We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7)
Filter reviews
7 results
Traveller rating
2
2
1
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
2
2
1
2
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 7 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2015

I don't understand some of the previous reviews. My wife and I and our Golden Retriever just spent two weeks at Calef Lake in our 24' motorhome. Our daughter and four year old grandson live nearby so they visited often. We had a great time..our grandson's first camping experience..campfires, some-mores etc. And he loved the beach and swimming in the lake. Yes, most of the sites here are rented for the season by families who use them as their summer getaway. So what?? The whole park is well maintained, bathrooms / showers are immaculate. Each site is cleaned and raked before you move in. The beach is raked daily. And the staff is very friendly and helpful. Highly recommended!

Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2015

This park will not work for you if you have a big rig. Our 40 foot got stuck between trees, and lots of other issues. We ended up staying the night in the parking lot because we could not get in to out reserved spot. Campground seemed very nice for units already in place, the semipermanant residents.

Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
Thank Juli-Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2014

We went to this campground as we were planning on going to Canopie Lake Park and didn't want to travel the 2 hrs to get there and back. This campground was close to the park (within 30 min)
The reviews posted are true....this really is not a campground...its a trailer park. We were parked in the front, near the office, which had a store that was the smallest I have seen. Very....'rustic'.
We have a 26' travel trailer and found our site quite tight to get into based on the one way traffic. If it were 'head in parking' it would of been fine, but to back in, well, it was not pleasant. My husband actually admitted our last day there that he was apprehensive about pulling out that morning and although we were suppose to pull out with the one way traffic, he decided there was no way he could cut the truck and camper to fit onto the road in that direction.
We took a drive around just to check the place out. Playground for out grandson was small, but well groomed. Sites were tight to get into throughout the park. Speaking of sites, there were very few. Most, as other reviews will tell you, were permanent residents. Some of them were in need of being cleaned up. (garbage)These permanent residents had the waterfront sites, so forget requesting that. We did not get to the small beach as we spent our day at the park, but seemed like it was for the 'residents'. We drove down one area and I would have had my eyes closed if we had to bring out trailer that way! VERY tight! We passed a trailer with a screened deck that was called "The Purple lounge". That kind of said it all for me.
Lots of woods, lots of trees, seemed clean- we did not use the facilities at all. What little interaction we had with management was pleasant, but did not feel like a real campground to us.
As another reviewer said, if you're looking for a KOA, keep looking.
Was very inexpensive. $36. for full hookup. Late check out was nice. We didn't have to rush.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PW1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013 via mobile

This camp ground is okay. Close to were I live soo the kids arent asking r we there yet lol. I stayed at camp fri night I booked fri and sat but it rained us out. The campground has very nice showers expensive tho 1.00 to start ans the first quarter get u 8 mins and every quarter after gets u 2mins ... the water was hot but lil pressure. Ppl do live here year round. No water front site available. Nice fishing big camp sites friendly ppl u can swim and fish there they have things planned for kids in summer and play ground u was very nice for what it is

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aconway c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

PROS- reasonable rates, swimming and fishing, wooded clean sites, friendly staff, nice wildreness tenting areas and clean rustic bathrooms; small camp store with limited items; laundry room; clean and large shower stalls (1.00$ for 8 minutes). Quiet when it was supposed to be! Some friendly neighbors! Late checkout at 1PM was nice.

CONs- REALLY packed together with VERY narrow roads, almost all full hoopkup sites have seasonal and full time residents using them (this is a trailer park claiming its a campground) - if you don't like camping were people live full time or almost full time, this is not the place for you. Some unfriendly neighbors (didn't like the fact that we stopped in the road for 3 minutes to check our campsite before we backed in - (and he was on foot and we weren't blocking anyone!); a previous reviewer also noted that there were some hiomeless living on the campground- maybe this was one of them!)

Room Tip: Nice place if you have a tent and use the wilderness area!
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Benjamin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews