We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must try ”

Tendermaid Sandwich Shop
Ranked #3 of 60 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 4 - USD 10
Cuisines: American, Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout
Description: 1950'S style malt & burger shop, featuring loose meat burgers and delicious hand dipped malts & shakes.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

My only regret/complaint is that this whole town isn't 4 hours closer. If it was we'd be here 5 times a year, and it'd be bye bye hannibal. This place is tiny. Dinky really. But the food is fantastic !! And if you try it and don't like it, what are you out.... $4. So what. But honestly, it's hard to think that people won't like it. And the spam museum is a block and a half away, and free. This place is awesome !!!!!!

Thank scottnrobyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara W, Owner at Tendermaid Sandwich Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

We wish you were closer too! Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2018 via mobile

Amazing staff and tasty loose meat sandwiches and malts, in a place that doesn’t look like it’s changed since they opened! Highly recommend!

Thank Jenn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara W, Owner at Tendermaid Sandwich Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Thank you so much for your kind review! We really appreciate our wonderful customers like you and look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2017

Great location
Friendly staff and fast service
Reasonable price
Looking forward to my next visit
Great malts

Thank jonbS3278OO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017 via mobile

Don't miss this stop if you are passing by I-90 and Austin.....great food and a really neat old school experience....about a mile off the freeway...

Thank Norgepower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017

I grew up getting to go to the Tendermaid as a special treat. Although I no longer live in Minnesota I always have to come when back in town and relive my childhood memories and it never disappoints. Love this place!!!! Must stop if you come to Austin. A tendermaid is a loose meat sandwich that is simple and delicious. Don't forget to get a shake as it is always icy cold and the best shake ever. Oh, don't forget they always give you tootsie rolls with your check.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 250saffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara W, Owner at Tendermaid Sandwich Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

One of the things that is most fun about working at the Tendermaid is sharing memories with wonderful people like you!

Thank you so very much for your nice review, see you on your next visit to Austin!

Sara White

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Tendermaid Sandwich Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing