We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok place for a night- needs some updating and such”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites University South
Ranked #23 of 35 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Reviewed 7 December 2017

Was a bit apprehensive upon checking in, front desk guy was checking in an elderly man & desk guy seemed a bit irritated at elderly man, but I didn't see entire transaction so unaware of things previous to my arrival. Pleasant enough with me. Room was decent, clean, 1st floor, older hotel, could use some updating, but otherwise ok. Noisy shared pool and fitness area with other hotel, kids gone amuck when we went there, didn't stay in pool or fitness area. Convenient location, hubby had breakfast, said it was like "normal". Fridge wasn't plugged in or working in room (good thing we didn't bring food back to hotel to put in there- would have been spoiled!) We got handicapped room, large bathroom, needs hand assist rail for getting in and out of shower, and poor design of entry way to room with lighting. Flip the one switch and turns on 4 lights by door and over sink and sink not in bathroom, is outside bathroom by door to room. Didn't make sense for the layout.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 226 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2017

We had a short stay at this hotel {less than 12 hours}, and I was quite impressed considering the rate. The lobby was clean and fresh looking, our room was clean, and very comfortable. Had a microwave, and a mini fridge along with the general room staples {coffee maker, ironing board, etc}. I assumed for $89 this would be a subpar hotel, and it wasn't. The only thing stopping me from giving this hotel 5 stars was the pool. The pool itself was ok, water temp was on the cool side, but not unbearable for my 7 yr old. I was looking forward to sitting in the hot tub but the water was milky looking, and the temp of the water was luke warm IF THAT. I thought maybe because it hadn't been turned on in a bit that it needed a cycle or two to warm {turn the knob to 15 min}. I came back after about 30 min and there was no change to water color {still very milky} and temp was still luke warm. Other then the pool/hot tub being a bust I would still come back here and stay if needed to.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
connie b, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites University South, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

Thank you for sharing some great feedback, we appreciate the kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017

Hotel was average and room was a little tight but very clean. Very good location as within a few miles of Michigan Stadium and they offered shuttle service to and from game for a small fee. Also, very large indoor mall directly across the street so plenty to do within walking distance

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Harry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
connie b, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites University South, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017

I am a retired USAF Master Sergeant. My wife and I just returned from a 12 day trip throughout our great country. All 12 days and nights we stayed at Choice brand hotels. Our first night was at Comfort Inn and Suites atmAnn Arbor Michigan. Our stay at this location was going well until we had departed Michigan enroute to anaother Comfort Inn in Minesota. While on our way to our next stay I realized I had forgotten a precious hat my children and grand children had presented me upon my retirement. I immediately called the Ann Arbor location and asked to speak to the Hotel Manager. The associate who answered the phone initially told me the Manager was tied up and couldn’t come to the phone. Due to the importance of this hat to me I persisted. At that time the associate responded to tell me the Manager was in fact not in the hotel. Reluctantly I explained my situation to this associate. She took my number and told me she would check with housekeeping. After a short time this associate called me and informed me that she had possession of my hat. I asked if it could be mailed to my home in New York. After checking with someone, I assume the Manager, I was told my hat could be mailed to me ONLY if I agreed to provide a credit card to pay the $13+ postage. I reluctantly agreed. After twenty plus years in retail management, I was appalled that I was being charged, my hat being held hostage until I paid this postage fee. Please take a moment and put yourself in my position. In my management years I would NEVER require a customer to pay to facilitate my providing great customer service. Would you...?

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
6  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

I come to Ann Arbor quite a bit for work, and dollar for dollar I cannot find a better hotel. I have stayed many times and continue to return. This hotel is clean, has comfortable beds, and clean showers. They have breakfast in the morning, and while it’s very basic, it’s still nice to grab something hot and a cup of coffee before heading out in the morning.

Hotel is near shopping and plenty of places to eat. Every time I have dealt with any of the staff it has been pleasant.

Unless you plan on spending significantly more money for a hotel stay, this is the place to be.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
8.2 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ann Arbor
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ann Arbor
8.5 km away
Red Roof Inn PLUS+ Ann Arbor University North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#32 of 35 in Ann Arbor
161 reviews
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ann Arbor Univ. Michigan Area
0.1 km away
Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor - U of Michigan South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites University South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites University South

Address: 3501 S State St, Ann Arbor, MI 48108-1631
Region: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 35 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Price Range: $95 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn & Suites University South 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites University South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites Ann Arbor Hotel Ann Arbor
Comfort Inn And Suites Ann Arbor
Comfort Inn Ann Arbor
Ann Arbor Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn & Suites University South Ann Arbor, Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing