We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb service - Excelent value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Plaza Ningbo
Ranked #7 of 753 Hotels in Ningbo
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Superb service - Excelent value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

I stayed for one night while on business. from the moment you enter the hotel the service is impecable. you receive a hot towel and cup of tea while checking in, there is a butler service, free internet, an extensive pillow menue and flower petals floating in the toilet bowl in your room. the price is extremly resonable (much cheeper then other similar alternatives in Ningbo) - I will defintly stay here again

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GBlackLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnson l, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Plaza Ningbo, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Be appreciated for your comments on our hotel services and your statement surely encourage us to keep offering our best service with our best working attitude to serve our costumers.thank you again. Meanwhile if you make booking through our hotel reservation mail box reservation@hojoningbo.com we will offer free room upgrade ( Please add the special code "HOJONINGBO" at the end of the booking request.). Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    211
    26
    7
    6
See reviews for
16
13
21
225
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Yorks,
Level Contributor
211 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

2nd time I have stated here in 4 months and this time everything was superb. Beautiful room and butler service. Used the Gyma and wonderful pool. The staff are so friendly and make a real effort with you. Breakfast is really good and huge choice. I think there are other great hotels in Ningbo but for me this one is special and I think I will always use it. I travel to Ningbo China several times a year. Top tip get someone locally to book it for you. Their rate was 50% cheaper than the best rate I could find online.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuluNorthYorks_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

Stayed here for a couple of days on a business trip to Ningbo. My room was in the new wing. The room itself was a two-room suite with a spacious bathroom. The room was extremely clean and quite modern with a comfortable bed and an extensive pillow menu to ensure a good night's sleep. The internet was complimentary and worked well. The complimentary breakfast at the restaurant on the ground floor was good with a decent variety of of both Western and Chinese entrees. The onsite Bali-style spa is a great place for a relaxing massage. The on-site fitness room was very basic. But for the price paid, this was a great value.

What really impressed me was the extremely friendly, eager and ever smiling hotel staff. It is amazing how everyone of the hotel staff has a smile on their face as they attended to the hotel guests. Even the hostess at the breakfast lounge would walk back to the elevator with us and see us off with a smile. On my last day, when I was checking out and coming down the elevator with my luggage, there were couple of hotel staff trainees in the elevator with me, and they insisted on helping me with my luggage. Amazing service! I have never experienced anything like this in my travels in China.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VineetD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

The service in this hotel was really excellent. I travel alot outside my homebase of Beijing, and this is one of the best hotels in China I have come across. I had my usual problem with the bed being too hard, and they fixed it quickly and very well - with an excellent mattress topper. The bulter service 'rescued' me when I came back late and tired from a banquet where I didn't actually get to eat much due to toasting and having my photo taken (!) and revived me with two types of congee - for free! all this, AND you can open the windows! something which I miss in most hotels.
Next time I am down to Ningbo, I definitely plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FYBeijing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2011

the difference with the other hotels? this is really a Chinese style welcome and management; you feel you are in China, not in an international hotel. The rooms are nice, large, the breakfast is excellent; The butler service is impressive (I'm not used too). Price was also competitive compared to other hotels. I have to say also that Ningbo is a very nice city to visit, not far away from Shanghai.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vayton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnson l, EAM at Howard Johnson Plaza Ningbo, responded to this review, 5 December 2011
Thank your for choosing our hotel and encouraging us by giving us so highly-appraised comments on our effort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ningbo hotels
4.7 km away
Sofitel Wanda Ningbo
Sofitel Wanda Ningbo
#5 of 753 in Ningbo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
1.7 km away
Ningbo Marriott Hotel
Ningbo Marriott Hotel
#1 of 753 in Ningbo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
2.2 km away
Shangri-La Hotel Ningbo
Shangri-La Hotel Ningbo
#2 of 753 in Ningbo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Crowne Plaza City Center Ningbo
3.0 km away
Sheraton Ningbo Hotel
Sheraton Ningbo Hotel
#4 of 753 in Ningbo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
1.2 km away
Nanyuan Hotel
Nanyuan Hotel
#13 of 753 in Ningbo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Plaza Ningbo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Plaza Ningbo

Property: Howard Johnson Plaza Ningbo
Address: No.230 Liuting Street, Ningbo 315010, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Zhejiang > Ningbo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Ningbo
#5 Best Value Hotel in Ningbo
#7 Luxury Hotel in Ningbo
Price range (per night): $101 - $147
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Howard Johnson Plaza Ningbo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Plaza Ningbo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Ningbo Hotel Ningbo
Howard Johnson Ningbo
Ningbo Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing