We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Pre Rup
from USD 59.00
More Info
from USD 119.00
More Info
from USD 53.00
More Info
from USD 59.00
More Info
Reviews (1,138)
Filter reviews
687 results
Traveller rating
320
287
77
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
320
287
77
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steep climb temple mountain east mebon great views from the top red brick wooden staircase sunset spot angkor wat phnom bakheng big circuit worth a stop nice temple grand circuit top level banteay srei day pass tuk tuk
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 687 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago

A Shiva temple believed by Cambodians to have been used for funerals- this is a favorite spot for sunset photos. Hence expect crowds for sunset views. However the turnout is not anywhere nearly as much as morning sunrise crowds at Angkor Wat and you should be able to find a convenient spot to take your snaps.

The stairs to the upper levels where you need to get to in order to take your snaps are quite steep - but nothing you cannot manage . Enjoy the sunset.

Thank UNNIMAYA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went to Pre Rup at the end of our Angkor Wat trip as a final spot to enjoy the sunset... and that was a great decision! After seeing all those temples one after the other, you start to feel a little "temple sick" so we were a bit unsure if we would like to really climb another one and experience the sunset from the top of it! Cause roaming around with the tuk-tuk is as much fun! However, once we climbed and see the view from the top, we immediately changed our minds. It's a great spot if you want to have a temple/sunset photo!

Thank Cagri T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our guide told us that this place, Pre Rup was used for funerals. I remember the redness of the place as the sandstone reflected the afternoon sun. The lions were also fairly visible and prominent in the front and rear sections of the temple. There were also quite a few stray dogs but they were harmless. Not that many people were here at the time of our visit but then people started coming as we were leaving presumably to watch the sunset. There was a steep climb and then we noticed the views and thought it would be perfect to see the sunset but then we would have had to wait a couple of hours and we were already exhausted. I would recommend a sunrise or sunset here.

Thank Daniel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We set off from our hotel at 05.00. There are steep wooden steps to climb up at the side. Make sure you have a torch! It was certainly worth doing as the sunrise was spectacular. There were only about 8 people up there so easy to walk around to get wonderful shots,

Thank avril b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The climb is steep. However, please use the wooden staircase at one of the side. We didnt know there is a wooden staircase and had to climb up on all fours due to the steepness of the stairs leading up to pre rup. The view at the top is worth it.

Thank Dream815365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This temple is not one of the most visited in Angkor but its pyramidal shape and the fact that you have to go up to the top via steep stairs to get astonishing views of the surrounding jungle makes it really worthy. At the corners of the three terraces of the buiding you find beautiful elephant statues. If you have the chance go visit this temple, won´t regret it!

1  Thank javiercard2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2018 via mobile

There are so many good temples in this region, but include Pre Rup for the climbing and the smaller crowds on the afternoon.

Thank EC13091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2018

The colour of the temples was special because of the materials it was made of. It is a different type of beauty. Worth seeing it after Angkor Wat and Angkor Thom.

1  Thank SuperwusirsirA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2018

This is a much quieter temple,built in a square shape with several corridors and door frames,there are many towers built of brick not all of them in the best condition several are crumbling,the three on the top layer are the most impressive,there are also many statues of lions here at this temple,be aware the steps to the top of the temple are steep and not in the best condition so some care is needed.Nice quieter temple.

Thank scubacol11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2018

Visited here during my brief stay in Siem Reap along with other larger temples etc. This was recommended as being the place to see the sunset by my guide. We accordingly made the visit and had a very nice look around the small (by comparison) site. There are some very steep steps to climb so be careful.
There is lovely architecture and nice carvings. My guide gave me the full history of this, so let your imagination run away with you for a few moments.
We did hang around for the sunset along with maybe 150 other people who had the same idea, but unfortunately the actual sunset was blighted by the clouds, nonetheless you managed to get a really good view across the countryside whilst you waited.
Since the admission to this is included in your tickets to the other major sites then it was a no brainer to come and see and experience.

Thank KPR1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews