We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“est of Cartagena”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ananda Hotel Boutique
Ranked #9 of 152 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
1 review
“est of Cartagena”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Cartagena is tropical warmth with Colonial charm and Ananda Hotel is positioned to make the best of Cartagena. The rooms are quiet and comfortable but a little over air conditioned. The staff works hard to please but not all speak english. The rooftop terrace gives a panoramic view over the city and the little pool/spa on the roof is cool, perfect in the heat of the day. Our group booked the whole hotel and the staff worked very hard to arrange for massages etc which worked out pretty well with a bunch of last minute changes. Since it was only friends in the hotel we took it over like it was our vacation home. We would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerriAnnSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Equipo Anandá H, Gerente at Ananda Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Dear Terri Ann

We deeply appreciate you took the time to share your experience with us. Every one of your important comments will be taken into account to fix any detail that needs to be adjusted in order to continue in our constant seeking for excellence.
We hope you give us the opportunity of staying with us in a next occasion, so that we can do our best to provide you with the best service and make of your stay a wonderful experience.

Have a very good day!

Sincerely,

Diego Manrique
General Manager
Anandá Hotel Boutique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    407
    96
    32
    12
    7
See reviews for
83
276
26
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

We were put here at the last minute due to a mix up in the bookings. So glad we were!!! I cannot say enough good things about the hotel. Staff were superb. Not all spoke English but some did perfectly. Rooms are lovely, not a suite as we expected, which usually have a separate living room, but all were en suite. Good air conditioning in the rooms as well as a fan. Bathrooms are well presented, with teak floors in the shower. Included breakfast was a great start to the day.
Location in the old city is perfect, short walk from lovely restaurants, other hotels nearby as well.
Both pools offered loungers with lots of towels. The rooftop one is great for sunbathing if that's your thing. Courtyard is great for breakfast and after dinner drinks. Or eat in the air conditioned restaurant. Food was very good.

Would I return ? Most definitely.

A Goodin

Room Tip: Suggest a room on the 2nd floor (first floor to English people) so your not next to courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Equipo Anandá H, Gerente at Ananda Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Dear Tony G.

Your comments are our biggest reward and the main reason to keep trying to do our best every time.
We’re very pleased to know that you enjoy your visit to our city and your stay with us.
We’ll certainly be looking forward to have you with us in your next trip to Colombia.
Have a very good day!

Sincerely,

Diego Manrique
General Manager
Anandá Hotel Boutique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Ananda is a great hotel in the old city of Cartagena. It is relatively new, so all the rooms and furnishings are nice. The staff is friendly and courteous. The rooms are quiet, which is great. There's isn't much of a swimming pool, but most hotels in the old city have no swimming pool, so it's sort of par for the course. The staff all speaks English too, which helps. They have a nice conference room which you can use for business meetings too (we did). It is kind of expensive, but well worth it.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tj_herman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Equipo Anandá H, Gerente at Ananda Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Dear tj Herman

We deeply appreciate you took the time to share your experience with us. Every one of your important comments will be taken into account to fix any detail that needs to be adjusted in order to continue in our constant seeking for excellence.
We hope you give us the opportunity of staying with us in a next occasion, so that we can do our best to provide you with the best service and make of your stay a wonderful experience.

Have a very good day!

Sincerely,

Diego Manrique
General Manager
Anandá Hotel Boutique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

This little hotel is superbly located in Cartagena's old town.
It is designed in colonial style but has every modern convenience, tastefully
designed with wonderful service and beautifully appointed rooms.
Staff is helpful and welcoming. The restaurant serves an excellent breakfast
with pleasant, pleasing service and lots of fresh fruit.
Spotless bathrooms have teak-slatted floors and lots of forceful hot water with quality
shampoos and soaps. Two swimming pools give choice of location and the sun decks
on two levels are the perfect places to watch the sun set.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peripatetic64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Equipo Anandá H, Gerente at Ananda Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Dear Peripatetic

Your comments are our biggest reward and the main reason to keep trying to do our best every time.
We’re very pleased to know that you enjoy your visit to our city and your stay with us.
We’ll certainly be looking forward to have you with us in your next trip to Colombia.
Have a very good day!

Sincerely,

Diego Manrique
General Manager
Anandá Hotel Boutique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
149 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2011

Ananda was the home away from home that I wish were my real home rather than a hotel! From the moment of my first email inquiry, the service I received was outstanding and the property itself was beautiful. You are welcomed at check-in and made to feel as if you are their one and only guest. A tour of the hotel makes you feel as if you are visiting a private home with all of the luxuries and amenities awaiting you. The hotel has about 23 rooms but feels very private. It has a very serene and tranquil presence which is hard to imagine in the surroundings of chaos known as Cartagena Centro. Ananda has two beautiful pools, the rooftop one was my favorite with warm, caribbean breezes washing over you as you sip on a lovely cocktail or one of the many fresh juices. Even though the staff was not obtrusive they were available. As I sat on the roof I was asked if I wanted to take lunch which they promptly took care of. The food at Ananda is very good and even though I ate at some of the city's better known restaurants, my favorite meal was at the Ananda. I also had a massage which was divine! I really felt like the staff personally anticipated my wants and needs and provided great recommendations tailored to my preferences. They always took care to see how I was and if there was anything that I should want. I wanted for nothing more while a guest at the Ananda because they provided so much.
As far as room accommodations, it was quite large and beautifully decorated. The bathroom had a teak floor shower and the toiletries were very nice as one would expect at a high-end property. Everything was extremely clean and new.
Ananda provides pick up from hotel which is very convenient. They will also call you a taxi, help arrange tours, private or group, make dinner reservations, etc.

Finally for me the most important part of my stay was one of a medical nature. I was randomly stung by a bee and returned promptly to the hotel where they promptly removed the stinger and fetched cortisone for the reaction. They stayed with me to assure that I did not have a reaction and then checked on me later in the day to make sure I was feeling ok.

I stayed 4 nights at Ananda and am so pleased with my decision to stay there. I felt that I had a relaxing, pampered, personalize stay. I had considered a few other boutique hotels and luckily the sofitel was booked so I happily discovered the Ananda and would not stay anywhere else if I were to go back to Cartagena.

While I stayed there the other guests varied from businessmen to couples to a family. As a solo traveler I felt very secure and found it easy to meet others.

As for the person who wrote the comment about the refund, the Ananda clearly provided me in English their cancellation policy and also that it takes about 30 days for transactions to credit if necessary. I think it is fairly common at small hotels that you put down a deposit and so I wouldn't worry about this as the policy is clear and flexible.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avaya109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Equipo Anandá H, Gerente at Ananda Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, 24 February 2016

Dear Guest

We’d like to thank you a lot for your words. Comments like yours certainly incentivize us to keep trying our best every day. Every one of your important comments will be taken into account to fix any detail that needs to be adjusted.
We hope to have you Home again, during your next visit to Cartagena.
Have a very good day!

Sincerely,

Diego Manrique
General Manager
Anandá Hotel Boutique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.3 km away
Bastion Luxury Hotel
Bastion Luxury Hotel
#8 of 152 in Cartagena
915 reviews
0.5 km away
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
#6 of 152 in Cartagena
1,826 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Casa San Agustin
Hotel Casa San Agustin
#2 of 152 in Cartagena
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
San Pedro Hotel Spa
San Pedro Hotel Spa
#3 of 152 in Cartagena
416 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Quadrifolio
Hotel Quadrifolio
#1 of 152 in Cartagena
389 reviews
1.2 km away
San Lazaro Art Lifestyle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ananda Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ananda Hotel Boutique

Property: Ananda Hotel Boutique
Address: Calle del Cuartel, 36-77 | Historic Center, Cartagena, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 152 Hotels in Cartagena
Price range (per night): $271 - $548
Hotel Class:4 star — Ananda Hotel Boutique 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A space that transmits the spirit of luxury and comfort in perfect harmony, the ideal place to reach the maximum state of happiness. We invite you to live this wonderful experience on your next trip, because when you think of a luxury hotel, a dream honeymoon, organize a special event or an exclusive company trip, in a charming destination, you will be thinking of ANANDA. ANANDA HOTEL BOUTIQUE is located in the heart of the walled city of Cartagena de Indias. Within walking distance of the hotel you will discover important monuments and historical buildings such as La Catedral, Plaza Santo Domingo and Palacio de la Inquisicion; You will also be amazed by the vibrant life of its streets, trendy boutiques, art galleries and all impregnated with the warmth and kindness of its people that allows us to imagine, for a moment, life in the Caribbean of the sixteenth century. Turning around a corner, and without looking for it, you can find the Wall, that once defended the city of pirates, thieves and buccaneers and which, centuries have become one of the most romantic places in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Evoline ltd, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Ananda Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing