We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiko-taka ya ya ya!”
Review of Taka

Taka
Ranked #4 of 135 Restaurants in Asbury Park
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 15 - USD 30
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Japanese specialties, tapas, sushi and japanese inspired entrees.
Reviewed 13 April 2018

Taka
The atmosphere allows for a dining experience immersed in Asian fusion.
Attention to detail was key. They serve a crunchy mixture of crunchy seaweed, wasabi peas and other random crispies.
I had the miso soup which is unlike any other, the mushrooms are plump and hearty. The Ju-san roll was a home run! I'd order it again!
The only negative thing is that it is a smidge too pricey. I'd only go there for a special occassion!

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ShaneSellsSeashells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (307)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 307 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2018

When I'm visiting AP and in the mood for ethnic cuisine Japanese style, I hit up Taka. I would suggest making reservations if it's the weekend otherwise they may be booked. Happened to me twice when I craved sushi last minute. If there's a wait, book it, I'd say it's worth it.

The ambience is warm and artistic with balanced Japanese deco, from large tapestries and glass globe lighting to dark wooden furniture and glowing paper lanterns. Your eyes will be excited as will your tastebuds. The menu boasts extensive sushi options and entrees from curry to teriyaki and short ribs. There are several solely plant based options as well for a light refreshing meal or if you're vegan. Miso soup, edamame pods lightly steamed, shishito peppers, dark green salad with kale, vegetable curry, veggie rolls and sorbet for dessert.

So yeah... this place is my jam. Get spruced up a bit, in beach appropriate, nice casual wear (ladies take a sweater, gets chilly inside) and make a date night out with Taka. Not to forgo the mentioning of their full bar mixing delicious cocktails and serving saki as well, if so wish to imbibe. I recommend this spot for a delicious, detailed dinner surrounded by inspiring decor and a bustling dinner crowd.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alonna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018 via mobile

Best happy hour... 6 dollar sake sangria was one of the best sangrias ive ever had.. the calamari is a must and so is the chicken. All 6 dollars! The inside is beautiful and classy. Bartenders were great service was fast. Will be back again for sure!!

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Gabrielle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

I was hungry and craved Sushi where to go, Taka .. Taka is the best and most fresh fish in the area. Not cheap but of great quality and very unique sushi restaurant. I compare a little to Nobu with out the high price. Service was great and the food was devine. Taka the owner is always around and very engaging. Great time!

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank FrankC223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2018

I completely understand Taka being one of a kind in Asbury - it's just often overlooked because of their prices. Otherwise, food is great & so is the service.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank Lacey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taka also viewed

Asbury Park, Jersey Shore
Asbury Park, Jersey Shore
 
Asbury Park, Jersey Shore
Ocean Grove, Jersey Shore
 
Asbury Park, Jersey Shore
Asbury Park, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Taka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing