We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic choice when visiting Siem Reap”

Review of The White House II

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 9
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sue J
Lake Mary, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic choice when visiting Siem Reap”
Reviewed 11 November 2016 for a stay in December 2015

My friend and I chose Mao's home from AirBnb. It's on the outskirts of town, so it's quieter, but it's only about a 10 minute ride, it had more than enough room for the 2 of us to spread out and had kickin' A/C. In addition to the clean, comfortable accommodations, Mao is a host who leaves an impression. He left us gifts more than once, kept the refrigerator stocked with beer once he learned we liked it and also made sure we were well taken care of by our driver / tour guide Tien on our trips to and around town. They were both so kind, responsive and completely accommodating of our every request. I cannot recommend Mao's house more highly!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Our hosts
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DodgyK
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely House Within a Real Local Community”
Reviewed 28 October 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I could not recommend this property more highly.

This lovely and comfortable house is situated in a small village on the outskirts of Siem Reap, a few minutes from the city centre and about half an hour from Ankor..
Mao, the owner was on hand at all times to help with our stay and provided a TukTuk and driver, included in the cost, to help ferry us around the various things that we wanted to see (and also go to buy take away food for us, act as translator/negotiator in shops and restaurants....indeed do anything that we wanted him to do!
We were given a cellphone to make sure that we could stay in touch with the TukTuk driver and with Mao, the owner, who also dropped by with breakfast, if we needed it and to make sure that everything was ok
By the end of the stay, it felt that we had been staying with family, not in a rented property!
Loved it.

NB. I have only made on rating on this that was less than "Great". This is the kitchen. It is a perfectly adequate kitchen, typical of Asia in general, but can be a challenge for the average European or American to get used to... but, hell, who wants to cook anyway!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location in a village with Khmer neighbours
Liked least: A local funeral that lasted for a full 72 hours... part of the authentic Khmer experience!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant house, great host!”
Reviewed 28 October 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Mao is a truly wonderful host. My five friends and I stayed at the White House II for four nights and had a fantastic time. He graciously took us out to dinner multiple times and was very flexible and accommodating . Mao speaks perfect English and accompanied us to the Phnom Kulen waterfall and gave us great insight to Khmer culture. The house has three spacious bedrooms and is located in a residential neighborhood on the outskirts of town not too far from the airport. Mao's neighbor Tin is a really fun guy and a skilled tuk tuk driver. The hospitality we received from Mao, Tin, and Tin's family was truly the highlight of our stay in Siem Reap. We all hope to keep in touch and highly recommend Mao to anybody

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andre S
Moscow, Russia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing -- stay with Mao!!”
Reviewed 6 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

My friends and I stayed at Mao's White House II on our recent trip to Cambodia. The house is incredible, and a wonderful value. The property is spacious, with 3 bedrooms, a large common area, a fridge/sink, and a bathroom. Air conditioners in the rooms worked great. Wifi was very fast and reliable. Towels, some toiletries, toilet paper, kitchen utensils/plates, tea/coffee were provided.

The aspect of the house that our group appreciated most was that it was somewhat removed from the downtown area of Siem Reap -- i.e., less touristy, more "real" Cambodia. Not ever difficult to get to, though, as we always had our private driver (arranged by Mao!) or were able to take an affordable tuk tuk from Pub Street late at night. The surrounding area is safe and we never felt ill at ease.

The best part about our stay, though, wasn't the house but the host, Mao. He put a considerable amount of effort into ensuring that our stay was enjoyable. He is the epitome of Cambodian hospitality and helped us with every possible aspect of our trip. Mao is always smiling and laughing and made us feel at home in Siem Reap from the minute we arrived. He learned all of our names and was genuinely happy to interact with us and tell us about his life and Cambodia. He took us to a traditional Cambodian restaurant where we had some amazing food, he arranged airport and bus station pickups and drop-offs, and coordinated well with the private driver he arranged for us. He brought us fresh fruit and some delicious tea, and made sure to see each of us off in person as we departed, even late at night (11pm).

Any trip, of course, doesn't go perfectly smoothly. We had a little problem one day in that the power went out in the house. Mao, however, diligently called the power company (multiple times!) to ensure they fixed the line (the line they had installed was new, so the problem should be taken care of now) and the problem was solved in no time.

In summary, the property is a great value and staying with Mao ensures you will be able to experience Cambodian life a bit off of the beaten touristy/Pub Street path. Absolutely recommended.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Degalans
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best place to rent in Siem Reap!”
Reviewed 1 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Mao is an exceptional host. You will feel at home at the White House II. He really went above and beyond his duties. He is friendly, kind and extremely accommodating. We had multiple arrivals, multiple departures and everything went smoothly and was taken care of. Mao even let us sleep and shower at the house before our flight on a day we had not rented. We consider him more than a host, really as our good friend and enjoyed all the time we got to spend together!

I stayed at the White House II with four other individuals and it was beautiful, clean, airy, and very comfortable. It really looks exactly as the pictures and is a great option if you want privacy and convenience. There is a full kitchen, bathroom, and three large bedrooms. It would be comfortable for up to 9 people. The surrounding area has a local convenience store and a delicious breakfast place. Mao showed us local Cambodian food, which is amazing--eat everything you can!

Our trip to Cambodia was relatively unplanned, but Mao assisted us and it became such a memorable trip. We hired a van for the duration of and the driver was always on time and patient with us. Mao got us deals on tickets to the Cambodian circus, entrance into different temples, and the waterfall.
I highly recommend staying at this property--I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Siem Reap! Thank you សូម​អរគុណ​អ្នក thank you to Mao--we can't wait to see you in the future!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing