We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (506)
Filter reviews
507 results
Traveller rating
454
30
12
5
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
454
30
12
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsaqua restaurantpoor food qualityduty free mallbeer factorybuffet dinnerstayed nightsthe club loungemain restaurantbalconychinahainantoystaxis
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 507 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2016

People: 3 adults, 2 kids
Room: 1 bedroom villa with club access
Date: October 2015

Pros:
- Close to the airport
- Great location with spacious areas outside the room
- Multiple pools
- Kids slide and kiddy pool was fun and safe
- Great servicing staff
- Supermarket is very close by (but if you have grocery, it's a LONG walk)
- Kids club is very hidden, but it's a great, enclosed place for kids to play at, both in and outdoor
- Club access provide breakfast, high tea and dinner, with unlimited alcohol served at dinner.

Cons:
- Food quality has declined (we ate at every restaurant. The Chinese used to be our favorite, but quality has gone down)

Overall, it's good value for money.

Room Tip: Villa, it's close to the pools, club dining area and the activity zone.
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Homeliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jimmy S, General Manager at InterContinental Sanya Haitang Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2016

Dear valuable guest, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We appreciate your detailed comments about your experience during staying. we value your feedback very much and will do some effective actions to improve the quality of Food & Beverage. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely by General Manager Jimmy Sung

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2016

fantastic ocean view, and if not high season , the price is reasonable.
the under water restaurant is awesome, and duty free shop just next to it .!!!
pool is large but not much impressive , but every guest room got sea view! (yes , every room)

Room Tip: show them your platinum card on arrive . they give you to the best available room, not just one upgrade.
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ferdinand Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jimmy S, General Manager at InterContinental Sanya Haitang Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2016

Dear valuable guest, thank you so much for your good review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely by general manager, Jimmy sung

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2016

This place is relatively new. Not much else in the area except an overpriced 'duty free' mall next door. Taxi to Sanya or the airport is around 150 RMB (the other Intercontinental is closer to town) and takes around 30-40 min.
The hotel itself is nice, but caters more for Chinese tourists than westerners. Breakfast has a lot of very good Asian options, but almost no western food.
Service in the clublounge is nice and friendly, but occasionally not very professional. White wine was served in glasses still hot from the dishwasher and similar shortcomings. I hope they invest a bit more in the training.

Room Tip: The suite at the end of the floor has a great view
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Unterwegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jimmy S, General Manager at InterContinental Sanya Haitang Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2016

Dear valuable guest, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. A positive guest experience is something our staff takes great pride in.so we value your feedback and would make all aspects better. We will share your advice with our team and pay a attention to the training of staff professional skills.We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely by General Manager Jimmy Sung

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2015

We had taken the club rooms and it was great value. The club has unlimited food almost all day. the property has good restaurants and very nice bar. Dont really need to step out.
Fantastic rooms, almost twice the size of the other resorts and they upgraded us to Pool rooms - great for kids. however, the beach is not that great. The resort has an attached Micro Brewery, which is quite nice.

Room Tip: Must take the Club room with pool and outdoor shower.... very nice.
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank hgolchha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jimmy S, General Manager at InterContinental Sanya Haitang Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2015

Dear valuable guest, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. A positive guest experience is something our staff takes great pride in .so we value your feedback and make all aspects better. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely by General Manager Jimmy Sung

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2015 via mobile

Had higher expectations about this place..At 8pm on a Saturday night we first were the only customers for dinner..By 10PM there were max 10 customers. This is also when Philipino band started and, perhaps, this was a highlight of the evening. Waitress who took our order does not speak enough English to understand "steak medium-well", her service in general was mediocre.
Before 10PM there was a bit weird, and loud trance music played by Chinese DJ. Only band saves this place...

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank yulyakub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jimmy S, General Manager at InterContinental Sanya Haitang Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2015

Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We apologize for the inconveniences you faced during your stay, as that is not up to our normal standards. We will share your feedback with our staff and make the necessary changes. We hope you choose to stay with us again, so we can show you our true level of service.

Sincerely,

Jimmy Sung
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews