We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing work!”

APOPO Visitor Center
Ranked #5 of 201 things to do in Siem Reap
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

A wonderful effort that everyone should support!
Many countries still suffer the consequences of landmines, and these guys are doing great work to remedy that.
The tour and demonstration was a great experience, very educational and inspiring.
Now go adopt a mine-detecting rat to support this great initiative.

Thanks for having us!

Thank Ingrid Christin... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APOPO V, General Manager at APOPO Visitor Center, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Dear Ingrid,

Thank you so much for your review,

It was a pleasure having you within the centre.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"land mines"
in 21 reviews
"short video"
in 6 reviews
"saving lives"
in 4 reviews
"information boards"
in 4 reviews
"unexploded ordnance"
in 3 reviews
"non profit organization"
in 3 reviews
"informative tour"
in 6 reviews
"success rate"
in 2 reviews
"help clear"
in 2 reviews
"a small gift shop"
in 2 reviews
"usd person"
in 2 reviews
"tour takes"
in 3 reviews
"interesting visit"
in 4 reviews
"great initiative"
in 2 reviews
"minute tour"
in 2 reviews
"worthy cause"
in 4 reviews
"an absolute"
in 5 reviews
Filter

144 - 148 of 258 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018

I visited here this morning and it is certainly worth the visit. The Visitor Centre is well set out and it is well worth reading the information on the boards. We were then guided around the place and told about landmine clearance by APOPO. Then the best bit: a demonstration by the special rat and his two handlers. We were then shown a short video about the work of APOPO (with the option of purchasing drinks), and then left to look around the Centre. They have a small gift shop (great value T-shirts) with no-one hovering over you to pressure you into buying. Probably need to allow about an hour so that you don't need to rush.

Thank Gina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APOPO V, General Manager at APOPO Visitor Center, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Gina,

Thank you so much for your kind review.

We are glad that you enjoyed the visit and our centre.

We hope to see you soon.

Best regards,

APOPO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

I had actually heard of this NGO before, so was very excited to see it was just a street or two off the main road to Ankor Wat, Their new visitor center is meant to raise awareness and funds - there's a $5/person donation at the end.

A really well put together program that provides informational posters, in person demonstrations, and a chance to see a herorat in action. There is a little cafe section to order drinks while you watch a video. Our staff guide spoke fantastic English and was a great resource.

With the important work they are doing in Cambodia, and around the world, it is more than worthwhile to stop and take in this new interesting experience.

Thank dmcneil13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APOPO V, General Manager at APOPO Visitor Center, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear Dmcneil13,

Thank you so much for reviewing us.

It was a pleasure showing you our facility and project.

We hope to see you soon.

Warm regards,

APOPO Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

My family and I got a good grasp at the scope of the landmine problem in Cambodia. Of course the biggest draw was the demonstration with the specially trained rat. And although my wife has a phobia of mice and rats, even she enjoyed it. Just a heads up, the rat only made an appearance for about ten minutes, but this was sufficient for the purpose of the demonstration. Apparently the rats are nocturnal, so keeping out much longer would disturb their natural sleeping pattern. History of landmines in Cambodia,detection methodology, and details of the APOPO organization comprised the rest of the tour. All in all, very interesting and made for a good complement to the Landmine Museum and Siem Reap War Museum we later visited.

Tip: You must schedule a tour prior to your visit. Visit the APOPO website for details.

Thank humu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APOPO V, General Manager at APOPO Visitor Center, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear humu1,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us.

It was a pleasure having you within our centre.

Best regards,

APOPO TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Incredible information about the results of the Vietnam war and the devastation that it caused. It is incredible to see that the war is still impacting the Cambodian people so negatively.
Apopo is doing very important work and is a must see for people in Cambodia and Siem Reap

Thank Brandon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APOPO V, General Manager at APOPO Visitor Center, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear Brandon P,

Thank you so much for your review,

We are glad that you enjoyed your visit.

We hope to see you soon!

Best regards

APOPO TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed APOPO Visitor Center also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to APOPO Visitor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing