We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A WONDERFUL PLACE TO STAY.”
Review of Sam So Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sam So Guesthouse
Ranked #75 of 486 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
“A WONDERFUL PLACE TO STAY.”
Reviewed 15 March 2012

review from scott, australia..

mr sam so and his lovely wife are the nicest people youll meet very honest and respectable family..

they really will go out of there way to help you with your visit to the great angkor wat..

i cant say enough about this guest house very reasonable price, great service, clean rooms, good cable tv.

hey they even provide toothbrushes ,and 2 bottles of free water and a free breakfast.

i shouldnt be telling you this because i probably wont get a room there next time because it will be full up .


just wanted to say thank you very much mr and mrs sam so and staff..some of the nicest people in cambodia.

regards scott , from australia. ps sorry to take so long to put this review up..

Room Tip: book in advance say 2 weeks..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    75
    20
    7
    3
See reviews for
21
88
75
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mossman, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

As we were flying into Siem Reap decide to book our accom in advance to make it easier once we arrived at the airport.
Booked Sam So online. Very easy, good email contact.
They sent a complimentary tuk tuk to pick us up from the airport. The rooms were spacious, clean, with fan and fridge, breakfast provided free of charge. Sam and his wife Theavy (not sure on the spelling sorry) were fantastic, helpful and freindly and not at all pushy. Organised what we asked them to do, but did not try to sell us anything we didn't ask for. Very good value, we were doing the holiday on the cheap and this was definately the best value accom for the whole trip.
The location was great, about a 10 minute walk from the 'centre' pub street etc, but is located down a small cul de sac with just a couple of properties. Quiet,safe.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bop1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

After reading reviews on tripadvisor we opted for sam so guesthouse and despite arriving late in the evening with no booking, we thankfully managed to get a room. We are very glad we did.

The guesthouse is located a couple of minutes from the river and a short ten minute walk to the market down a quiet little alleyway meaning it is peaceful yet not out of the way. Upon arrival we were struck by how kind and attentive the lady behind the desk (who we later learned was Mr Sam So's wife whose name I will not attempt to spell) was. Throughout our short stay and after meeting Mr Sam So himself this initial impression was only reinforced. All of the staff we met were truly lovely and always willing to help in any way. This kind attitude combined with a love of the business results in the utmost attention to guest satisfaction, an attitude that permeates every aspect of the guesthouse.

The rooms are very clean with good showers and air conditioning, and the breakfast is equally well done. We booked trips to the temples at Angkor and a visit to the floating village through the guesthouse, as well as hiring bicycles, all of which were fine.

(A word of warning regarding the floating village trip:We learned on the boat that our trip included a visit to a floating school and we were asked if we wished to go to the shop to buy some food or stationary which we did.However, the shop's prices were extortionate, with a small pile of books and some pencils costing $20 and 50 packets of dried noodles costing £25, meaning the shop gained the most from our contribution to the school. Had we known beforehand we could have bought books or food in the city to take with us.)

You may be bored of reading how nice Mr Sam So and his family are but having visited you cannot but feel compelled to get this message across. This kindly attentiveness turns a lovely guesthouse into first class accommodation.

I know Mr Sam So reads these reviews so I would like to take this opportunity to thank him and his family for our lovely stay and to please ask him to inform guests who book a trip to the floating village about buying things for the school before leaving. Thank you very much!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank i_am_darshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odense, Denmark
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

My friend and I went to Siem Reap primarily to see Angkor Wat. What we got staying at Sam So Guesthouse, was hospitality beyond our wildest imagination.
Sam and his wife were helpful from the moment we stepped onto his property. We were immediately shown tours they could help us book, and told of their recommendations of what to see while we were in Siem Reap.

You really got the feeling that you were amongst family and that they would go above and beyond to try and help you with any requests.

My friend and I had booked a twin room. The room was very spacious, clean, had a tv. The bathroom was also spacious compared to South East Asia standards we had come across in other countries.

We booked a one day tour of Angkor Wat with private driver and tour guide, through Sam's wife. The tourguide was Sam's cousin and was great at his job. He showed me all the best places/locations to take the best pictures from. And to have our own driver (in a car with air con!!) for a very reasonable cost was great.

I highly recommend Sam So Guesthouse as a place to stay while in Siem Reap. You will not get better service anywhere :)

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tez29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We came across Sam So Guesthouse on Trip Advisor after the place we were recommended was full, what a stroke of luck it was! Located in a quiet courtyard minutes from the river and centre yet peacefully off the main street is this wonderful guesthouse run by Sam So and his lovely family. The rooms are well appointed, clean, spacious, comfy beds etc. And amazing value, yet the best part is the aforementioned owners. They arranged everything from an incredibly good value tuk tuk around the temples of Angkor for just 15 USD for the day to our onward boat and transport to battambang. Nothing was too much trouble and led to a very relaxing time with us able to concentrate fully on enjoying our time in Siem Reap without the hassle of sorting this ourselves. The fact that it is family run gives it a wonderful atmosphere and Sam So and his wife are possibly the nicest people on the planet. For an amazing budget experience look no further, you won't be disappointed, aside from having to leave.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomjb33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.0 km away
Sam So Boutique Villa
Sam So Boutique Villa
#95 of 486 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.2 km away
Happy Guest House
Happy Guest House
#25 of 486 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
0.3 km away
Horizons Cambodia
Horizons Cambodia
#33 of 486 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Seven Candles Guest House
Seven Candles Guest House
#12 of 486 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
0.5 km away
Baphuon Villa
Baphuon Villa
#91 of 486 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.5 km away
Siem Reap Rooms Guesthouse
Siem Reap Rooms Guesthouse
#10 of 486 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sam So Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sam So Guesthouse

Property: Sam So Guesthouse
Address: Wat Bo Rd #0164, Wat Bo village, Siem Reap 17000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 486 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price range (per night): $16 - $21
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sam So Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sam So Guesthouse is located in the center of Siem Reap city, Cambodia. It is a very nice place to stay, great atmosphere. Located about 15 minutes from Siem Reap International Airport, Sam So Guesthouse is about a 10-minute walk to the Old Market, the Night Market and Pub Street, as well as a scenic 10-minute drive to the world famous Angkor Wat. It has 19 rooms. Every room has private bathroom (with hot water), mini-fridge, cable TV, and free Internet service (with a wireless connection) and free pick-up from airport, bus station and pier. Free Breakfast with tea and coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Expedia APAC and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sam So Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing