We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (179)
Filter reviews
179 results
Traveller rating
98
49
21
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
98
49
21
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor pool favorite hotel sea bass classic style premium room sleepless night huge balcony degrees outside wifi is free couple of nights long promenade beautiful hotel great view of the sea beautiful terrace private beach junior suite recommend this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 179 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2018

The Kvarner is the oldest hotel of Opatja and despite being fully renovated, it kept his „Grand Hotel“-charme from yesterday. We stayed in a seaside room with balcony, great view of the sea and the coastline. Room big enough to move around, balcony with chairs and table.
The terrace of the hotel is big enough, to find a quiet place for relaxing or reading, take a drink and a snack. We were there at the beginning of june during the week and it was really peaceful. Good Buffet-breakfast and you can take it on the terrace on warm days. Even the restaurant - we took lunch one day - was fine; the food fresh and well prepared, service ok - you shouldn’t be in a hurry ;-)
For me it’s perfect for a few days of peaceful retreat; you don’t need to leave the hotel, but if you do, you find restaurants and cafe nearby or you take a taxi and go to Volosko for dinner.

Room Tip: Seaside rooms with balcony
Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Gilda1501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2018

We have been in Hotel Kvarner many times before. Now, we asked for our last year's room, which we received, with a beautiful view of the sea and the scenic landscape. Breakfast is still fantastic, yoghurts, jams, cakes are homemade, tastefully decorated, Cleanliness throughout the hotel impeccable and the staff are helpful too.
This year, we got 2 coupons for beach towels that could be refunded and changed several times a day at the wellness section. Often they left little surprises in our room /fruits, cakes and chocolate/. We were very pleased to recommend this hotel to everyone for a restful vacation.
It is a pity that the rent a bicycle has been discontinued. Car parking is 50% more expensive than last year, and this is not stated anywhere (the car is taken to a city car park / We could not be parked in the front of the hotel, which is probably much cheaper , but I do´nt know how to divide it, because the parking places are cant be bookable. Despite of this, remains our favorite hotel .

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank katalin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2018 via mobile

Beautiful historical hotel, great rooms and service, excellent location with beautiful terrace sverlooking sea. Unfortunately tranquility is ruined by a nearby club from which loud music and beat overpowers everything and is everywhere. If you are having a meal on the terrace or enjoying hotel beach the loud beat is hitting your brain from 9 am till midnight. After a full day being exposed to that I couldn’t stand it any more and was avoiding to go to the beach for the rest of my stay. Alternative is hotel pool and that is what I did. Not the fault of the hotel management. Therefore not recommending it to anyone who wants to stay sane. Or wants peacefull holiday.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled solo
Thank ninci2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018 via mobile

The hotel is directly on the sea. It has a nice 19th c architecture. It has a private beach ( in concrete), 2 swimming pools (inside and outside), a beautiful and large terrasse overlooking the gulf of Kvarner. A jazz orchestra plays on the terrasse in the evening. The rooms are large and pleasant, probably recently renovated. Breakfast is excellent, with a huge choice of tasty fresh food. WiFi is free and fast. Overall, a very good choice and pleasant for a stop in Opatija.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank benjamin a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2018

We have been to this hotel twice. We absolutely love this place. The staff are amazing. The hotel is in a great location and the breakfast and the health spa are wonderful. The location is great. The hotel is next to a park, a night spot and several restaurants.
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are highly recommended.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sazanganeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews