We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”
Review of Babel Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Babel Guesthouse
Ranked #7 of 489 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
79 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We stayed there 6 nights. Excellent value for money, comfy rooms, nice garden, good mattress, good Wifi, away from traffic, friendly staff, happy to help.
What was less ok :
- the food was not that good, breakfast was as bit thin in the mornings.
- The music they played in the bar was a bit odd. Sometimes a bit too loud, and you could not avoid it as there are loudspeakers everywhere. The staff was very nice to turn the music down each time we asked.
- One of the neighbouring guesthouses had a puppet show on every night from 7:30pm : Loud traditional music for 2 hours daily. We eventually changed rooms (our initial room was located at the back of the guesthouse) and could not hear it anymore after that.
- The Italian guy on duty every night (the owner ?) did not seem to give a sh... about his customers. A pity.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alka G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    506
    131
    28
    9
    7
See reviews for
39
221
99
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Rogaland, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Babel Guesthouse is one of the best guesthouse i¨v ever been to. From the moment we came to siem reap the staff and the owners was helping us with all we asked for. ( and with a great service as well!!!) They picked us up at the airport and took us to babel for only 5 dollars!!( and the trip was like 20min.) our rooms was clean and big, and even the bed was big! they had a bar and resturant with an exelent service and food! The atmosphere in this guesthouse was amazing because is was so easy to talk with other guests and staff, we loved it! If we needed transport somewhere the staff would fix that for us. the location was good, just 5/10 min. to walk to down town.
This guesthouse will give you good value for the money! :)

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marte L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kållered
1 review
Reviewed 6 January 2012

A perfect guesthouse with excellent Khemer staff! This is a place I would love to go back to!! Thank you Babel for your friendliness!! I will be back!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lag43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

I have done a lot of travelling around the world, but this was definitely one of the best places I have ever stayed. I was travelling alone Christmas week and the Guesthouse didn everything to make me feel welcome. David, an Italian guy who seems to run the place, was incredibly friendly. It's clear that he has a huge passion for not only the guesthouse and the area but also for the charity work which the guesthouse is involved in. I found the idea of seeing all the temples daunting and on the way to Siem reap, I didn't know what to see and how to do it, but David gave me sound advice and it was all booked in a few minutes. They hae great links with other guesthouse in other areas and booked them in advance for me.
The room I booked (a single) had been given to someone else, but instead of trying to fob me off, I was given a huge spotless room with three beds (not that I used them all). The room was really clean which is so important to me and they had put the effort into preparing it which you would usually find in a hotel.
The free breakfast is a good filler and the other food is wonderful. I also like the way that it is set on a dusty little road which feels local and is very quiet at night. I really recommend this place. This is a genuine review. I don't usually feel bothered to write these reviews but Babel really left and impression on me.
The place is quite far from town (about 15 minutes walk, but it's a nice walk and feels very safe) a tuk tuk is about a dollar or two at night.

Room Tip: It can be a little noisy some night due to other guesthouses in the area jamming on instruments. But...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisPartlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
1 review
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Its clean, the staff is the best, the owners Are Even better, the food is cheap and great, the athmosphere is amazing, you feel like home, and you Are taken care of if its your first time in siem Reap. There is a great pool next door available for guests, and downtown is a tuk tuk away. This guesthouse employs and helps local staff to give them a better quality of their life, and they are really sweet and helpful. I would definately go back and stay here for a while!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IngunnViste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.9 km away
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
#35 of 343 in Siem Reap
469 reviews
0.8 km away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.3 km away
Riversoul Residence
Riversoul Residence
#4 of 343 in Siem Reap
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
The Rose Apple Boutique Bed & Breakfast
0.2 km away
Seven Candles Guest House
Seven Candles Guest House
#12 of 489 in Siem Reap
489 reviews
2.2 km away
Mango Rain Boutique Hotel
Mango Rain Boutique Hotel
#6 of 489 in Siem Reap
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Babel Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Babel Guesthouse

Property: Babel Guesthouse
Address: 738 Wat Bo Road | Salakamroeuk, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 489 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price range (per night): $24 - $33
Hotel Class:2 star — Babel Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Babel Guesthouse is an intimate guesthouse surrounded by a tropical garden with an outside bar & restaurant area, serving a combination of local and western style dishes. We offer you beautifully designed, comfortable spacious and clean rooms. All the rooms are air-conditioned with cable TV and bathrooms with hot water showers and bathtubs in most of the rooms. Norwegian owned and managed, located in the charming Wat-Bo area of Siem Reap, only 15 minutes away from the majestic temples of Angkor Wat. The wonderful staff at Babel Guesthouse possess great local knowledge that we are more than happy to share with you to make your stay in Siem Reap memorable. Our local drivers and guides have worked for Babel Guesthouse for many years, and we can assure you they will be there for you, wherever you would like to go and whatever you would like to do during your stay at Babel. Babel Guesthouse is run with an active focus on Responsible Tourism. We constantly seek to provide benefits from the tourism industry to the local community in Siem Reap, and we are doing our best to cause as little damage as possible to the area in which we operate. We only hire local staff, drivers and guides. We sponsor all our staff and some of our Tuk Tuk drivers with higher education. They all receive plenty of training, good working conditions, fair salaries and flexible working hours to enable the staff to continue their education. We buy our food for the restaurant at the local market, and we support good projects in town that actively focus on Responsible Tourism. We at Babel Guesthouse are looking forward to give you memories for life! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Agoda, Odigeo, HostelWorld, lastminute.com.au, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Babel Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Babel Siem Reap Guesthouse Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing