We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Horrible - Bed Bugs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
A Victory Inn & Suites - Ann Arbor
Ranked #35 of 35 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Reviewed 10 October 2017

When we got to our room we immediately saw bed bugs in both the fold out couch and the main bed. We went down to the front desk to report this and get either a refund or another room. The staff at the front desk were very confrontational and accused us of lying. They were immediately degrading and unwilling to help us resolve the issue. We ended up leaving the hotel to stay somewhere else, and when we called the Victory Inn to get a refund they refused. We've been going through a nightmare since to try and get the $380 back that we spent to stay there. I would not recommend this place to anyone for multiple reasons, cleanliness and customer service being at the top of the list.

Room Tip: Bed bugs and horrible customer service
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank amber d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2017

You may find yourself thinking "Wow, it's really cheap and how bad could it be?". The answer is: surprisingly bad.

Before writing this, I saw another traveler write that the only thing they enjoyed about the Victory Inn was leaving. I could not agree more.

The entire building smells awful. Its the type of smell that sticks to you, your clothes, and anything unfortunate enough to spend time in this place. After switching to a different hotel, I quarantined the clothes I slept in so they wouldn't stick up the other things in my suitcase.

The room was dirty. The bathroom looked like it hadn't been cleaned.

You should not stay here. Its very, very bad. Even if everything else is booked. Rent a car and sleep in it. You're welcome.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

going to start with pros:
- good proximity to michigan stadium
- lights in the main room worked
- outlets by the bed worked
- hot water worked
- air conditioner worked
- small shampoo, body wash, and soap bars were provided
- pillows were normal fluffiness
- there was a deadbolt that worked

cons:
- this place would NOT PASS A HEALTH INSPECTION for the following reasons:
1. the whole building smelled like smoke. the elevator had a very strong pot smell, too. The smell was so strong and prevalent that my clothes smell like smoke when I unpacked them the next day.
2. there was mold everywhere in the bathroom.
3. there was hair bits in many random places around the bathroom. I'm not grossed out by hair, but I AM grossed out by the implication that nothing was cleaned before I arrived.
4. the sink handle had opaque goop in it and shaved hair bits.
5. the towels had stains, even though they looked and felt like they'd been washed a thousand times in the last week.
6. The refrigerator was tepid and had brown residue all over.
7. didn't even bother to open the microwave at this point.
- there was no mattress cover
- the "comforter" was basically the cover part of a duvet
- pillowcases had a weird smell
- wallpaper was coming off (in the room and hallways alike....)
- the light in the bathroom flickered horribly
- the sink was missing the normal metal plug so I could see right down the big hole
- a "do not disturb" sign was not provided, though some other guests got some
- SAFETY ISSUE: the back door to the hotel that has a key card built in next to it and has a sign saying "guests only" WAS UNLOCKED THE WHOLE TIME, the key card device either didn't work or was a total sham to begin with.
- the 2nd floor elevator button was missing a label, had a handwritten sticker labeling it instead. like, what (the photos others posted were no joke and have not been fixed since.)
- SERVICE: the people at the front desk were uptight and indifferent to guests. Sometimes, no one was there at all.

Please believe all the ugly photos. It's a sad place that looks like no one has taken care of it in 30+ years, and smells like it. I really cannot understate how horrible and disgusting the smoke smell was, and I'd seriously bet some of those smoke alarms are disabled (we did find a spare one in a drawer, too).

Was supposed to stay there for two nights, checked out as soon as possible and found another place.

Do Airbnb before doing this place.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank asdf_asdf_asdf_asdf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

We were in town for a wedding. Normally, we would have just driven to Ann Arbor for the evening (from the Detroit area), but the family threw in a follow up gathering on Sunday morning, so we needed a hotel for one night. Apparently, there was a convention in town for the weekend so it was hard to find any open rooms closer than Metro Airport. Hence, we ended up here.

Our two rooms "together" ended up up two floors apart. "what do you want, they are both in the same wing" was the response.

The ground floor room was previously occupied by a heavy pot smoker (by the hotel manager's admission - it was the reason the previous guest was no longer there in the non-smoking room). It had to be aired out before occupancy. The maintenance man ran over to a nearby dollar store and returned with cans of air freshener.

The third floor room came furnished with pieces that could have been found at the local Salvation Army store (see picture of sample furniture - the chairs, carpet, curtains, walls, etc, were equally bad - but the bed was at least decent).

The photo of the elevator button repaired with tape and a sharpie is a prime example of the level of attention and care put into the hotel's maintenance.

Continental breakfast included coffee, bread from the dollar store, and stale cereal. But make sure you get there early as elderly man living in one of the first floor rooms comes down in his pj's with a large mixing bowl and pitcher to empty out the cereal and milk every morning about 8 am.

Pictures of the pool included in all of their online ads were taken "some years ago" according to the owner. "Hotel websites charge too much money to update profiles," is the reason they have not removed the photos of the description of the hotel as having a pool.

While we can't blame the hotel for the guests getting into a fight in the hallway and the doors slamming and the yelling and screaming for a good part of the night, the fact that the police that responded to the call were not surprised to be there told us that this was probably a regular occurrence.

And, if that is not enough of a reason to keep you away, read closely the notices posted by the city of Ann Arbor. It warns you that the building failed it's fire inspection.

Like I said, you are better off sleeping in your car.

Room Tip: Pick any room in a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Campmaster55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017

Hotel appeared to be going through renovation. Free breakfast was coffee and toast. No fruit or yogurt. Just carbs. People next door taking shower 1230am. Very limited cable selection. Only CNN for cable news. Front desk wanted to charge $ for inci

Room Tip: Be very careful inside hotel and parking lot. There are a lot of creepy people wandering around thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 654gus99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
4.5 km away
Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor - U of Michigan South
5.4 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ann Arbor
2.1 km away
The University Inn
The University Inn
#27 of 35 in Ann Arbor
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#32 of 35 in Ann Arbor
161 reviews
9 km away
Wyndham Garden Ann Arbor
Wyndham Garden Ann Arbor
#30 of 35 in Ann Arbor
523 reviews
4.6 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites University South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Victory Inn & Suites - Ann Arbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Victory Inn & Suites - Ann Arbor

Address: 3750 Washtenaw Ave, Ann Arbor, MI 48104-5253
Region: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 35 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Price Range: $66 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — A Victory Inn & Suites - Ann Arbor 1.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy gracious hospitality at our central Ann Arbor location. We provide amenities for the comfort and convenience of our guests. Experience downtown just minutes away with a variety of shops, nightlife, music and dancing. We hope that you enjoy being our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your A Victory Inn & Suites - Ann Arbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ann Arbor Victory Hotel Ann Arbor
Ann Arbor Victory Inn And Suites
A Victory Inn & Suites - Ann Arbor Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing