We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location near Exhibition Center”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Golden Central Hotel
Ranked #1,274 of 2,820 Hotels in Shenzhen
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Great location for central Shenzhen. There is a walkway to the Exhibition Center subway station under the hotel. The exhibition center is a 2 minute walk from the hotel and there are several shopping centers close by. The hotel itself is okay with the suite a good size with an extra desk and large bed. We stayed on the 6th floor with was unfortunately under a restaurant. This was very noisy one night with the staff dragging furniture across the floor keeping us up. The hotel responded reasonably quickly to the issue.

Like others have said English isn't widely spoken by staff which wasn't an issue for me as my girlfriend speaks Mandarin. Staff that do speak English are friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms under the restaurant
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ant W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
There are newer reviews for Golden Central Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 16 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

Good hotel, but kind of expensive.

The location of the hotel is great, very near to the subway and to some good shops.

Few of the staff really know how to speak english, this make the communication very difficult. Is good to already pre-pay all your stay before arriving.

Room Tip: Try to get your bedroom as high as possible. it's not worth to take breakfast at the hotel. V...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

This hotel is situated in the city center. On the base floor there is a connection the metro station. This is an average 3 star hotel by Chinese standards. Most Americans would rate this hotel a 2 to 3 star hotel. This hotel is geared towards the male businessman.

Why:
1. The plug in front of the mirror is only for shavers. You can not style your hair with a hair drier or curling iron in front of a mirror.
2. The mirror area is not not large, and it is hard to put on make up on. The sink takes up the majority of the space.
3. For business traveling I feel that there isn't enough storage. I found myself leaving everything in my suit case and consistently sifting through my luggage.

The pros:
1. Centrally located, with a subway station below the hotel.
2. Many places to eat around the hotel to grab a quick bite to eat.
3. Very close to the convention hall.
4. Very close to the Ritz and the Four Season hotel. It's off the main subway line that goes through the city, s minimal transfer to get to major tourist locations.
5. The AC works well.
6. They actually have an extra shelf in the shower to place your toiletries.

The cons:
1. A little musty smell.
2. Everything doesn't feel very clean. It does look clean.
3. The internet is ok at best. I'm sure this will improve as people complain
4. The curtains are not great at blocking out all light. This is very important to those who are jet lagged. It's early April now, and the sun rises before 6 AM.

Overall, I think with a few updates this hotel would be a great hotel. Fresh carpeting and new wallpaper, and remodeled bathroom.

Oh yes, all USA travelers, bring an adapter. All of the plugs are Chinese standard plug configurations.

Room Tip: Try to get a renovated room.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SYTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

The location cannot be beat if you are working in the area of attending an event at the convention center.

There are good restaurants and a nice massage shop in the building.

It is very near a subway stop.

The place is a bit dated on the hotel side but it is in line with most 3 star places.

The bed was comfortable and the shower had plenty of hot water with good water pressure.

I would return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank arizonaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

I always choose this hotel on my biz trip just for its "location".
It is located on top of an MTR station which enables me to avoid the use of wild taxis.

Other elements such as breakfast, ambience, service, etc belongs to "China level" which is another way of saying "don't expect too much".

Yes, the rooms are moldy, the water leaks from the shower booth, some strangers can access the room floors becase there is no security, soom rooms have NO window, condoms are sold for a few RMB in your rooms etc etc but.... welcome to China !

I used to skip the cheap breakfast and head to Dunkin' Donuts on the 1st floor but DD is now closed (as of June 13). But we still have Pacific coffee which is about 10 seconds walk away.

Overall, it is a decent hotel if; a) your budget is around RMB500, and b) you priortize location.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skucla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shenzhen hotels
Civic Center
Xiangzhang Business Hotel
Xiangzhang Business Hotel
#1,300 of 2,820 in Shenzhen
6 reviews
Civic Center
Sheraton Shenzhen Futian Hotel
Sheraton Shenzhen Futian Hotel
#15 of 2,820 in Shenzhen
966 reviews
Civic Center
Guo Feng Hotel
Guo Feng Hotel
#653 of 2,820 in Shenzhen
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huanggang Port
Asta Hotel Shenzhen
Asta Hotel Shenzhen
#159 of 2,820 in Shenzhen
152 reviews
Huanggang Port
Wongtee V Hotel Shenzhen
Wongtee V Hotel Shenzhen
#61 of 2,820 in Shenzhen
56 reviews
Huanggang Port
Grand Chu Hotel
Grand Chu Hotel
#320 of 2,820 in Shenzhen
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Central Hotel

Address: No.3037 Jintian Road, Futian District, Shenzhen 518026, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Civic Center
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,274 of 2,820 Hotels in Shenzhen
Price Range: $54 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing