooms with AC, WiFi and DVD just 15 minutes taxi ride from Puerto Ayora town, costing just $7 e/w. All in all, an authentic and genuinely friendly and authentic land-base for your Galapagos adventure and an all encompassing alternative or add-on to a traditional cruise ship experience. Semilla Verde works with a local tour agency to offer complete hotel & tour package options too. You will visit outlying islands and local sites with qualified naturalist guides and experience first hand the beauty of Galapagos and it's unique flora and fauna - from giant tortoises and lava lizards to marine iguanas and playful sea lions, from volcanic landscapes to cloud forest. Return to the hotel at the end of an incomparable day and share your travel stories around the main dining table with other guests, whilst enjoying dinner freshly prepared in our kitchen. Indeed we don't work from a fixed menu rather we generally prepare one recipe for the group, but each guest receives a serving according to their individual preferences. The location is secluded but convenient and very safe. There is not another residence within hundreds of meters of this oasis. Semilla Verde remains true to the philosophy on which it originally built for good friends and family, ensuring a level of intimacy, small number of employees offering very personal service and home cooking your will only find in a traditional guesthouse. Semilla Verde comprises two hotel builidings some 100ft apart - the Semilla Verde Lodge (Rooms 1-6) and the Finch Wing (Rooms 7-9). They can work in unison or as separate entities for separate parties. betwen the two there is a fully equipped yoga studio where you can enjoy individual or group practice. Galapagos is famous for it's volcanic landscapes and unique wildlife, but it can also be somewhere for you to rediscover your true and unique nature, somewhere you can feel yourself again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au and Agoda so you can book your Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Semilla Verde Galapagos Hotel Puerto Ayora
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing