We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very comfortable and very accomodating” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kensington Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Kensington Hotel
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Ann Arbor
sw michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very comfortable and very accomodating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

The room was clean, although one can see that the ceilings need a little attention. Was upgraded and given a $10 coupon to use in the restaurant or for room service. (so I had an excellent hamburger and fries delivered in the room and didn't spend one cent on it.) They also have a very pleasant happy hour snacks and wine offered. The breakfast was definitely a step above the "free" breakfasts of many other mid range hotels. The hotel is easy to find with so many restaurants and shopping within walking distance, as well as a very short drive to downtown Ann Arbor and the U of M campus. Oh, did I say this hotel was extremely quiet!

Room Tip: The executive section of the hotel offers the complementary wine and early evening appetizers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank greenie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    103
    63
    37
    20
See reviews for
130
69
20
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
135 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

Enjoyed this hotel, second time there and very quiet and well maintained rooms. The restaurant very mom and pop type with friendly personnel. Room service was timely and fast which made the business trip comfortable. Only problem was the room was a bit cold for the summer and could not get the heat to be activated. Overall, nice hotel and would recommend others to stay there.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sesshi101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
181 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

Brand new, nice looking lobby reminds me a little of the line about lipstick on a pig. OK, not that much.

But rooms were ok, nothing great. Looks like they were re-done in the last few years, but you could tell plumbing, etc. was old.

Had a paper thin sheet on bed the first night that kept falling off mattress. Complained next morning and it was better for next night.

Plenty of hotels in the area. I'll stay elsewhere next time.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kib57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

We had a good stay here--it is definitely not a luxury hotel, though. There are some areas that show some wear--the elevators need to be updated/replaced and there are some places in the plaster and roof that need some repairs. But the hotel itself is overall pretty good. Our room was comfortable, although not very large. The staff was friendly. We would definitely stay here again. For the right price.

Room Tip: They have an "executive" section on the third floor that provides some free perks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeneric717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2011

We were really disappointed with this hotel. When driving up, the sign says a "luxury" hotel but this was far from it. Let's start from the beginning- upon entering the hotel there was a weird smell. The lobby was nice and made me think that it was actually going to be a nice hotel. However, the room has definitely not been renovated (we did not stay in the executive level room) and our room had old wood furniture with large dents/goughes in the wood, dresser hardware that was broken and not attached to dresser and a small TV with a less than clear picture and a scratchy sound when the "s" sound was said. We were there for 4 nights and when they cleaned our room they did not replenish the shampoo. Our room smelled musty all the time and we kept it warm so the air conditioner did not turn on and make it more damp and musty. We both felt sick with scratchy throats after a few nights. The bed and pillows were very uncomfortable. The wireless internet connection was spotty and signal was low strength from our room. We got stuck in the elevator (only for 3-5 min) but that is the first time in my life that has ever happened....we were only going up one floor but the elevators are very old looking. There was a wedding in their ballroom/conference area on sat. night. I did not see those facilities but I could not imagine the guests at my wedding staying at this hotel. I wore flip flops in the room because when I used a towel to wipe up some food I dropped on the carpet the towel was black from dirt.
The high-point was the bartender Tanya in Graham's restaurant. She was very pleasant and friendly and we went to the bar to get out of our room. If it were up to me, I would have stayed somewhere else. However, we were in town for a baseball tournament and this was one of the team hotels....we tried to get into the Holiday Inn next door but it was already booked. I got the feeling that the staff here feel this hotel is actually a high class establishment, when it is not. I'm sure it was at some point but has gotten run down and not taken care of well. By the way, our room was facing the highway and in the back of the hotel and the window looked like it had not been washed in years. I guess they only need to wash the ones in the front! Overall, there are plenty of other hotels in the area and I would never stay here again. They have a lot of work to do if they want to call themselves a luxury hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rmn1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
0.8 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor
5.2 km away
Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites
6.6 km away
Weber's
Weber's
#13 of 34 in Ann Arbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ann Arbor
10.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ann Arbor West
0.6 km away
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South
#10 of 34 in Ann Arbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kensington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kensington Hotel

Property: The Kensington Hotel
Address: 3500 South State Street, Ann Arbor, MI 48108-1620 (Formerly Kensington Court)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Price range (per night): $138 - $197
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kensington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kensington Hotel is the premier destination in Ann Arbor for overnight accommodations, your next meeting, wedding, family gathering or staycation. Conveniently located just of of I-94 and State Street exit near Briarwood Mall. Come enjoy our recently renovated guest rooms and Union! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC and Odigeo so you can book your The Kensington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Court Ann Arbor
The Kensington Hotel Ann Arbor, Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing