We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Soul Suzhou
Nearby Hotels
USD 130*
Renaissance Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 173*
USD 154*
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 243*
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 282*
USD 213*
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 148*
USD 134*
Renaissance Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
W Suzhou(Suzhou)
USD 251*
USD 226*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Courtyard Suzhou(Suzhou)
USD 182*
USD 126*
Courtyard
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 84*
USD 42*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 174*
USD 158*
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 283*
USD 236*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (482)
Filter reviews
482 results
Traveller rating
245
176
47
6
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
245
176
47
6
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree shuttletrain stationdifferent themethe humble administrator's gardenwalking streethotel is locatedshuttle servicehotel cardbreakfast buffetnon smoking floorthe location is perfectchinese optionsincluded in the room ratemajor attractionsunique hotelhuge selectiontaxi driver
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 482 reviews
Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

V clean, great location so central easy meander distance to beautiful historic sites. Really pleasant staff and huge breakfast buffet. Yes it is modern, but we liked the quirky twists. Only place so far where we could get access to gmail (massive plus!) Thank u fif a terric value and hospitable stay:)

Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
Thank taaniko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angel C, General Manager at Hotel Soul Suzhou, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2016

Dear taaniko,

Thank you for your precious time to share your fantastic experience with us.

Your compliments on our thematic décor and comfortable room are much appreciated. Especially we are happy to know that you are impressed to stay with us. It has been our pleasure to have you as our guest.

Hotel Soul offers a new type of executive suites, spacious and luxurious brand-new spaces that come with premium attentive services. We hope that you can experience our new renovated suites on your next visit in Suzhou.

With warm regards,

Angel Chan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

Stayed here a few nights in December - loved it . Quirky weird decor with horrible x-mas muzac. But absolutely bang in the center. All pedestrian roads / shopping canals and gardens. Pricing is hit and miss 600 became 185 next night ... so do play around with sites and bookings.
No lights from our one little window - but good wifi and clean rooms and that breakfast made up for it ;)
Great bed too -

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Hotrubber007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angel C, General Manager at Hotel Soul Suzhou, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2016

Dear Hotrubber007,

Thank you very much for sharing your pleasant experience with us.

We are glad that you found our location ideal. As a frequent traveler yourself, we are most delighted to know that you had an overall great stay and you had been impressed to stay with us.

Hotel Soul offers a new type of executive suites, spacious and luxurious brand-new spaces that come with premium attentive services. We hope that you can experience our new renovated suites in the very near future.

With warm regards,

Angel Chan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2016

Stayed in Hotel Soul for 3 nights and the place felt like heaven after a horrific overnight experience the day before. I stayed in an aroma room.

Overall, I had a very pleasant stay. It's a big hotel aimed at western tourists, and even though it may not have that much soul (as in, personality), it's a good, clean hotel with a good atmosphere.

My room was very clean (though the floor carpet could maybe use an update) - which i throughly enjoyed. The room was more than big enough - equipped with a huge comfy bed, a nice recently renovated bathroom and had a lot of light. On the no-smoking floor there wasn't even sniff of smell. The room was also warm (not all hotels offer this luxury in december!) and breakfast was included (quite good, a buffet with both western and chinese options).

The location is quite good. I prefer walking to taxis / the metro so it was nice to be able to walk to Pingjiang Lu (the main tourist attraction, "old town") in 15 minutes. Most of the other attractions are near Pinjiang Lu, but if your not a walker, the hotel offers a free shuttle bus once every hour to the adminstrators garden and will always call you a taxi if need be (cheap). The main business center and shopping area is right next to the hotel, so if you like shopping, this the location is just right for you.

The staff is amazing. They are very eager to please and help you every time you need. Almost all of them speak at least a little bit of english and there is always someone with better english skills on duty. With me they went out of there way to help me when i was confused with taking the train to shanghai and almost missed it: they gave me a free ride to the train station and helped me buy a ticket there - wow, THANKYOU!

Overall, it's good value for your money (payed around 43 euros/night), I strongly recommend this place in the chinese Venice :) If I ever come to Suzhou again, i will most likely stay here again.

Room Tip: Request for a room on the non-smoking floors (the have both)
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EllaBedella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angel C, General Manager at Hotel Soul Suzhou, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2016

Dear EllaBedella,

Thank you for taking your precious time to share your wonderful experience with us.

We are most delighted to know that you had an overall pleasant stay and enjoyed our ideal location. Your kind compliments in recognition of the service provided by the team is highly appreciated.

Hotel Soul offers a new type of executive suites, spacious and luxurious brand-new spaces that come with premium attentive services. We look forward to welcoming you back so that you can experience our new renovated suites in the very near future.

With warm regards,

Angel Chan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2016

We stayed in a family room and it's very spacious. Room arrangement is very good. Quite a number of powerpoints available in the room. Bathroom is with transparent plastic glass but the side facing the beds are being covered by a blind which is very considerate. The service of the front desk is very courteous. Free shuttle are available to Suzhou Railway Station and other nearby attractions which I feel very pleased.

Stayed: November 2016
2  Thank 77sharifah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angel C, General Manager at Hotel Soul Suzhou, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2016

Dear Johor Bahru,

Thank you very much for sharing your generous review with us.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our family room. Your compliments on our thematic décor are highly appreciated. Our team are committed in providing the personalize service and facilities for our guests to enjoy.

Hotel Soul offers a new type of executive suites, spacious and luxurious brand-new spaces that come with premium attentive services. We hope that you can experience our new renovated suites on your next visit in Suzhou.

With warm regards,

Angel Chan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2016

It is well located, walking distance to the subway station, shops and some fast food restaurants.
This is a big hotel with a bizarre style. It gives the chance to reach your room’s floor in a “Mao elevator” watching images of military parades and Mao speeches in its TVs, or in an elevator that looks like a special rocket, and have a look in funny mirrors before looking for your room walking through long corridors. It’s a great experience!!!
Our room was big and clean, as well as the bathroom. Shower was ok, with a good flow of hot water. An interesting detail! It was separated from the room by a semi opaque glass wall. So if you want privacy… ask for another room!
It had TV cable with local and international channels some of them in English. Wifi was available in the room, but it did not work very well. Employees were kind and tried to fix the problem without success. We solve the issue using the lobby wifi; enough to send to whataspp messages.
Breakfast was great and it was included in the room rate! The self service buffet was very varied including tea, coffee, milk, yogurt, cereals, fruits, butter, honey, nuts, pastries, bread, salads, soup an even smashed squash. There was a separated “egg station” where fried eggs and omelets were cooked in the moment following consumer preferences.
We ordered room services a couple of nights. Prices were averages, but food was just good, nothing outstanding…
It is a bizarre but interesting option in the Chinese Venice.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drmsol80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angel C, General Manager at Hotel Soul Suzhou, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2016

Dear drmsol80,

Thank you very much for sharing your pleasant experience with us.

Your compliments on the thematic décor are much appreciated. The elements of both modern and ancient China are especially designed for guests to appreciate while experiencing the hotel. As a frequent traveler yourself, your comments on our WIFI and food quality are extremely important and allow us to review each steps in detail with respective department managers. Our new enhancements to the WIFI service are in progress.

We do hope to be given another opportunity to impress you to stay with us again, please let me know personally so that you are well taken care of your stay.

With warm regards,

Angel Chan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews