We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unusual Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Suzhou
Ranked #40 of 1,478 Hotels in Suzhou
Reviewed 30 May 2017

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights recently and I have mixed feelings about it for the following reasons;

Pros
My superior room was a good size, well maintained and clean and had a comfortable bed.
Excellent location; you can walk to many places from the hotel.
The hotel is within walking distance of a subway to get to and from the main train station.
The staff are friendly although not much English is spoken (not that it should be however it would be helpful)

Cons
Smoking is permitted in the hotel and stinks in the corridors. They try to mask the smell with copious amounts of cleaning fluid - which makes it smell worse! This is after China introduced the no-smoking policy!
My room was at the back of the hotel and had 2 double glazed windows which unfortunately did not drown out the bass from the nightclub(s) underneath/in the alley alongside the hotel and was annoying! I was on a high floor too!
The swimming pool was not open and there was no outdoor space to sit when I just wanted to read my book for an hour. So I sat at the front of the hotel and being a 'foreigner' was stared at the whole time I was there.
The hotel was eerily quiet and didn't really have an atmosphere, with no one in the lounge or restaurant on both evenings I was there, or at all through the day to be honest. Although breakfast seemed to attract more people. This hotel seems a hotspot for those staying 1 night whilst on a tour.

While my room was nice the noise from the nightclub(s) and smell of smoke/cleaning products throughout the hotel were a problem for me and for that reason I wouldn't return unless they did something about it.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cur1yJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (275)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 275 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2017 via mobile

We went on a Sinorama tour and all our hotels where great except this one. But this one had a great location for walking, shopping and touring. The fridge didn't work, aircondition didn't work well. There was a window but it opened on to the noisy Main Street. Our room was a little small but the bed had a pillow top which made it very comfortable. Oh and the blow dryer didn't work. They were a little cheap on the breakfast buffet. They didn't refill when trays where almost empty and they had less choice than the other hotels we stayed in. The room was clean and I would stay here again because of the great location.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2017

This hotel was known by other names before, Marco Polo previously.
The best part of this hotel is that it is very centrally located, in the vincinity of the main walking street (观前街) in old Suzhou city area. It is very easily accessible by public transport (less than 100m from LeQiao Subway Station乐桥地铁站), by bus and by taxi.

The down part of this hotel is that it is just a so-so 4 star hotel and it is an old hotel compared to all the 5 star hotels springing up in Suzhou. We found that the restroom floor was wet with pools of water but yet was not able to locate the source.

We stayed for one night and the convenience beats all the slight discomfort we have to deal with.

Would recommend this hotel for its location and value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yihleong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2017

This hotel is in a good central location in Suzhou city, near to the subway system and also with many restaurants and tourist facilities in easy walking distance. The rooms were of very good standard for Chinese hotels, with softer style beds, excellent internet and clean room set-up. The business centre and the front desk people were also well trained and provided very good service levels for Chinese hotels. In particular, the concierge was well tuned to getting essential business travel requests like inter-city train tickets. Of all the many hotels I have stayed in China, this was certainly one of the best managed from a western business person viewpoint.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Scot_Aussie31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2016 via mobile

I had a nice, clean spacious room! Would recommend the location! Very centrally located! Near many shops and restaurants! Food is mediocre, but lots of other choices available! Great for kids! Kids play room near the restaurant, bar and common areas smelled of smoke, but hey it is China after all!

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
Thank gazzillion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Suzhou hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Soul Suzhou
Hotel Soul Suzhou
#12 of 1,478 in Suzhou
434 reviews
2.1 km away
Holiday Inn Jasmine Suzhou Hotel
2.2 km away
Pan Pacific Suzhou
Pan Pacific Suzhou
#11 of 1,478 in Suzhou
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
44.9 km away
Renaissance Suzhou Wujiang Hotel
3.4 km away
Garden Hotel (Liuyuan Road) - Lingering Garden
14.7 km away
Mercure Suzhou Park Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Suzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Suzhou

Address: No.818 Ganjiang East Road, Pingjiang District, Suzhou 215005, China (Formerly Marco Polo Suzhou)
Region: China > Jiangsu > Suzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Best Value Hotel in Suzhou
#36 Luxury Hotel in Suzhou
Price Range: $108 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wyndham Garden Suzhou 4.5*
Number of rooms: 314
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Wyndham Garden Suzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Suzhou
Suzhou Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing