We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME Rum Tasting and Light Meal!”

El Arsenal: The Rum Box
Ranked #1 of 871 Restaurants in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 4 - USD 12
Description: Craft cocktails using the freshest seasonal ingredients.
Restaurant details
Description: Craft cocktails using the freshest seasonal ingredients.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Our first rum tasting was an extraordinary trip through a small sampling of Abe's vast collection of Colombian rums. We started with the most popular (cheapest!!!) rum in Colombia and worked our way through shooters, sippers, cocktails and a fabulous home-made Bailey's-like concoction that we would buy if we could find it in a store. Before yesterday we had no idea that Colombian rum existed. One day later we are disappointed to find only a single Colombian rum in the Cartagena Airport duty-free store. (That's embarrassing - there are several rums from other countries in the CTG airport store.)

Have I mentioned the food? We enjoyed at least four kinds of chocolate, a fabulous pork meatball and a cheese-filled fried yucca dough thing that was extraordinary. After those little bites we had to return with our kids for a pre-dinner snack of ceviche and more cheese-filled fried yucca.

Highly recommend. Lots of fun. A real treat!

Thank Jon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abe D, Owner at El Arsenal: The Rum Box, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

It was so nice meeting you and the family. The twins are great I look forward to doing a tasting for the in a few years. I reached out to a few sales reps and told them to get to the airport. Whenever you get a chance shoot me an email and I’ll see what I can do about sending those to you overseas. In the mean time enjoy Panama

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (523)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

103 - 107 of 524 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Had wanted to go here and was walking past to find some live music when we were stopped by two of the staff members who were out front giving out free hugs. We obviously partook in the free hugs and decided to have a drink since the people were so fun. I then realized that this was a bar I wanted to stop in at and got very excited. We had order the “surprise me” and they made us some amazing cocktails! We hung out for a while and had some great conversations with the amazing friendly staffs they even brought us out a few orders of fee shishito peppers to snack on. HIGHLY recommend stopping in here for a drink and a snack!

Thank wanderlustnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abe D, Owner at El Arsenal: The Rum Box, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Hey Nick
I just love it when our guests get into the hug game spirits. Thanks for partaking. You have no idea how difficult it is to find quality huggers not to mention it makes for really awkward job interviews.

Wishing you the safest travels.
The bearded fellow.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

What a treat it was to find a craft cocktail bar in Cartagena, and one that felt like a neighborhood bar, not one that's geared for the hordes of tourists. There's passion in this bar, with regards to rum, cocktails, the food and those hugs. Very enjoyable spot with a happy vibe and delicious food and cocktails.

Thank DaSola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abe D, Owner at El Arsenal: The Rum Box, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

We find that our attitude brings like minded people and it seems to work. Good food, drinks, tunes and company with an unpretentious attitude is something you can always expect at El Arsenal.

Abe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Really friendly bar with some of the best food and drink in the area. They also give away free hugs! This place is a must if you’re in the area.

Thank LondonTown_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abe D, Owner at El Arsenal: The Rum Box, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

If someone from London is happy with our Gin game then we must be doing something correctly. Hope to see you again soon.

The El Arsenal Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

We had to try this place after reading all the reviews and it lived up to the hype. The ceviche was amazing and our bartender was so charming - we ended up having extra cocktails just to spend more time there. Really great place when visiting Cartagena!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TravelAddict630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abe D, Owner at El Arsenal: The Rum Box, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

We are terrified as to all the hype as we like to keep expectations nice and low to ensure we don’t disappoint but hey I guess it worked out in the end.

The Bar Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Arsenal: The Rum Box also viewed

Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 
Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 
Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 

Been to El Arsenal: The Rum Box? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing