We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sam So Guesthouse
Nearby Hotels
USD 182*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nita by Vo Luxury Hotel(Siem Reap)
USD 325*
USD 129*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 125*
USD 113*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
USD 58*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 78*
USD 60*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 101*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 220*
USD 183*
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 35*
USD 30*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 65*
USD 61*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 151*
USD 144*
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (347)
Filter reviews
347 results
Traveller rating
238
79
20
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
238
79
20
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest housefamily compoundangkor watplace to staypub streettuk tukhot watercable tvbus stationquiet at nightfloating villagehome away from homelocation is greatair conditioningnight marketwe loved our staystayed here for nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
214 - 219 of 347 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2012

As we were flying into Siem Reap decide to book our accom in advance to make it easier once we arrived at the airport.
Booked Sam So online. Very easy, good email contact.
They sent a complimentary tuk tuk to pick us up from the airport. The rooms were spacious, clean, with fan and fridge, breakfast provided free of charge. Sam and his wife Theavy (not sure on the spelling sorry) were fantastic, helpful and freindly and not at all pushy. Organised what we asked them to do, but did not try to sell us anything we didn't ask for. Very good value, we were doing the holiday on the cheap and this was definately the best value accom for the whole trip.
The location was great, about a 10 minute walk from the 'centre' pub street etc, but is located down a small cul de sac with just a couple of properties. Quiet,safe.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bop1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

After reading reviews on tripadvisor we opted for sam so guesthouse and despite arriving late in the evening with no booking, we thankfully managed to get a room. We are very glad we did.

The guesthouse is located a couple of minutes from the river and a short ten minute walk to the market down a quiet little alleyway meaning it is peaceful yet not out of the way. Upon arrival we were struck by how kind and attentive the lady behind the desk (who we later learned was Mr Sam So's wife whose name I will not attempt to spell) was. Throughout our short stay and after meeting Mr Sam So himself this initial impression was only reinforced. All of the staff we met were truly lovely and always willing to help in any way. This kind attitude combined with a love of the business results in the utmost attention to guest satisfaction, an attitude that permeates every aspect of the guesthouse.

The rooms are very clean with good showers and air conditioning, and the breakfast is equally well done. We booked trips to the temples at Angkor and a visit to the floating village through the guesthouse, as well as hiring bicycles, all of which were fine.

(A word of warning regarding the floating village trip:We learned on the boat that our trip included a visit to a floating school and we were asked if we wished to go to the shop to buy some food or stationary which we did.However, the shop's prices were extortionate, with a small pile of books and some pencils costing $20 and 50 packets of dried noodles costing £25, meaning the shop gained the most from our contribution to the school. Had we known beforehand we could have bought books or food in the city to take with us.)

You may be bored of reading how nice Mr Sam So and his family are but having visited you cannot but feel compelled to get this message across. This kindly attentiveness turns a lovely guesthouse into first class accommodation.

I know Mr Sam So reads these reviews so I would like to take this opportunity to thank him and his family for our lovely stay and to please ask him to inform guests who book a trip to the floating village about buying things for the school before leaving. Thank you very much!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank i_am_darshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

My friend and I went to Siem Reap primarily to see Angkor Wat. What we got staying at Sam So Guesthouse, was hospitality beyond our wildest imagination.
Sam and his wife were helpful from the moment we stepped onto his property. We were immediately shown tours they could help us book, and told of their recommendations of what to see while we were in Siem Reap.

You really got the feeling that you were amongst family and that they would go above and beyond to try and help you with any requests.

My friend and I had booked a twin room. The room was very spacious, clean, had a tv. The bathroom was also spacious compared to South East Asia standards we had come across in other countries.

We booked a one day tour of Angkor Wat with private driver and tour guide, through Sam's wife. The tourguide was Sam's cousin and was great at his job. He showed me all the best places/locations to take the best pictures from. And to have our own driver (in a car with air con!!) for a very reasonable cost was great.

I highly recommend Sam So Guesthouse as a place to stay while in Siem Reap. You will not get better service anywhere :)

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tez29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We came across Sam So Guesthouse on Trip Advisor after the place we were recommended was full, what a stroke of luck it was! Located in a quiet courtyard minutes from the river and centre yet peacefully off the main street is this wonderful guesthouse run by Sam So and his lovely family. The rooms are well appointed, clean, spacious, comfy beds etc. And amazing value, yet the best part is the aforementioned owners. They arranged everything from an incredibly good value tuk tuk around the temples of Angkor for just 15 USD for the day to our onward boat and transport to battambang. Nothing was too much trouble and led to a very relaxing time with us able to concentrate fully on enjoying our time in Siem Reap without the hassle of sorting this ourselves. The fact that it is family run gives it a wonderful atmosphere and Sam So and his wife are possibly the nicest people on the planet. For an amazing budget experience look no further, you won't be disappointed, aside from having to leave.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

I stayed in Sam So guest house for our (me and 2 friends) first time to Siam Reap. we booked just 2 days before our arrival and we keep contacting them through email and we always have a very helpful reply from them. we ask for tuk tuk to picked us up at bus station and voila we found Mr. Sam On as our friendly driver until next day for our angkor trip. they gave us a friendly and warm welcome, we felt we were in right and safe place. Mrs. Sam So help us to arrange our trip and early breakfast box for us. they have nice rooms, breakfast and smile for you always. you have to found out by yourself how great they are. thanks to Sam So family for everything they had for us :)

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank devy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews