We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Earthly Paradise Bird Nest Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (244)
Filter reviews
244 results
Traveller rating
138
78
16
2
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
138
78
16
2
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssuspension bridgethe dragonthai restaurantbugsbayvilla
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 244 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2011

First the good points: The hotel is located in a nature reserve in the mountains above Yalong Bay in Sanya. The hotel is in three separate locations; there is a vacation tent camp, the West area and the East area. The rooms are actually individual cabins nestled on the mountain side. The cabins are nice - well equiped, spacious and private with fantastic views of the reserve. If you pick a cabin in the East area you are close to the 2 main restaurants in the hotel (Thai and Western), if you pick a cabin in the West area you are near to the swimming pool. To get from one part of the hotel to the other you need to take a ride in one of the hotel's buggies (it's about a five minute ride from East to West). We picked a cabin in the West area.

Now for the bad points: The nature reserve is a major Chinese tourist attraction. From dawn to dusk each day thousands of tourists are carted around the reserve in open sided buses. They are dropped off at certain scenic spots where they take photos, walk a short distance and then get picked up by the bus and taken to the next scenic spot. The tourists are very noisy and wherever you are in the reserve you can hear them. One of the scenic spots where the tourists are dropped off is called "Thousand Li umbrella", it offers great views of the nature reserve and is directly above the hotel's (small)swimming pool. The tourists have a clear view of the swimming pool and if you decide to go swimming you do some within full view of bus loads of noisy camera carrying tourists - some of whom seem to think that people sunbathing / swimming are part of the local wildlife and take photos accordingly.

The buffet breakfast (served in the Western restaurant in the East area) is terrible (I've been in 2 star hotels that serve a better breakfast). We also ate lunch in the Western restaurant on our first day. The food options were very limited (sandwiches, pizza, burger, spaghetti bolognese), the taste / quality below average and the prices extortionate (85 rmb for a club sandwich plus 15% service charge). We ate dinner in the Thai restaurant and found a similiar story of below average quality food and high prices. The hotel gives each guest one 380 ml bottle of boiled water per day. Once you've consumed that you need to pay 15 rmb for a 350 ml bottle of water to drink.

None of the staff seemed to be able to speak English and the majority of the guests were Chinese. If you don't speak Chinese you will have real problems staying at this hotel.

Whichever part of the hotel you stay in you will need to make use of the buggies to travel in and out of the hotel as well as from the East side (where the restaurants are located) to the West side (where the swimming pool is located). Although the journey time is short there are usually long waits for a buggy to show up and take you where you want to go.

In addition to the above we had problems with our room card key which took a long time to resolve and with room service (the food delivered was not what was ordered - the food was ordered in Chinese by a native speaker so it wasn't down to a language problem).

In short, despite it's nice rooms and fantastic views this is a massively overpriced and overrated hotel. We couldn't wait for our stay to end.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Kevin1972Beijing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2011

Amazing hotel -
fantastic views of the island
total tranquility
gorgeous and unique layout - huge balcony and outside but sheltered bathroom
good food and can walk up the hill for other options

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smilie_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2011

This is a very unique Sanya experience! I stayed with a friend in one of the west section's Eagle Rooms, which looks like the treehouse every adult wishes they had. Our room consisted of two full-size beds, a lounging nook, an office nook (computer with Chinese/Great Firewalled Internet access, "high-quality" speakers, minibar), toilet, shower, bathtub/jacuzzi on the balcony, and a few geckos (!). Our room had partial view of Yalong Bay and partial view of tourists walking around the national park. (Not good if you plan to soak in the outdoor bathtub during the day.) To get around the park, you can call for the resort's Landrovers to pick you up. Watch out for long waits during rainy weather (which should not happen often in Sanya). Restaurants are located in the East Section. The Thai restaurant has the best papaya salad I've ever had. The breakfast in the Western restaurant has your typical buffet spread of Chinese and Western food. Go for the fresh fruit! Service is very friendly and eager, though not all staff speak fluent English. The resort's East Section has a lot more rooms, of varying sizes, than the West Section, but they look less like treehouses. There's also a "campground" area, which I didn't venture to check out.

Spend some time checking out the park. There's a cool suspension bridge and some great vantage points for taking pictures of the bay and beach.

One thing to remember: the resort is INSIDE the national park. If you want to go to the beach, you need to call the hotel to drive you to the entrance of the park and then hail a cab to get to the beach.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marian27x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2010

Earthly Paradise Bird Nest Resort at the Yalong Bay Tropical Paradise Forest Reserve is a great concept well-executed in terms of hardware but the software needs serious tweaking.

The stunning views and mountainous micro-climate are made accessible to visitors (to the Reserve) and guests (of Earthly Paradise Bird Nest Resort). Where the latter may be seeking the solitude of nature, the former are there to make the most of a short, noisy daytrip. The Earthly Paradise Bird Nest Resort has inexperieced albeit hardworking staff who seem to have been abandoned by an anonymous middle and senior management.

We occupied three Eagles Nest near-luxury wooden chalets rising on stilts perched high on the mountainside; the internal layout is very similar to Amanjiwo or Amanusa, but with many more flights of wooden stairs to negotiate. Guests enjoy stunning views of the sea, valleys, mountains and Sanya town in the distance while taking in the fresh air, sunrise, sunset and surrounding forest. Uncontrolled screaming by visitors to the Reserve whilst wallking across the Dragon Chain Bridge, or when trying to elicit a non-existent echo from the Thousand-Li Umbrella peak are daily nuisances, lasting from 0800-1930hrs.

Even-larger crowds will visit Earthly Paradise Bird Nest Resort because it was used as a film location for the recently released "If You Are The One II". One who hankers after solitude, nature and fresh air may do better elsewhere.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank biketrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2010

My girlfriend and I spent one week in Sanya, the first half of the week in this hotel and the second half at the Pullman in Yalong Bay.

I can warmly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a romantic place to spend some special days with your loved one. I stayed in a Peacock room, which is round in shape with a round huge bed in the middle of the room. The room has a very cosy flair, with most of the things beind made of wood. There is a shower inside and a bathtub outside, though I never used the bathtub. The bathroom is small but very nice and clean.

When you wake up in the morning you hear nothing but birds chirping, then you open the balcony doors, step out and you're truly in the middle of a rainforest, we even had some sea view. It's an unforgettable experience, a perfect place for a couple. Each room is a separate small villa and the peacock villas are located in a way that you don't see other villas, so you really feel as if you were alone in the rain forest.

The pools in the resort are nice too, especially the one in the Eagle's rooms area (which any guest of the hotel can go to!). The restaurants are a bit pricey but ok, we had breakfast included and I found it to be both rich in variety and delicious.

I gave cleanliness only for stars, which is not the room service's fault, but because of the fact that you're in the middle of a rain forest. It is absolutely impossible to reach the sterile level of absolute cleanliness that you can find in luxury hotels in cities. So it can and will happen FROM TIME TO TIME that there are flys, moths or maybe even a gecko on the wall. If that will make you (or your partner) freak out, then you should not choose this hotel. But you'll definitely miss something. However, there is a mosquito net around the bed, which not only keeps away mosquitos and moths but also adds to the feeling of lying in a soft and cosy nest.

It is possible to go to the beach, but you first have to be driven down the mountain to the entrance of the resort (free of charge, you just call the reception and they send a small car) and from there take a taxi for around 15-20 RMB. However, from your room it will take approximately 25-30 minutes to the beach, so we never went to the beach during our stay in this resort. If you want to spend a lot of time at the beach you should probably book a hotel down in yalong bay, or make it as we did, some nights up on the mountains, and some on the beach. It was perfect!!!

As a nice activity while you're in this hotel I would recommend you to walk the trail from the bottom of the mountain up to the top. You can ask the concierge for details. It takes about two hours and is a wonderful trip through the rain forest. A must for everyone who loves nature.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sinoreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews