We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful location, hotel disapointing.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St. Wolfgang
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Schafbergspitze Hotel
Ranked #19 of 25 Hotels in St. Wolfgang
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, hotel disapointing.”
Reviewed 22 November 2011

We took the train and paid for 1 night at the station in St Wolfgang. There are no credit card machines in the Hotel, so you need cash! You buy the room and train tickets at the bottom. The first available train was full. It was a very hot Sunday afternoon and understandably busy with people so we waited for the next train. We were all crammed into the train which began its ascent up the mountain. The view is amazing with some slight cliffhanger views!

When we got off, we walked from the station up to the hotel. It wasn’t very clear where you had to go to check in, but eventually we found the unmanned reception desk. Eventually a man appeared in-between jobs and a bit rushed. He checked our ticket and gave us our key, advised where and when breakfast was. The hotel and restaurants at this point were packed with people.

We went up to the room, 1 - 2 stars if that, very very basic with a small plastic shower room. The balcony looked out over the front of the hotel. The view was amazing, you can see around the whole region. Boats on the lake below looked like insects!

Slowly the people not staying the night started to filter down before the last train at 7. By this time only a handful of people were left, including, unfortunately a highly irritating bunch of drunk people, who continued to shout and make an irritation of themselves most of the night. Dinner was adequate but not too cheap. We had a few beers on the empty veranda and walked around. A very tranquil place (without irritating drunk people).

We didn’t sleep too well, as the night rolled on, a storm came over, loud wind and rain battered the place, (as well as the drunk people running round the hotel). The next morning we had breakfast (bread, pasry and jam!) and checked out and got the first train down.

Didn't find the staff too warm or welcoming, one snapped at me when I asked a question about where dinner was. Didn't like the atmosphere of the place either. Rooms are dated and need refurb including main public rooms. I wouldn't recommend staying here at all, if you’re not feeling it you’re stuck until the first train in the morning, unless you have a parachute! I would defiantly recommend going up for an afternoon during a weekday when it’s perhaps a bit quieter.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    15
    10
    6
    6
See reviews for
13
23
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2011

Hotel is situated about 6 km with the railway from St. Wolfgang. The latest train departs from St.Wolfgang at 4 p.m., so be sure you are on this train. The best price of your accomodation you get if you book and pay your accomodation with the train. At the moment it costs 68 EUR per person with the train ticket. Breakfast included. Rooms are pretty basic and need some refurbishment. Warm food is served only till 7.30 p.m., so make sure you eat before that. Great views!

Room Tip: get a room on the southern side - with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank roker16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
214 reviews
181 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2009

We stayed there for a night as a getaway and it was really great. As the only guests we enjoyed the silence and special location of this far far away place.
Rooms are well done but no TV. View from the balcony could be amazing if the weather is fine.
Menu in the restaurant is limited but food is great. People up there are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GaryMuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2007

We stayed in the Hotel Schafberg last year and loved the place so much that we decided to celebrate our wedding there. The view from the mountain is amazing. The service is very good and friendly. During the day it gets quite busy with the tourists who arrive on the mountain train but once the last train has left it is like paradise. The rooms are nice and clean. The bathrooms are quite basic but clean and a hot shower is all you need. The view from the balcony couldn't be any better. You can see the lake and the Dachstein glacier in the background. Since there is nowhere else to go once you are up here you might not want to stay for more than one night but everybody staying in St. Wolfgang or in the region should definitely spend one night up here. A true Austrian mountain experience! We will be back!

  • Liked — The location & the view
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Vatnajoekull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, NSW, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2005

It can get very cold, windy and snow up there so take warm clothes. No TV. The room is good with a great view if there is no cloud. Small bathroom. Dinner good, breakfast not good - brown bead, butter, jam, liver paste with coffee or tea - that's it. Family run. Helps if you speak some German.

Helpful?
3 Thank Tashii1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Wolfgang hotels
4.4 km away
Romantik Hotel Im Weissen Roessl
4.5 km away
Seebockenhotel Zum Weissen Hirschen
4.1 km away
Hotel Cortisen am See
Hotel Cortisen am See
#2 of 25 in St. Wolfgang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Seevilla Wolfgangsee
Seevilla Wolfgangsee
#4 of 25 in St. Wolfgang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
4.5 km away
Hotel Peter
Hotel Peter
#8 of 25 in St. Wolfgang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
4.6 km away
Vitalhotel Wolfgangsee
Vitalhotel Wolfgangsee
#5 of 25 in St. Wolfgang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schafbergspitze Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schafbergspitze Hotel

Property: Schafbergspitze Hotel
Address: Schafberg Mountain, St. Wolfgang, Austria
Region: Austria > Upper Austria > St. Wolfgang
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 25 Hotels in St. Wolfgang
Number of rooms: 30

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing