We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveller rating
4
7
10
10
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4
7
10
10
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 35 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2015

It is difficult to review hotels in Colombia because of the different standards we each have of hotels

So... If you want a hotel that is really close to the nightlife but a little removed from the chaos ... this is it!

Bed are firm and and the rooms facing the front of the hotel are a nice size. I asked to be changed because I am somewhat claustrophobic and the inner have no windows. If you as for a room change because you feel cramped they will change...

If you book through 'booking.com' you will get a good rate. I was able to get a better rate by booking through this service than by booking directly at the desk... as a matter of fact, the clerk that was there kindly suggested it.

You are one street down from 'la sexta' and one street up from some incredibly fine restaurants. Barrio Granada is relatively safe... you just have to be mindful of your surroundings...

The cons: WIFI!!! Barely go a signal in the room ... and was down most of the time.... the upload speed was ridiculously slow... I think that in this day and age the wifi should be fast enough and good enough to be part of a room rental, specially if you are traveling on business. Also, hotels should not be making excuses for such services not working well... That is of course my opinion and...

However, i think that if I would stay in Granada, the 'Granada Real Hotel' would be one of my first choices.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the front of the hotel... might be a 'little more noisy' but... rooms are nicer
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank AdLiBbAlainLauzon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2015

So I found myself in the northern part of Cali and I needed a room, so I checked this place out. I was exhausted.

They told me 100,000 pesos, and being as tired as I was, I didn't feel like haggling and took it.
Upon getting to the room, I noted the good and bad.

First, the room (Room 810) was shoe-box tiny (note: The elevator was equaly tiny, allowing for 2 people, or 1 with a suitcase). The bathroom was the tiniest I have ever seen, and I have seen some tiny rooms. In fact, to sit on the toilet I am fairly certain I invented a new yoga position which I have decided to call "Bano Granada". While sitting and doing my business, I had to sit with knees spread open and against the wall. Please see photo, I am not exaggerating.

A few other problems - There were stains on the sheets - scary, The internet - wifi - on the 4th floor didn't work (the front desk people knew that but didn't tell me, giving me the password anyway), and the TV channels offered are a joke.

The Good - the room is a tomb. Dark and quiet, perfect for sleeping. Also breakfast wasn't bad, but I asked for a Pepsi light and after tasting it, I looked at the date - it had expired 6 months prior. The Waiter tried to jerk me around, but quickly realized it wouldn't work, so he conceded it was a as I said. The bed was super-firm, if you like that kind of thing.

The area, in the north, is a happening place in Cali, so if you are there for the nightlife, you're in the right place. You can walk to tons of hip restaurants and bars quite easily.

So would I suggest one stay here? Not for 100,000 pesos. 70,000 - 80,000 tops. Live and learn I guess.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank inspectorjavert70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marta Lucia Z, Gerente at Hotel Granada Real, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2015
Google Translation

Buenos dias, para nuestros clientes que han tenido problema con el wi-fi en las habitaciones, les informó que el hotel acaba de hacer una inversión importante en este sentido por lo que en este momento todos nuestros huéspedes pueden ya disfrutar de Internet sin problemas en las habitaciones.

En lo referente al tamaño de la habitación, creo que tendremos que tener mas cuidado en la asignación de las habitaciones sencillas ( que son pequeñas ) a huéspedes que sean muy altos para que no tengan inconvenientes.

Agradecemos mucho sus opiniones.

Martha Lucia Zuluaga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I stayed for 4 nights during a recent business trip. I will rate this hotel based upon pros and cons with the least amount of personal opinion possible.

PROS:
Amazing location!!!
Staff were very nice and friendly.
Bed was very comfortable.
Amazing Location if you want to check out the nightlife or anything else nearby.
Breakfast was decent and they did not charge for extras like OJ. (happened at two hotels in Medellín)
I felt very comfortable being there for 4 days.

CONS:
Shower head was extremely dirty and barely any hot water. (terrible being that it is very similar to other Colombian showers in that it is basically a hose in the wall)
WIFI on my floor did not work at all. (worked great in the lobby and there is lots of work space)
Walls very thin.. could hear my neighbor VERY well.)

I had a very nice visit there and would recommend it for anyone traveling on business that wants to be walking distance from the nightlife. It is most definitely not a family hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Robbiej F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

I travel to Cali Colombia for business and pleasure every year or so and this was my second stay at the Hotel Granada. This Spanish style hotel offers great rates and very clean rooms. They are centrally located to all the best day and nightlife that Cali offers. They will arrange "reputable and reliable" taxi service or car rentals at your request and their pleasant staff are always willing to go out of their way to be helpful by offering suggestions and tips regarding travel around Cali. There are conference rooms for business meetings if needed and the food here is awesome! I really appreciated the 24/7 security and enclosed parking the hotel offers and would definitely recommend this place to anyone wishing to travel to Cali Colombia.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We wanted to stay in the Granada area of Cali for business and personal reasons and a friend there made reservations for us at this hotel. It does not take reservations over the internet yet, but the manager said they should be able to within a month or so. It is Spanish style with tile floors, but very clean and intimate. The staff is wonderful and very caring . It is near the downtown area shopping and very convenient to everything. We enjoyed the hotel very much and would recommend it to others

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Motelmat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews