We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (164)
Filter reviews
164 results
Traveller rating
98
41
16
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
98
41
16
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot springsgolf coursejapanese restaurantlava fieldsspa roommovie towngolfers paradiseegg stationgreat coursesgolf tripbuffet styleoutdoor swimming poolfood qualitynoodle barcaddiesblackstonemh
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 164 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2018

The service recieved by the staff was outstanding. Very efficient, fast and friendly people (Beth and Vivian). The rooms are spacious and tidy with stunning views. A golfers paradise with 10 golf courses lots of variety of spa and mineral pools to choose from swimming pool outdoors. A very relaxing location. Would return to Mission Hills in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Every room has a view
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Wendy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nancy x, Guest Relations Manager at Mission Hills Resort Haikou, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Dear Guest, thank you for choosing to stay at Mission Hills Resort, a sincere thank you for your high appreciation in relation to our hotel and golf. It's our pleasure to have you here. We are looking forward to serving you at a high standard and wish you all the best..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017

My wife and I visited Mission Hills Resort Haikou with friends. To begin, the service we received for our room, restaurants and amenities was exceptional. We stayed in a Premiere room which included a king size bed and a balcony overlooking the pool and golf courses. It was both spacious and clean with a television that had a variety of English speaking channels.

The food at the hotel was exceptional. The breakfast buffet at Bistro on the Rock included selections from both China and traditional American breakfast foods. Our personal favorites were the in-house made fresh daily yogurt, a wide variety of fruit and the pork buns. For dinner, Ukiyo, the Japanese restaurant, provided a great selection and outstanding presentation. When the hotel discovered we were traveling over Thanksgiving, the chef added a special turkey course to our meal on the house! The Chinese restaurant, Silver Moon, was also excellent.

Reservations at both the spa and mineral springs were readily available. We took advantage of both. My wife received a facial and I had a couple of hour sessions with the massage therapist. Just what the doctor ordered! The mineral springs are organized by both geography and temperature. The temperatures range from hot to more tepid depending upon your preference and enabled us to lounge at our leisure in different pools.

Of key note is the accessibility to both Centreville and the city of Haikou. In Centreville we toured the mall. The trip was highlighted by two moments. First, over 200 children from the Bromsgrove School administered by Mission Hills were on a field trip at Centreville. When they saw my wife and I, we were invited over to meet the children and their teachers. They greeted us in English and were very friendly. The children shook our hands and engaged both of us. A great international moment. Secondly, we ate lunch at the restaurant Fortune Young. The Chinese food was exceptional and the service was outstanding. The atmosphere provided a relaxed environment for a great meal.

The city of Haikou is readily accessible from the resort. We spent a day in town shopping at local merchants and ate at a local fish market where we picked our own fresh fish meal to be cooked at a local restaurant surrounding the market.

All in all, a great trip! Great service. Great amenities. We would gladly return.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank craigathompson5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nancy x, Guest Relations Manager at Mission Hills Resort Haikou, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2018

Dear Guest, I would like to express my gratitude for sharing with us your experiences with Mission Hills. We do appreciate and take to heart our guests' exsperience and improve to always grow to expectations and we are happy that we could grow to yours. As Missoin Hills grow to be an example to be an example for sustainable business we do retain all of the surrounding beauty which in result gives such magnificent scenery and views to joy of our guests, and we are happy that you were able to enjoy it firsthand. Again, I would like to express my gratitude for sharing with us your experiences and observations. We are looking forward to have you with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017

This was my second visit to this resort and was as good as the first , the check in was fast and efficient and the 6 of us were all upgraded to spa suites. These rooms were huge with a separate kitchen, bathroom you could have a party in and a massive living area with a very comfortable king bed, probably the best room I've ever stayed in , and we all agreed on that !!!! We ate at the BBQ buffet that night and were all very satisfied with the wide choice , the quality of food and the service, the breakfast was in the same area and again it was good food with plenty of choice. Our last night we chose the Chinese and the manager arranged a Banquet for us in a private room as we were entertaining some Chinese friends .....The meal was very good as was the service with the Duck a highlight......We only had time for 2 games of golf and we played Blackstone and Lava Fields , as we had done last trip, we struck some poor weather and the courses were very wet which was challenging on very tough courses.
The Caddies were also not up to the usual standard we have found at the other MH resort in Shenzhen .....Overall this is an outstanding resort and I would highly recommend .......Tony A

Room Tip: Try for the spa suite upgrade
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Tony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nancy x, Guest Relations Manager at Mission Hills Resort Haikou, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2017

Dear guest,thank you come back again and thank you for taking time to leave us this comment, we really appreciate that. It is a great pleasure to receive such great feedback from you. As we strive for perfection and improvement to give our guests nothing but the best experience, we take to heart our guests' opinions and observations. We are truly happy to hear that your stay with us was a pleasant one and grew to your expectations. As for the caddie services,we will strengthen staff training, hope can meet your expectations next time.We are looking forward to serving you at a high standard and wish you all the best..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2017

Our group of 53 golfers and non-golfers stayed from 8-10 Nov 2018 to participate in the Mission Hills World Reciprocal Championship Challenge on 9-10 Nov. This was my second stay after the first in 2013 and more activities were available since then.We visited Movie Town and took many pictures of the beautiful buildings and activities there. The use of hot spring at the hotel was FOC but not many of us got to use that due to our tight program. The stay was pleasant and the management and staff were efficient and helpful. We played 3 golf games (out of 10 golf courses) and enjoyed our stay very much.

Room Tip: Choose high floor rooms and end rooms with more privacy for couples.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank KCL315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nancy x, Guest Relations Manager at Mission Hills Resort Haikou, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2017

Dear Guest, I would like to express my gratitude for sharing with us your experiences with Mission Hills. We do appreciate and take to heart our guests' exsperience and improve to always grow to expectations and we are happy that we could grow to yours. As Missoin Hills grow to be an example to be an example for sustainable business we do retain all of the surrounding beauty which in result gives such magnificent scenery and views to joy of our guests, and we are happy that you were able to enjoy it firsthand. Again, I would like to express my gratitude for sharing with us your experiences and observations. We are looking forward to have you with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017

Great courses, caddies great... cost of caddie is about 100RMB Hot springs really good and just few meters from hotel. Pro shops good but be prepared to pay around $150 Aus for a golf skirt. Unfortunately there is a big lack of English with all the staff which makes communication quite difficult. Would eat out of the hotel as can be expensive also. There is a shuttle bus that runs on the hour to Centerville where there are restaurants and shopping. Resort has an Indoor and outdoor swimming pool as well as a gym. If a keen golfer I would certainly recommend but but beware of communication difficulties.

Stayed: November 2017
2  Thank Judytripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nancy x, Guest Relations Manager at Mission Hills Resort Haikou, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments and share your experience with other travellers,a sincere thank you for your high appreciation in relation to our golf and caddies, and thank you for your comments,we will strengthen staff training, improve our English level, and employ more English speaking staff,the Guest Experience Team can speak English,Korea,Russia,Japanese...please contact us at any time.We are looking forward to serving you at a high standard and wish you all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews