We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend Away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sonesta Hotel Cartagena
Ranked #87 of 158 Hotels in Cartagena
Reviewed 6 February 2017

I live in Barranquilla, so I was looking for a place to get away for the weekend. My friend and I took a bus that dropped us off in front of the hotel. Someone instantly took our bags as we checked in. They were very welcoming and greeted us with freshly squeezed fruit juice. The bellhop explained the hotel's amenities and even ran down to grab us another room key. We spent most of our days at the pool. The lifeguards were friendly and always flagged down a server for more micheladas once we finished ours. :) While there was construction going on, it didn't wake us up too early. It actually made us get up and start our day! The taxis from the hotel were very fancy (compared to the yellow ones in town) and were able to take us into the city to our exact restaurant every time. We didn't mind the drive and thought 14,000COP was reasonable for their great service! We got a massage in the spa. It wasn't our best massage, but we were definitely relaxed. Overall I really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SEBASTIAN N, General Manager at Sonesta Hotel Cartagena, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2017

Dear Mrs. Kelly.

Have a big greeting on behalf of all staff of Sonesta Hotel Cartagena.

We are pleased to have been chosen by you as your choice of lodgment in the city of Cartagena and we are pleased even more that you have felt comfortable in our hotel, it reassures us that we are delivering the best of us and motivates us to continue working with the heart.

We look forward again with your presence in our hotel and our city. Thanks for your preference!

Kind Regards,

Alvaro Marrugo Jimenez
Quality Assurance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (601)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 16 of 601 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed here, last year and starting at check in it was a nightmare , we came from BArranquilla, but originally form USA, we the security in Colombia not being that good I decide just to carry my Colombia ID and leave my 4 year old son american passport back at my parents house in BArranquilla, they wouldn't let us check in because I don't have a prove that he was not 12 ( really a you can't tell that a 4 year old boy is not 12 ?) 45 min later. They let us check in with the promise that I would make one of my family back in BArranquilla email a picture of the passport.
The air conditioning in the room was. It working properly, call maintenance and they said manager knew about that problem but didn't do anything about it.
My key didn't work 2 times, have to wait for concierge to come and let me in in the room, one of those times u have to wait 20 min holding my sleeping son in my shoulder.
The pool area was good, probably the only good thing about our stay there.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
Thank sila32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SEBASTIAN N, General Manager at Sonesta Hotel Cartagena, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2017

Dear Guest.

Have a warm greeting from all Sonesta Cartagena.

We have received your nonconformities about your visit to our hotel and it is really unfortunate not to have contributed to one of the minimum standards affecting your peace and rest. Our Quality Policy is to provide the best service and be willing to do whatever is necessary for our guests to satisfy them and make them feel at home. That is why we want to offer our apologies for the inconveniences generated during your stay in our Hotel, taking all the points you mention, we have made an improvement plan to minimize these details that put us away from the good Service.

Thank you for your preference.

Kind Regards,

Alvaro Marrugo Jimenez
Quality Assurance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2017

Make sure you get a beach facing room if facing the main road the traffic noise is horrendous, overall a nice hotel, the beach is not great but only a stones throw from the hotel.The breakfast and room service is what you expect and most of the staff are friendly too, got a good pool and tennis court.

Room Tip: get a sea view to eliminate noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank haydnpercy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SEBASTIAN N, General Manager at Sonesta Hotel Cartagena, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2017

Dear Guest.

Have a warm greeting from all Sonesta Cartagena.

We want to thank you immensely for taking a few minutes of your valuable time to qualify us and give us an opinion about your stay in our hotel, it is worth mentioning that because of this we can improve every day more quality in our service.

Thank you for your preference and look forward to your valuable presence again.

Kind Regards,

Translation and Localization
Quality assurance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2017 via mobile

Average level hotel.
All the details of a good hotel are missing.
No glasses in the hotelroom, not sufficient towels in the room, no tennisrackets to rent while there is a tenniscourt (!), fitnesscentre at a amateurlevel e.g. airco is almost not working.
And we wanted to change our room because the room was located at the noisy road and the balconydoor didn't close as well the wifi at that room was poor!
However, the staff is helpfull.

I don't know what the reason is for the lacking of being a good hotel. Is it mismanagement, is it because of located in Colombia or a combination?
Best regards , Rob

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
Thank robludo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SEBASTIAN N, General Manager at Sonesta Hotel Cartagena, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2017

Dear Guest.

Have a big greeting on behalf of all staff of Sonesta Hotel Cartagena.

Your feedback is very important for the continuous improvement of our service, that's why I want to thank you for taking a few minutes of your valuable time to review your stay at our hotel. Believe me it is a pleasure for us that you tell us about the experiences presented at our Hotel, whether positive or negative help us to improve our service standards; You know as well what is the reason for our businesses.

Thanks for your preference.

Kind Regards,

Alvaro Marrugo Jimenez
Quality Assurance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2017

By far the best beach area in Cartagena, walk for a long way. Nice beach restaurant nearby. Rooms a bit dated, our window shades broke and our door loxk would not open twice but clean and very comfortable beds. The staff was amazing with nice bar area and great breakfast.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Raymond G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SEBASTIAN N, General Manager at Sonesta Hotel Cartagena, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2017

Dear Mr. Raymond.

Have a warm greeting from all Sonesta Cartagena.

We want to thank you immensely for taking a few minutes of your valuable time to qualify us and give us an opinion about your stay in our hotel, it is worth mentioning that because of this we can improve every day more quality in our service.

Thank you for your preference and look forward to your valuable presence again.

Kind Regards,

Translation and Localization
Quality assurance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.3 km away
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
#32 of 158 in Cartagena
731 reviews
0.5 km away
Radisson Cartagena Ocean Pavillion Hotel
9.9 km away
Hotel Regatta Cartagena
Hotel Regatta Cartagena
#80 of 158 in Cartagena
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 km away
Corales de Indias
Corales de Indias
#51 of 158 in Cartagena
661 reviews
9.4 km away
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
#38 of 158 in Cartagena
1,633 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Las Americas Torre del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Hotel Cartagena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Hotel Cartagena

Address: Carrera 9 # 35-104 | Anillo VialZona Norte, Cartagena, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 158 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range: $93 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Hotel Cartagena 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern hotel that boasts 118 guestrooms with furnished balconies and a espectacualr view of the caribbean sea and the cienaga de la virgen is only five minutes from the airport. service is sonesta¨s forte thanks to the backing of GHL, one of latin America¨s largest hotel chains whit over 50 years of experience in the region.Have fun in the pools, at tenis court, gym or the Spa and grab a refreshing drink at the beach bar thereafter. also try something of the grill, or dishes from around the world or around the corner at their delicious restaurant, palenke. and unforgettable holiday is guaranteed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sonesta Hotel Cartagena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing