We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Disappointing Stay” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Allegan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
lake county
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing Stay”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

We just came back from our stay at Castle in the Country. We have stayed at several bed and breakfasts before and were really disappointed here. The breakfast was probably the most disappointing-the bacon on the first day was so burnt, it was not edibile. The portion sizes were very skimpy and you had to get up to get your own coffee, tea, water. I have never heard of that before. We stopped at a coffee shop on the way home and had better service and food. I was under the impression that we were going to be pampered. Also, the whirlpool tub was quite small. I am not the smallest person in the world, but it just didn't seem like it was a double whirlpool, more like an oversized whirlpool for one. One other noteworthy concern-we did not have the same welcoming feeling that we have had at other b and bs. It seemed that the staff was a bit uptight. For the price this establishment charges, we will not be returning, even if there was a good discount. We really left feeling very disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lisa b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyofthecastle, Owner at Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
We sincerely thank you for your review. One of the most important things to us is to make our guests feel welcome so we feel most sorry that we didn’t accomplish that for you.

We are planning more substantial alternate breakfast offerings and will continue to improve our understanding of each guest’s taste preferences. The beverage station is intentionally set up so guests can help themselves because we offer several different types of coffee, teas, creamers, sugar, sweeteners, etc. to be enjoyed at any time. Had we known you preferred us to bring it to your table, we would’ve gladly done so. Several of our tubs are designed for two bathers arranged side by side and if used any other way they will seem quite small. We’ve already improved our note for the rooms to indicate the optimal position for two.

We try very hard to “read” guests and their desire to be left alone to enjoy their getaway together without our intrusion, but we do try to provide all the details necessary for our guests to enjoy their stay during our check in process. Your comments help us improve that process.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    29
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
5
212
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, MI
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

The perfect place for us to just unwind and relax for a couple of days. We were blessed with unseasonably warm weather and few bugs which made being outside very enjoyable. Lovely trails led to a screened deck by the lake. The service was outstanding and the accommodations were perfect. Even the breakfasts were wonderfully creative, tasty and filling. We stayed at the Castle Keep in the Lady Guinevere room. A very lovely room with the only drawback being that the A/C blew directly onto the bed. We will definitely return :)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyofthecastle, Owner at Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 31 March 2012
Happy Early Spring and thanks so much for your wonderful review. We love being part of our guests much needed trips to relax and unwind. Thanks for mentioning the A/C direction. Since we just put it in place to combat the unseasonably warm weather, we’ll take a look to see if we can tweak it just a bit for a more comfortable location. We’ll be looking forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wixom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Although our stay at Castle in the Country was a good experience we were kind of bummed because the weather prohibited us from being able to use the fireplace in the room and they didn't have any outdoor boating activities available. Everyone who worked at the castle were very friendly and helpful when checking in. The room was a perfect size, clean and cozy however we were definitely disappointed in the tub. It was very small and it was a little uncomfortable for 2 people. The sheets on the bed were amazing and we are thinking about purchasing some for our own home. We also received a couples massage while we were there. It was relaxing but the therapist did not listen to us when we asked them to focus on specific areas and so when I got home I had to schedule another massage to release the pressure. The other let down was the breakfast. The first day we ate breakfast at 9 and the breakfast came out hot. It was a little different tasting but all in all it was good. However, on the second morning we ate later and the breakfast was cold and the bacon was not edible. It looked like it had been sitting out since they cooked it for the first breakfast time. I would suggest always eating at the first available time to make sure your food is hot and fresh. All in all it was a good stay but I'm not sure if we would return.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyofthecastle, Owner at Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 31 March 2012
We’re so glad you had a good experience at our Inn. Who knew we would have 85 degree weather in March! Since our guests’ comfort is the most important to us, we felt the air-conditioning available in the room was more important than the fireplace. Even with the unseasonably warm temperatures, the water in our private lake is still too chilling to make it safe for our guests to use the kayaks or paddleboats until sometime in May. Although we’re thrilled that you felt the room size, coziness and cleanliness were perfect, we’re puzzled about the comment about the size of the 2 person tub. But we realize everyone is not familiar with a side by side configuration so we’re thinking that may have impacted your impression. Our certified massage therapists are relaxation experts and we’re so glad that you were able to relax during your couple’s session. They do rely on each guest to let them know if they need more or less pressure during the massage session so if you do visit again, please feel free to talk with your massage therapist during your session to let her know where you want her to focus her efforts to provide not only a relaxing experience but also a healing session to work out all the stress you might be holding. We welcome feedback about the breakfast at our Inn. With over a thousand couples per year it is a bit of a challenge to satisfy everyone’s tastes, but we do promise to do our best each and every time and no matter what time frame you’ve chosen to provide an interesting and delicious breakfast. We’re sorry if we missed the mark on this for you, but we would’ve been happy to make it right if you would’ve let us know. Food is important to us here at Castle in the Country, and that’s why we offer hot and fresh entrees daily. We review the menu with you during check in, have you choose the best time for you to come to the dining room at your own individual table for two and make it ready for you one table at a time. We really appreciate all of our guests and thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

We have stayed at many B & B's in Michigan. This one was our favorite. The room was exactly as was pictured on line. It was beautiful and clean. The food was excellant. Will definatately make a return trip. Can't wait.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Three Rivers, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

My husband and I stayed at Castle in the Country to "get away" and celebrate his 50th Birthday. Although the plans for skiing were changed due to uncooperating weather, our stay at the Castle was perfect! The food was absolutely delicious, the attention to detail was unmatched, and the hospitality was wonderful and appreciated. I would highly recommend Salt of the Earth for dinner (as recommended by Ruth and staff). Next time I would like to try Herb's pub pie and eat on site rather than travelling out for dinner. I also hope to visit in the warmer months to take advantage of the lake and trails on the property. It was a very relaxing, private weekend that we both appreciated! Ruth and Herb have made this a wonderful destination for a romantic get away!

Room Tip: We had a wonderful stay in the Royalty Suite. It faced the road, but knew the location of the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KMS845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Allegan
32.7 km away
Bay Pointe Inn & Restaurant
Bay Pointe Inn & Restaurant
#1 of 1 in Shelbyville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
28.8 km away
Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center
17.6 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 1 in Plainwell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.7 km away
Kalamazoo House Bed and Breakfast
36.3 km away
Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites
36.2 km away
Belvedere Inn & Restaurant
Belvedere Inn & Restaurant
#2 of 24 in Saugatuck
5.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn

Property: Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn
Address: 340 M 40 S, Allegan, MI 49010-9609
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Allegan County > Allegan
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Allegan
Price range (per night): $206 - $393
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax on 65 secluded acres at our Southwest Michigan bed and breakfast, with private lake and walking trails. Book romantic rooms and suites at our Michigan inn and spa with comfy King or Queen beds, whirlpool tubs, fireplaces, and Wi-Fi. Enjoy a full gourmet breakfast, indulge in our on-site spa and enjoy delicious dinners at our romantic Michigan getaway. If you are looking for an inn in Saugatuck area or a romantic Allegan hotel, escape to Castle in the Country B&B Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle In The Country Hotel Allegan
Castle In The Country Bed And Breakfast Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing