We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (808)
Filter reviews
808 results
Traveller rating
458
285
52
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
458
285
52
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews buddha zen wenshu monastery hotel is located old style pedestrian area no elevator food stalls foot massage small bathroom wontons lovely hotel loved this hotel busy city third floor tea house traditional chinese style sitting area
Filter
Updating list...
155 - 160 of 808 reviews
Reviewed 18 December 2015

I liked this place overall. One of the front desk people was a little rude when I asked for help working the heater in my room, but the others were very friendly. There are a lot of fun little shops in the neighborhood nearby. The Room was very nice and comfortable.

Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaddyD9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2015

Fantastic hotel situated in the centre of alleys and shops, well worth the short walk to get here. Very friendly staff. Rooftop area to sit and have drinks and look out over the nearby rooftops. Lovely room with balcony to watch passers by.

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sue27_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2015

Stayed here with my girlfriend for 3 nights and we both loved it.The place itself (as others have pointed out a little bit hard to find) the staff location everything...Id would def stay here again
Well done

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AWOL1134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2015

I've been living in China for a year already, so I wouldn't necessarily call this a "traditional" hotel by any means. Sure, it's got the Chinese-inspired architecture, but it's actually a boutique hotel that uses these elements to give an "authentic" experience. I put authentic in quotes because I've stayed in Chinese hotels before; this hotel definitely caters more towards non-Chinese tourists, though there are certainly Chinese tourists who were here as well. Service is also much better than at a Chinese hotel.

I was afraid the hotel would be difficult to find, but this wasn't the case as there is signage out on the street pointing to where the hotel is. My husband and I arrived at almost 1 a.m. since we took a late flight from Shanghai. The evening staff greeted us warmly and helped us with check-in quickly. Their English was fine and not a problem at all.

Rooms are modern, clean, have wooden floors, and we had a balcony overlooking the street. There were nice amenities like water and fruit. Breakfast was pretty good, but definitely more Chinese than western-style. There was congee, noodles, wontons, dumplings, steamed buns, but also eggs, toast, bacon, and one type of cereal. There was a router in the room for wifi but even so it was a bit spotty, and it seemed that if you turned off the main light in the room, the router was turned off (not really that huge of an issue unless one person is on their device while the other is trying to sleep).

The location itself is a bit farther out from the center of Chengdu where all the majority of tourist spots are. However, this isn't really an issue as the subway is relatively close (10 minute walk). Finding a cab to go to the panda reserve was a bit more difficult as cabs were all full or on their way to pick up a fare. The front desk said it would be easier flagging a cab down instead of calling one, which I'm not sure is really the case.

All in all, would recommend for a short stay in Chengdu. It's something different from those big chain hotels and the price is actually quite reasonable.

Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank GeekRockChick24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2015 via mobile

This hotel is set in a very interesting arts and craft district in the centre of Chengdu. This provides a worthwhile opportunity to walk around the local area and look at the shop art. There are no roads around the hotel, so no traffic noise to disturb your rest. The hotel is very comfortable, good sized rooms and very helpful staff. The staff at the reception desk have a good understanding of English, so no language problems. Lots of tea shops around, it's how the locals relax, and so should you!

Date of stay: October 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank andrew s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews