We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Tibet Hotel(Chengdu)
USD 100
USD 67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
USD 81
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 90
USD 86
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 153
USD 100
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 70
USD 62
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 23/07
Book now, pay at stay
USD 71
USD 60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 29/07
USD 163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
USD 195
RitzCarlton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (790)
Filter reviews
790 results
Traveller rating
445
281
51
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
445
281
51
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbuddha zenwenshu monasteryold stylepedestrian areahotel is locatedopen courtyardfood stallsvegetarian restaurantfoot massagesmall bathroombusy citylovely hotelloved this hoteltea housedumplingschinese stylethird floor
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 790 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2018

Lovely boutique hotel and the little courtyard is just beautiful. Service is great and staff very friendly!

It is close to Wenshu Temple, definitely worth a visit. The temple also has a tea house and restaurant. Highly recommend the tea house (but can get very crowded if weather is nice). If you have time, try the bakery "wen su yuan (闻酥园). It is popular with locals.

There are subway stops nearby. It takes about 30 mins to walk to Tianfu Square if you prefer a walk.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FlorenHL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018

The hotel itself is boutique Chinese style very close to Wenshu temple.
The suite i booked was as per photo's bed was a little hard and no western TV news stations. The bathroom was very small for a large suite.
Normally you would expect a bath in a suite but this only has a shower.
It had views of an internal courtyard and the sounds echoed into the room from the courtyard. I still enjoyed my stay and would stay again because it is a great area close to the Wenshu Buddhist temple,restaurant & tea rooms which is a must do experience. The spa is basic and poorly managed.

Room Tip: ask for a room with views of the temple
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Surfweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2018

We stayed here for for 5 nights on the run up to Chinese New Year. The main reason for our stay was to visit the Panda Base in Bifengxia and to volunteer looking after the Pandas (privately arranged tour).
This hotel did not disappoint. Despite being aware that the hotel was under renovation, and some noise levels late into the night, our stay here was magical.
The hotel itself was a renovated monastery, which made for a very authentic Buddhist stay.
Despite the cold on the first night (we were later to find out how to use the heater in the bedroom), we really enjoyed a good sleep (you need to bring warm jammies if visiting in the winter), and a lovely breakfast early the next morning consisting of coffee, sandwiches, choice of eggs set, toast, etc. The breakfast is basic compared to a western-style one which you would normally encounter if on a trip in Britain or the States, however, for me it was filling and nutritious. We ate every evening in the hotel's restaurant as well as in the morning. It was quite reasonably priced and saved us going out and having to find suitable meals. Please be aware that the restaurant is Cantonese in addition to serving other dishes, so be prepared for some weird and wonderful choices in the menu. I am vegetarian and picky (not a big fan of Chinese food at all to be honest), yet I managed to get a filling meal. There are plenty of veggie dishes and you can combine these with rice, soup, etc, so you aren't left hungry. Please be aware that there is no room service in this hotel.
Our room was spacious, elegant and had a balcony which looked out onto the street outside, which was a nice touch. We were in close proximity to a working Buddhist monastery which could be seen from the rooftop garden and the balcony in our bedroom, we walked here in 5/10 minutes and enjoyed a lovely walk around the gardens as well as had a lovely latte in the cafe there (an actual proper Italian latte, which you don't often see in China!) Very relaxing experience.
The staff in the reception and the ladies in the restaurant were particularly kind and welcoming, I will always remember Tom in reception's contagious smile and a very young lady who was particularly kind and helpful towards us in the restaurant! I was pleasantly surprised by the level of English the staff in the hotel had.
There is a rooftop garden with orange trees and cherry blossoms which you can take a look at as the sun sets or rises. The Buddhist monuments/artwork inside the hotel are also very interesting to see.
Tom organised a taxi for us from the hotel to the Chengdu Panda Base, which we wanted to visit due to the Panda Post Office (not the Pandas, as we had volunteered looking after them in a sanctuary and did not want to see them in the a zoo-type place). He also organised for a return journey for us from the base back to the hotel, which was great for us.
Overall, a magical stay that I will never forget. I would strongly recommend this hotel if you plan to visit

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank travelblonde87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2018 via mobile

A good hotel with nice staff. It is in a construction area so some construction sounds will be noticed. We had a room with a bad airco unit, but swiftly got another room.
Breakfast is fine and mostly Chinese.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Gaafman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2018 via mobile

Very charming looking hotel in a great location however not the best stay ever. Our initial room stank of damp and mold which they wanted to fix by spraying air freshener. We moved to a different room which was fine until we realized at 9pm that the banging outside from construction wasn’t going to stop so we moved again. Breakfast was really nothing to write home about and only one English Channel provided which simply replayed the same shows over and over. However it was clean and the rooms quite large and the staff was really nice.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Luandri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews