We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (331)
Filter reviews
331 results
Traveller rating
280
39
7
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
280
39
7
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews every evening hostel china yuan chinese
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 331 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2015

Easy to get to, nice beach, reasonably priced, clean, friendly and knowledgable staff.

Plenty of restaurants and bars around, they offer snorkeling and PADI courses.

Next time i go to Sanya i'd stay at this place, rather than a hotel.

Room Tip: single room is a good deal - own bathroom, AC, desk to do work.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2015

After some unfortunate business with the hostel we'd originally booked, we discovered Sanya Backpackers. We were so, so lucky that Sanya Backpackers had rooms available and were willing to help us out. The location is amazing- it's about a three minute walk to the beach and there's several great restaurants nearby. The staff are all super friendly and willing to offer advice/recommendations on anything. Also they have the sweetest, most adorable dog called Mimi. She likes to hang out in the bar area and is very friendly. The bar always has interesting people and is a great place to chill out after a day in the sun.

The rooms are also really nice, we had both a private queen with a bathroom and a private double without a bathroom. Both rooms were very clean and cozy. It can get hot in Sanya, so it's a huge plus that each room has it's own adjustable air conditioner. The owners are very organized and internet savvy. They also have several boards of all the people who have stayed there, they're really fun to look through. I would absolutely stay there again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: The ones farther away from the bar tend to be quieter.
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Emily N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2015

It was nice to stay at sanya backpackers. It is a quiet place in the middle of the crowded sanya. It is very close from the beach and lot of restaurants. It's practicle to take the bus to go anywhere around. The team of the place is so nice, with always good tips to give you. It was the best place i stayed in hainan.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pet f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2015

we stayed here on a short trip but chris and linda were awesome! my boyfriend had stayed with them before and they were so happy to see us when we arrived! I felt safe and welcome at Sanya Back packers! Really the BEST place to stay in Sanya

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Shaunna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2015 via mobile

We've been staying here for two solid weeks and I must note that we're loving this place. The hosts, Chris and Linda, are genuinely full of hospitality, unequivocal friendliness, support and honesty that all tenants definitely need upon their aarrival
Not only you get the sense of feeling like home but also that you're a family member.
We have got all of our inquiries fully answered and suggested on any of possible interests we've been having for the still-ongoing-two-week stay.

In case anyone who plans to stay here and expects a 5-star luxury and boring experience then keep your arrogance and ignorance to yourself and find a right spot ;)), and in case you're into having a temp.residence filled with fun, new friendship, mentioned-above hospitality, and decency for the money and reasonableness of all, THEN this is the RIGHT place for you.

We, the whole team of three families, are certainly going to miss this place along with its hosts.

Thank you so much, Chris and Linda. Keep it up! ;)

Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews