We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (513)
Filter reviews
513 results
Traveller rating
103
226
126
34
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
103
226
126
34
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews water front breakfast buffet hotel is located short stay rooms are spacious star hotel hot water scrambled eggs in town waterfront runny costanera magellan straights statue lodging square
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 513 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2018 via mobile

With a couple of collegues, I was staying here, waiting for a our flight to our flight to our research station on Antarctica.
The hotel is really nice, friendly staff, and clean rooms.

The hotel is situated near the water front, and close to the city, with in walking distance. There is also a supermarket near.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
Thank LudgerZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2018

With a convenient location on the waterfront and close enough to the airport and city centre this is a good hotel for a short stay. The rooms are an acceptable size with a good bathroom. Everything in the room was in working order during both my one night stays. Service and quality of food in the restaurant was good, however, I did eat early on both nights. Service will be slow as the restaurant fills up. All staff were friendly and helpful with top marks going to the front desk.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MzeeLen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018

Clean, reasonably sized room. Mainly pleasant and helpful staff. Lots of small things that don't work takes away from an impression of good management. We asked for a room with a view of the ocean and got one on the other side. When we moved rooms we got a room where the safe did not work as there was a problem with the batteries. In the third room we had trouble closing the door and had to bang it causing our neighbours grief. Restaurant was fine. Bed was firm. Ran out of hot water fairly quickly. No hot water in the morning.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jade808558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2018

The Diego de Almagro is in a great location. Separated from the Straights of Magellan by only a road, it is almost directly across the street from the Costanera del Estrecho statute. A short walk, perhaps 15 minutes, will take you to the casino or the heart of town. Good restaurants are about 15 to 20 minutes walk away. The beds were quite comfortable. A table and two chairs were also available. Those are the pluses. Now for the minus. The rooms are bland. No pictures of any kind were on the wall, just wall mounted lights. The hotel is fairly new which means that it was built with cost in mind, leaving out niceties like sound proofing. At night I would wake to clearly hear a man urinating in the toilet. Since I was the only male in the room, this was a little disconcerting. Noise in the hall was easily heard also. Because heat comes from a radiator, there are no fans to turn on for white noise to drown out sounds. The bath tub corners were heavily and sloppily caulked but didn't cover what appeared to be black mold in the corners and between some of the ceramic tiles. Mold also appeared to be on the shower curtain, too, which would smack up against you when showering. Scrambled eggs were really runny at the breakfast buffet. We were traveling with friends who stayed in other hotels. They had more positive things to say about their lodging. If we come here again, I would look elsewhere for a hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a water view room, for an excellent view of the Straights of Magellan and Tierra Del Fuego.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2018 via mobile

The hotel is located by the bay, close to the city center. The rooms are spacious enough. The bathroom is ok. In one of the rooms, the shower curtain had mold. Breakfast spread is sufficient. Dinner options are also fair, though they choose at 11.00 pm. The staff is helpful and is comfortable in English. Parking can see limited at times. If number rooms have a view of the sea. Even number rooms don't. They have free wi fi for each floor.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Avinash_blr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews