We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Portofino is an island of Italian food in the middle kingdom”

Portofino Italian Restaurant
Ranked #34 of 1,493 Restaurants in Xiamen
Price range: USD 29 - USD 73
Cuisines: Italian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The newly refurbished Portofino Italian Restaurant, with elegant floor-to-ceiling windows allows a wonderful streetscape glance out before your eyes. The soft lighting and dark brown European style furniture help to highlight the Italian inspired design. The Chef has the insight and exquisite culinary skills to create innovative cuisines with his skillfully prepared combinations of rich authentic flavors from Italia, your body, mind and tasty buds, our guests will enjoy the amazing food in an elegant environment along with the unique charm of Italian styles.
Xiamen, Fujian, China
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Portofino is an island of Italian food in the middle kingdom”
Reviewed 3 February 2012

I have been going to Portofino since it opened in Xiamen.Chief Pippo has been very kind in offereing his expertise for the taste needs of his customers' wants for that day.
The service has always been great and the food always exceeds my expectation.
I am a weekly customer and will continue to do so as long as Chief Pippo is there.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    15
    10
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Macungie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Always great. If you like Italian and you are in Xiamen, this is the place to go.”
Reviewed 26 January 2012

I have been coming to Xiamen for approximately 8 years now. I always make time to make sure I eat at Portofino at least once during my trips. If I can manage to get there more than once each trip, all the better. Chef Pippo's creations are authentic and always delicious. If you are hungry for something that isn't on the menu, the chef will make it for you providing he has the ingredients but I haven't found a time where he hasn't been able to make just want I wanted. The rest of the staff is very attentive and make you feel comfortable. If you come to Xiamen and haven't been to Portofino, you need to make it a priority.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AWBoyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Italian pasta in town”
Reviewed 16 January 2012

If you come to Xiamen or near by to Fujian province and are looking for Italian pasta, Portofino is the place to visit. Already the menu is giving you nice selection but in case you want something you are used to the chef Mr. Pippo is always available. The Chef is bringing the real Italian flavor in this Asian city.

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Kari K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“My second home”
Reviewed 16 January 2012

I spent 1y in Xiamen and Portofino became my second home. As italian and non-seafood eater, I found relief in regularly dining at Portofino. Chef Pippo and his crew have always a friendly welcome and Pippo offers suggestions about what to order and he is also open to variants in order to satisfy every request. I also love that, beside the regular menu, they have a monthly menu' punctually updated. Definitely my favourite dining place......outside Italy!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlbyZul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scordia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The pleasure of italian traditions”
Reviewed 14 January 2012

The atmosphere in this restaurant is really welcoming and very cozy. the restaurant staff is always willing to satisfy customers, everyone is really friendly: the service is great.
you can choose from a wide variety of dishes; in fact the menu is very various to satisfy every customers' demand. cookery is excellent thanks to Chef Pippo who makes unique italian tradition's tastes, with his own originality. So, this restaurant can be suggested to every kind of customers such us families, groups of friends, work colleagues...
This italian restaurant is the best one I've never visited; here every Italian citizen can find a bit of its own customs even if he is so far away!!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mariagrazia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Portofino Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Portofino Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing