We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New in town, working to get it together”
Review of The Tavern Grill

The Tavern Grill
Ranked #2 of 15 Restaurants in Arden Hills
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 10 January 2018

This place has a lot of potential but it's not quite there yet. The prices seemed higher than typical for the area. Service was a little slow and possibly new staff. We'll try again after they have some time to gather steam.

Thank europewithKellynRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRPAdmin, Public Relations Manager at The Tavern Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Thanks for your review and we value your feedback! We are in the process of training new staff to start off the new year, so we appreciate your patience as the training period takes place. We appreciate your business and look forward to your future visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2018

We had a 'reservation' for four on a Saturday night, at 5:45 p.m. It wasn't a reservation in the traditional sense; parties of less than 8 can call a half hour before they arrive to get on the list. We were seated at a small table; in the center of it was a large wood holder that contained forms to use to custom order hamburgers and pizzas. Our friends came a few minutes after we did; no one at the front desk knew we were sitting so they wandered around till they found us. We saw other parties of three or four at larger booths. We had to have the form holder removed from the tale in order to have some space for our plates and glasses. Plates are large, which only made the table look smaller and more cluttered. The baked spaghetti was described as being very good, the shrimp dish as good but a bit bland. My burger was decent, though the lower portion of the bun had dissolved by the time I tried to pick it up. Garlic mashed potatoes were a nice change of pace from the usual French fires, which were also available. I asked for mustard for my burger; it was slow in coming, Staff were friendly, and we had at least six people provide service, but it took a long time to get our orders in and the food served.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rolandrevenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRPAdmin, Public Relations Manager at The Tavern Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Thank you for taking a moment to review us! We appreciate your feedback, gives us the opportunity to improve! We appreciate your business and feel free to request a booth next time you stop in!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Cambridge, Minnesota
161
Reviewed 23 December 2017 via mobile

Food wasn’t good, service was slow. I couldn’t even eat my steak it was so raw and then I got sick from it later. I felt like the waitress looked down on us. This was my third time here and my last. I have had three bad meals here.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRPAdmin, Public Relations Manager at The Tavern Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2017

Thank you for bringing your situation to our attention, always let us know promptly when a meal is not prepared to your liking or properly. We take food illnesses very seriously. Please reach out to us by emailing thankyou@thetaverngrill.com - Thank you and we hope to hear from you very soon so we can properly address this situation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2017

Great stop on a Sunday afternoon, pleasant environment -- bartenders and wait staff professional, yet north suburban friendly. Can only recommend fish taco dinner, because simply irresistible as appetizer or light lunch for couple. Just a single taco satisfies your average feeder, particularly if enjoyed with a Mimosa or cocktail -- comfortably tucked in snug booth. Order the dinner, share tacos and nice mound of rice, the accompanying mandarin sauce is outstanding!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Triponeill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRPAdmin, Public Relations Manager at The Tavern Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

Thanks for taking a moment to review us! You have us craving one of our fish tacos now - we couldn't have described them better ourselves! We appreciate your business and hope to see you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017

Very nice new building friendly staff, but for the price it is coming up short. For the price you would be better off going to the crave by the Rosedale mall complex, or Proter House steak sea food in little Canada. Two drinks and some above average food more than 100$ with out tip. I was looking forward to this place opening but have only went a couple of times.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank deroche2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRPAdmin, Public Relations Manager at The Tavern Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Thanks for taking a moment to provide us with your feedback. We are sorry to hear your experience with us has not been satisfactory. Please, let us know if you have any other feedback or suggestions by filling out our online feedback form here: bit.ly/tavernfeedback - Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Tavern Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing