We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (94)
Filter reviews
94 results
Traveller rating
52
27
9
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
52
27
9
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews comfortable bed breakfast buffet was excellent lounge chairs on arrival charming hotel many choices stay there again every morning air conditioning sink facilities reception terrace plug sea singer croatia
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 94 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2018 via mobile

The town of Opatija is nestled between the Adriatic Coast and steep hills, and is a real resort destination. Hotel Jakov is on the Main Street just about in the heart of walking trails, parks, swimming areas, and restaurants. This convenience is a real plus for the hotel.

Although small, it has a restaurant and bar, with outside dining overlooking a small park. A church is nearby, which chimes the time from 8 am to 9 pm....quaint but noisy. The hotel is old, and could use a little cosmetic upgrading. Few restaurant people speak English, though we were ultimately able to get what we wanted. The breakfast buffet was excellent with a large selection of pastries, fruit, and cooked to order eggs.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank bsimosd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milenij H, Manager at Amadria Park Hotel Sveti Jakov, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Thank you dear guest bsimosd for your review and recommendation.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another prefect stay.

Best regards,

Matteo Simonetti
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2018 via mobile

Had dinner with my wife at the Jakov terrace. Good quality fish, schrimp risotto with greetings from chef. Service at a high level too. Would recommend and will come back again, maybe with some friends as well...

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Nikola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milenij H, Manager at Amadria Park Hotel Sveti Jakov, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Dear Guest Nikola R,

First of all, thank You for being our guests and for taking some time to provide us with this great review! We are glad to see that we met your expectation.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Best regards from Opatija,

Matteo Simonetti
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

We had a good size group of about 20, mostly friends, but all fun people. Staying here at this hotel while we were in the superb city of Opatija made our time there even better. Now, we did not have a fire drill like apparently one couple did who stayed there a while ago, but I would hope if such drills are needed they would do so quickly and effectively. AND...I would not expect to have the clearest explanation of circumstances since I don't speak Croatian. Besides, getting up early would have given me more time to enjoy the hotel, its food, drinks, and the great scenery around it! Having said that, the Croatian people are fabulous...just about all are multi-lingual and speak English. Prices throughout the country are extremely good, and we never had a bad meal. This town, Opatija, was one of our favorites, if not our favorite, of the ten or more locations we visited. And this hotel is in the right place--close to parks and walk ways, and pedestrian paths along the water; very beautiful views, wonderful architecture, great restaurants, and much to do. From the Jakov you can walk just about anywhere!

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of the adjacent park or marina area. Plan on walking around the town and enjoying the festivities and markets!
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 740barrym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milenij H, Manager at Amadria Park Hotel Sveti Jakov, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Dear Guest 740barrym,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Matteo Simonetti
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

Fire alarm went off twice during our one-night stay. We rushed downstairs and got no explanation from the staff other than it being a "technical issue." Mild apologies from staff the next morning and only compensation for a lost night of sleep was free parking.

Hearing-impaired guests should note that no visual signals accompanied the fire alarm. (The fire alarm was only a siren.)

Tiny, yet very expensive dinner portions at the hotel restaurant.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Barry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2018

This is a lovely hotel with great Old World charm, style and elegance. It was indeed a pleasure to stay here and enjoy the ambiance.

We stayed here for two nights on our way down to Havr and for two nights on our way back to Pula.

The service provided by the staff was first class and I must mention the following:- Megan (Reception), Marco (Porter) and Josip (Head Waiter); all of whom went out their way to make us feel very welcome.

My only complaint concerns the lack of sink plugs!!! The bathrooms were lovely and had double washbasins - but on both occassions we noted that the sinks did not have sink plugs.

This negative let the hotel down as we had to ask reception for sink plugs each time, which was irritating to say the least. They could only one spare plug on each occasion.

Other than this single complaint I could find further fault.

The breakfast and breakfast facilities were superb and catered for many diverse European tastes - who does has salami and cheese for breakfast ?

Despite the negative, we will stay here again if and when we return to Croatia and Opatija.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 21 - it has a small balcony.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Willsy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmadriaParkOpatija, Manager at Amadria Park Hotel Sveti Jakov, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2018

Dear Guest Willsy13,

First of all, thank You for being our guests and for taking some time to provide us with this great review! We are glad to see that we met your expectation, especially with our first class staff.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Best regards,

Matteo Simonetti
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews