We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“The location justifies the premium price.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bell Tower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bell Tower Hotel
Ranked #4 of 34 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Certificate of Excellence
Traverse City
Level Contributor
197 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
“The location justifies the premium price.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

I've stayed at the BTH numerous times in the last 10 yrs while attending University events. The lobby has a European look to it. The staff was very professional and friendly. I had a cocktail in the restaurant in the evening. I was pleasantly surprised with how busy the restaurant was. They must be doing something right. The free wi-fi was easy to use and decently fast. I'm glad to hear that the bathrooms in the hotel rooms are being updated. Mine wasn't and it really needed it. The continental b-fast was good.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyHHHHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belltowerhotel, General Manager at Bell Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write the review. I am pleased to hear that you choose to stay at the Bell Tower when you return to Ann Arbor. Your business is important and we look forward to seeing you during your next visit.

Sincerely,

DeWayne Grann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    230
    73
    33
    8
See reviews for
241
114
32
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

The Bell Tower is in the heart of the U of M campus and that allowed us to walk to our events easily and to experience even more of campus life. The valet parking service means no hassles with parking. The staff are extraordinarily friendly and thoughtful and made our visit very smooth.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HotelGuestSept2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belltowerhotel, General Manager at Bell Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the conveniences that came with it. We look forward to seeing you in the future!

Sincerely,

DeWayne Grann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

Outstanding, friendly, detail-oriented service. Everyone exceeded my expectations. My room was quiet and meticulously clean, a bit small and the tile in the bathroom was chipped, but I didn't really care. Great location right next to campus and State St.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shiba_friend1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belltowerhotel, General Manager at Bell Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write the review. We have just completed mock up bathrooms on the second phase of the bathroom project. These bathrooms include heated floors, walk in showers and television in the bathroom mirror. We are not able to perform the rest of the project until after the last football game but are looking forward to completing the project.
As an insider tip, TripAdvisor guests could ask if those rooms with the new bathrooms are available (Room 108, 109) during your upcoming stay.
Thank you again!

DeWayne Grann
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
497 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Ann Arbor has a terrific performing arts series called UMS or University Musical Society. It is a regular for our Symphony and we always enjoy the warmest welcome at our concerts. That warm welcome extends to the Bell Tower - the staff could not be friendlier or more helpful. I especially want to single out the marvelous lady who runs the breakfast room who is always cheerful and ready to help you in any way to confront the day. The hotel has so many performers staying there, so they get it. Our nights our late so it is a relief not to have housekeeping staff banging around in the hallway outside your room at 8am! The rooms could use some sprucing up and why the cold tap only delivers warm water is a mystery but these are small matters. The location across from Hill Auditorium is ideal and is a short walk to the downtown. Sad note - the huge empty building that used to be the mothership Borders store (which started in AA).

Room Tip: I would suggest rooms on the south side of the hotel which will be sunnier than the north side (whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belltowerhotel, General Manager at Bell Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and your recent stay. We enjoy hosting orchestras and performers. We find they are pleasant to be around and enjoy good service.

I will pass on the kind words to our breakfast attendant. It is always good to hear positive feedback.

Again, thank you for your time and review.

Sincerely,

DeWayne Grann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

The location is the best thing about this place-- perfectly nestled between the central campus and walkable downtown. The hotel itself was adequate on the whole, but neither exciting nor charming. (The branding may suggest old-world charm and luxury. Not so much in actuality.)

The room was cramped and dated, but adequately appointed and clean enough. Service was friendly and attentive. The restaurant was very expensive, but lacking in breakfast offerings. (I decided not to eat any meals there.)

Having seen some of the other reviews here, my expectations were lowered to anticipate an overrated hotel. What I experienced was good enough, and very conveniently located.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Modern_Art_Lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belltowerhotel, General Manager at Bell Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Thank you for your response to your recent stay. I am sorry your expectations were not exceeded. Our rooms are meticulously cleaned and our continental breakfast only offers bagels, two varieties of toast, waffles, fresh local donuts, English muffins, three varieties of muffins, cottage cheese, oatmeal, yogurt, whole fruit, fresh cut oranges, fresh cut grapefruit, cereal, hard boiled eggs, three varieties of juices, coffee, a variety of teas and hot chocolate. We feel that is a pretty elaborate continental breakfast but understand if you choose to enjoy a full breakfast at a local restaurant.
Again, thank you for sharing your experience.

DeWayne Grann
General Manager
Bell Tower Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
5.7 km away
Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites
0.3 km away
Graduate Ann Arbor
Graduate Ann Arbor
#20 of 34 in Ann Arbor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.9 km away
Residence Inn Ann Arbor Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor
4.4 km away
Weber's
Weber's
#13 of 34 in Ann Arbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
8.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ann Arbor West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bell Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bell Tower Hotel

Property: Bell Tower Hotel
Address: 300 South Thayer Street, Ann Arbor, MI 48104
Region: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ann Arbor
#4 Family Hotel in Ann Arbor
#5 Business Hotel in Ann Arbor
Price range (per night): $281 - $471
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bell Tower Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Bell Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bell Hotel Ann Arbor
Bell Tower Hotel Ann Arbor, Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing