We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Asbury Park
Reviewed 16 December 2011

We only live about a 1/2 hour away and spend a good deal of time in Asbury Park. When we got tickets to a show in Convention Hall, we decided to make a night of it and I got a reservation to stay overnight at the Berkeley.
Only being in the lobby of the hotel in the past, I was cautiously optimistic of the experience we would have actually staying for a night.
I have to say, I was impressed. The room was much more spacious and better decorated than I thought it would be. Even the bathroom was completely redone and very, very clean. The common areas; lobby, hallways, elevators, were also very well kept up. Since we were there in the winter we didn't experience the pool or any of the outside grounds other than the front of the hotel.
Parking is a pain. The lot in the back ($10) gets filled up so you have to do metered parking and, like previous reviews have said, you have to be out there to feed the meter ($1.00 an hour, 9am - 10pm, I think)
We didn't eat in the Dauphin Grill, but if it's anything like the other restaurants that the owners have in Asbury, I'm sure it's great. The bar area looks cool.
I only had one real complaint. All over are signs advertising breakfast in the Dauphin Grill on weekends....8am - 11am, buffet, price, details. So, Saturday morning my husband and I go down at 9am for breakfast and the restaurant is dark and locked. The explaination I was given at the front desk is that they had a catering job off-site and couldn't do both breakfast in the hotel and the catering job. So the guests of the hotel were SOL, I guess. The staff I encountered at the hotel was very nice and helpful, but a heads up that there would be no breakfast the next day when I checked in would have been nice. That is just not the way to run a hotel or a restaurant if you want people to come back.
Hopefully that was an isolated incident because I really think the hotel has a lot of potential. It's location is fantastic for walking over to a show at Convention Hall or just walking down the boardwalk to a host of great restaurants. The scene in Asbury is great, there's always something going on, and if you stay at this hotel you will be within easy walking distance of much of it!
The agent at the front desk did say that they are putting a roof top bar in for the summer, so it seems like they are trying to keep themselves at the top of their game (so to speak).
Not sure if we will have the opportunity to stay at the Berkeley again, but I would be happy to do so if we did.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jerseygirl424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,659)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,400 - 2,404 of 2,661 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2011

Good location, rooms are decent, but after checking in around 7pm no spots in hotel lot. Had to pay & park on street and after a late night had get up at 9am to go back down & put more money in meter to avoid ticket! Hotel is doable considering not alot to choose from right in asbury park but parking is annoying. I like location because you can walk across street & be on boardwalk where there is nice selection of shops, restaurants & bars.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank enigma00225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

We went in the off season to see a concert at the Convention Center - the hotel was very convenient for that as it was right across the street. When we pulled up to the hotel i doubted by GPS as it certainly did not look like a hotel - it looked like an apartment building or a retirement home from the outside. Entering the building did nothing to reassure us as there was not a sign for the front desk - only after we saw the gift shop and lobby bar was I sure we were in a hotel. I guess that could be charming in a way though...

Our room was very clean, though it did get chilly at night as the window was very drafty. The furniture seemed to be new - kinda cheap Joseph Adler knock-offs you'd find at Target. The bed was very comfortable though.

The bath seemed to have been recently renovated - very poorly as there was stray chalk around all the seams. Still - both the room and bath were very clean and roomy.

What was weird was that a number of lights - and the heat lamp in the bath - that had twist knobs to turn them on were missing the knob, so unless you were wearing gloves it was impossible to turn them on. Not sure where all the knobs went...

The staff were very helpful - when we arrived we wanted to know where to get lunch. Being the off season the clerk at the desk was not sure what was open - he gave us a few choices and when we selected one he called the restaurant to make sure they were seating for lunch.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DougInBrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

We recently had the pleasure of an extended weekend stay at this charming hotel with a large group of conventioneers. Even though it was off season and the hotel was filled nearly to capacity, the staff was wonderfully accommodating and our group raved about their overall experience. This older facility, standing right across from the Boardwalk, was abandoned for several years and the gorgeous old architecture was allowed to fall into disrepair. Fortunately, this hidden gem has been undergoing an extensive renovation - a true labor of love that encompasses everything from the plasterwork ornamentation in the graceful public areas to the quirky, high-ceilinged rooms.

Of course, it is Asbury Park, and the flavor of bohemian acceptance of all kinds of lifestyles permeates this establishment. We loved the mixture of formal and contemporary, finished off with a truly awesome staff. Our group will certainly return to our new favorite place!

Room Tip: Ocean view on higher floor is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BethB973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

I was there for a weekend event with friends and frankly I have never had BETTER SERVICE. From desk staff to maintenance crew - they were A-1. Yes, the place is old and reminds one of the glory days of Asbury Park, however considering the effort that has obviously been put into the hotel, it is on it's way to greatness once again. You could pick apart the place for this or that, but because of the effort that has been put in, I have high hopes that with each succeeding year the bugs will be ironed out. If you want a funky, out-of-the-ordinary event and a out-of-the-ordinary place in which to hold it - this is the boutique hotel for you.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GabbyW151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Asbury Park
0.2 km away
The Asbury Hotel
The Asbury Hotel
#1 of 6 in Asbury Park
292 reviews
0.7 km away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#2 of 6 in Asbury Park
318 reviews
8.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Long Branch
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#1 of 3 in West Long Branch
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 km away
Bungalow Hotel
Bungalow Hotel
#2 of 4 in Long Branch
230 reviews
6.2 km away
Red Roof Inn Neptune
Red Roof Inn Neptune
#2 of 6 in Neptune
222 reviews
6.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Neptune
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel

Address: 1401 Ocean Ave, Asbury Park, NJ 07712
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Asbury Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Asbury Park
Price Range: $170 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the Jersey Shore, just a few steps from the famous Asbury Park boardwalk, the Atlantic Ocean provides gorgeous panoramic views and the ultimate setting for your relaxing getaway. The Berkeley’s coveted beachfront location has convenient proximity to an array of local hotspots, the most notable is The Stone Pony. Our oceanfront hotel is only an hour away from Philadelphia and New York City, making it easily accessible. Head to the Tiki Bar and enjoy a cocktail poolside under the private cabanas for the ultimate relaxation experience. Or you can soak up the sun on the beach and then head across the street to the legendary Stone Pony. If you are one of lucky ones you may catch a surprise appearance by “The Boss”, Bruce Springsteen. The nightlife is diverse and when you stroll along the boardwalk, you will discover great beaches, great shopping, and delicious dining options. The boutique NJ hotel and the historic seaside community is the ideal venue for your wedding featuring magnificent ballrooms and an expansive rooftop perfect for your ceremony or a sunset cocktail party. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Hotel Asbury Park
Berkeley Carteret Oceanfront Hotel
Berkeley Asbury Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing