We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Banteay Samre
from USD 38.00
More Info
from USD 59.00
More Info
from USD 488.75
More Info
Reviews (764)
Filter reviews
460 results
Traveller rating
289
138
29
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
289
138
29
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews peaceful temple angkor wat east baray worth a visit small temple well worth the trip landmine museum off the beaten track walk around own pace main temple favorite temple take photos carvings banteay tourists miniature
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 460 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Unlike many of the temples in the Angkor Archaeological Park, this temple is not as frequented thus making it a quite enjoyable place to visit especially after a visit to a more highlighted temple. The style was simple and there isn’t much hiking and climbing to speak of. It was under some renovations and there were cats that were left to roam the facilities. It wasn’t a jaw dropping place but still, it felt good to walk around and take photos without a mass of people. If you are visiting Banteay Srei, you might as well visit this place as well.

Thank Daniel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was perhaps my favorite of the dozen sites we visited. For most of our time, we and our guide were the only ones in the place. The temple is in remarkably good and complete condition, with several beautiful reliefs and great photo opportunities. There’s a peacefulness here that’s hard to describe and unique among the many temples of Angkor. Well worth a visit.

Thank kevinpY5251LC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We visited the temple during the evening and it was practically devoid of visitors. It appears that this temple is usually left from the traveler circuit since it had been built in similar design as it is grander sister Angkor Wat. Nevertheless, it was a beneficial visit! This's among the most intact temples in Angkor and a must see in case you wish to immerse yourself in Angkorian heritage and structure!

Thank Un D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Banteay Samre is off the beaten path but worth the effort and time. It's undoubtedly the simplest temple to navigate so much of it's dull when compared with another temples. The great part is it was practically empty when we visited which was simple to take photos that are great. Since it's into position, you're also treated to some amazing scenery and also you get an opportunity to find out how the locals live. Lots of amazing pictures of small communities and rice paddies along the way. The twelve century Hindu Temple is devoted to Vishnu which seems to be a miniature Angkor Wat - style that is similar. The reliefs and carvings are in shape that is great as it should have been restored recently. Banteay Samre is among the greatest temples to see as you don't be rushed by the crowds plus you are able to check out the temple in an easy fashion. You'll want to have water along with you as it get rather warm in the evening.

Thank Arlie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Been to Cambodia 4 times now, after Angkor Wat and Bayon (which still get repeated visits) I decided to see the other temples. This and the old capital of Koh Ker were on my 3rd trip - well worth the visit as not too crowded and you can get some amazing photos that aren't full of other tourists (which is hard to get at Angkor and Bayon) Well worth a visit, as are all the temples around Siem Reap and further afar. Take care when going up near the Thai border, I went alone and was the only caucasian tourist. I felt safe, but was asked to pose for a million photos (blondes are novelties for monks up there I guess). Also stick to the marked tracks, there are uncleared mines around many forested areas up northern Cambodia.

Thank Melicous72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2018

Banteay Samre was my next favourite of all of the temples I visited in Angkor park. In the opinion of mine it's much more extraordinary even compared to Ta Prohm and Angkor Wat itself. There's a lovely power within the complex in addition to being, while smaller than several of another temples, the carving is very gorgeous it actually is a fantastic spot to check out. Best of all it is significantly less popular as other temples so that you might find yourself nearly alone with these. Well worth a trip. Make the hard work and you'll be rewarded.

Thank Elladine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2018

Banteay Samre was recognized as one of my personal favorite temples visited during the tour of mine of the Angkor Temples. Whereas the majority of the additional temples had swarms of guests, Banteay Samre was fairly deserted whenever we visited. It truly gave the feeling of discovery that we look for. Also allowed for a number of excellent photographs without having to hold out for many other individuals to go dealt with. One of the best temples to see among the Angkor complicated.

Thank Selena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2018

Banteay Samre Is definitely one top temples to see But one of most missed out from your trip to Siem Reap. In case you really enjoy Ankor Wat you are going to love the pedometar its made from a white sand stone bricks which helps make it very photogenic,..The big down fall is the fact that its from the first track from all of the additional temples. But is put in the main pass you purchase. Its just a thirty min drive by tuk tuk and imagine what no crowds.. a Quick mention not far from her is Banteay Srey offer it a miss over crowded as well as really minimal exactly where you are able to walk..

Thank Randolf C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2018

Combine this with a drive to Banteay Srei and Kbal Spean. It's somewhat from the grand circuit and also involves a good excursion by a side street through villages plus padi fields. The temple is big and display distinctive angkor like architecture. Carvings seem in condition that is excellent and could have been restored. Walk and check out in relative quiet as guests here are less. Enjoyed the visit of ours and took loads of pictures.

Thank Ella G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2018

Vast majority of the ruins and also temples of Siem reap are simply incredible, stunning, All you are able to do is look at it, internalize the charm and wonder how these early folks built these temples with the hands of theirs. Thinking we're advance now? i dont believe so, after looking at these temples and ruins I'm convinced we're merely startng to explore things that are new. Though these individuals in old times are way better forward of us. all of the walls have intricate carvings??? who'd do that?

Thank Zacharia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews