We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place, good alternative location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Wandering Paisa
Ranked #24 of 243 Speciality Lodging in Medellin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2012

one of the very few hostels outside of the poblado neighboorhood. I live close from the hostel and Ive been there a couple times to the free salsa lessons or to the language exchange night. The area is a nice place to be in medellin.The owners seemed cool

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DidzK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 112 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2012

This place is great for backpackers, have an excellent facilities, is very cheap for foreigners and have an excellent attention.

The karaoke shows, the language nights and the salsa course have been an excellent idea.

I personally recommend this Hostel to anyone who want to share with other people and have a great time.

Thanks Milles for the stay, and i'll be back to play more Blues with you..
excellent improvization

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mauriale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

I spent a month here in a private room and the only negative was that it made going to my next destinations tough. This property's quality starts from the very top, meaning it's obvious that the owners put effort to maintain a quality experience for all passers-by. The employees were also obviously picked for a reason because I can only report great experience with dealing with every one of them over a months time period. Every one of them is friendly and accessible. The location is perfect.. Close to several grocery stores, restaurants and little salsa clubs up on la setenta. If you want to party harder, parque lleras is a $5 USD taxi ride away. Kitchen was ideal, lounging and TV areas were awesome with a wide variety of content on the entertainment hard drive. You can't go wrong staying at the Wandering Paisa.. stop looking at other places and book this place now.

Room Tip: I had a private room (Ecuador) which was perfect. Several friends I made stayed in the dorms which w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZacharyAndPamela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

I had a good time here. There were plenty of things going on during the weekend, language exchange, open mic. I met some kewl local people and went out partying in the local area and also poblado. its close to the metro and downtown sights but far away from the party area where the rich people live (poblado). Taxi was cheap so not a problem. would come back easily just because it was easy to make friends and meet (mostly) cool guests. lots of young people.

Additional: my apologies to the previous reviewer, I believe I was the one who smelled like "beer p***" in the dorm. Next time i swear not to party so your delicate nostrils will not be so offended so much as to keep you awake. ;)

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

I loved this hostel! I had made my reservations through email (avoid those pesky online fees) and they were very helpful from the very beginning. Diana was very quick to respond to all of my questions and offer advice (BEFORE I arrived). The location of the hostel is great. It's located in a very safe, affordable neighborhood, close to nightlife, shopping, and little cafes and diners. The hostel itself is new and icely decorated. All rooms are named after S. American countries and have different themes. i stayed in Bolivia and it's the smallest of the 8-bed options, but it wasn't a huge deal. The beds are nice. The dont move when you get up on the top bunk which is definitely appreciated when you're sharing a room with 7 others, but they do have this plastic protective layer underneath the sheets which make this horrible crunchy sound when you move. That was a bit annoying, but it wasn't a dealbreaker. The lounge area has a huge cable tv, dvd player, wii game console, and a leather couch (not the most comfortable). It does get a bit crowded on the days after heavy partying/recovery days when people just wanna hang out and watch tv. Brent, get more chairs!! The kitchen is well equipped with a stove, microwave, fridge, and blender (when the bartender isnt using it). They also have a lot going on throughout the week; salsa classes, language exchange classes, movie night, and karaoke (locals come out for this event!!). There might be cheaper hostels out there but TWP has the best staff!! Diana, Pao, and Marg rock!! They're very accomodating, welcoming, friendly, and just plain FUN! It was so hard to leave this place. I actually stayed an extra three nights, went to Cartagena, and then spent my last night in Colombia back at this hostel! I will definitely go back to stay!!!

Room Tip: Bolivia is definitely the smallest and cheapest room and it holds 8 people. Bolivia and Argentina fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank micmc121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Medellin hotels
4.9 km away
Black Sheep Hostel Medellin
5 km away
Pitstop Guest House
Pitstop Guest House
#42 of 243 in Medellin
221 reviews
0.5 km away
Paisa City Hostel Medellin
Paisa City Hostel Medellin
#5 of 243 in Medellin
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Yellow House Hostel
Yellow House Hostel
#9 of 243 in Medellin
130 reviews
1.1 km away
Green Hill Hostel
Green Hill Hostel
#23 of 243 in Medellin
43 reviews
4.3 km away
Purple Monkey Hostel
Purple Monkey Hostel
#21 of 243 in Medellin
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wandering Paisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wandering Paisa

Address: Calle 44 A No. 68 A 76 | Laureles, Medellin, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 243 Speciality Lodging in Medellin
Price Range: $19 - $29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The authentic Paisa Backpackers experience! Centrally located and closest to the Metro and the "Local Zona Rosa". Safe, clean, and relaxing. Managed by an American and a Colombian, we seek to immerse travellers in the local "Paisa" culture while providing them with a safe and comfortable place to stay. We have the most comfortable beds in Medellin, along with hand painted murals in every room. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing