We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for families.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Al Jawhara Gardens Hotel
Ranked #289 of 550 Hotels in Dubai
Karachi
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Ideal for families.”
Reviewed 13 October 2011

If you are in Dubai with your family or for business there is no better place to stay than Al-Jawahara. Its neat , clean and most importantly free of alcohol. There is a mosque right in front of the hotel and the deira city center is a 3 mins walking distance. There is free wifi and the staff is extremely courteous. I have been staying at this place for the past 7 years and plan to for the next 7 as well.

Room Tip: try the executive floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Minar3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    56
    46
    11
    9
See reviews for
32
32
24
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

I have read the previous reviews and a deep sadness goes out to the person who was unable to have a bacon breakfast. Muslim hotel...bacon.... am I missing something here?
The Location is close to the airport, rooms cheap at 300 AED (Arab Emirate Dinah) per night. I have found the staff very helpful and willing to answer all questions if they can and perhaps a little shy if they don't know the answer to the question.

Some stranded travelers lamented that no shuttle bus from the airport was available...stranded you are not! I can see the tail fins of emirates planes from my window. Taxi from the airport costs 30 AED in colloquial terms a coffee and muffin. From the hotel to the airport is 10-15 AED. Minimum taxi fare in Dubai is 10 AED so if your trip costs 6 you pay 10. 10 Dinah is about $3.

Dinner buffet at Al Jawhara Gardens ("Al J") was good - tomato soup yummy. We also ate at the Meridian down the road (sp?) which had a glitzier glam selection of food and a very elegant foyer but I think the food at Al J was more tasty and half the price. Has a pool on the top floor and a female only pool and a gym. I think it has a sauna also. Internet works well, occasionally there is a holding pattern due to overcrowding and log on takes 30 minutes but this happened to me only 1 time in the middle of the day. Air conditioners are great and to quote from Pat Benetar - cold as Ice. Shower, Bath and separate bidet rather than a hose/squirter attached to the loo. Room sizes were good. Windows opened not siliconed shut for that additional Dubai luft. Plenty of cabs sailing past no- need to wait long. Avoid the unmarked cabs associated to the hotels, stylish they may be but twice or thrice the price. There are restaurants and some coffee shops nearby An Italian restaurant just down the road near the Mosque. City Centre is a large mall within walking distance, good for money exchange and shopping, has electrical, fashion etc. Great coffee shop in the middle with an amazing White Forest cake. Seems to be patronized more by local than touristy types.
Check out Dubai mall, taxi fare is approximately 35. A must do is the Dubai Marina at night time - have a meal, light up a tobacco pipe and relax for a few hours- taxi is 55 Dinah approx. If you aren’t used to smoking ask for the mild apple tobacco (I think its called) – it is very very mild wont make u cough and not at all like cigarettes.

Al J is unashamedly a Muslim establishment. I was told gently when I arrived that there was to be no alcohol, and that single males and females are not to share rooms.
If you are married - be able to prove you are married. Proof is simple, provide passports or documents with photo id and matching surnames. No matching surnames no bacon sandwich. If the weariness of marriage is scrawled over the both of you that might be proof enough...
Al J isn’t a glamorous and ritzy hotel and not a lot of wow factor... for a less expensive hotel however it is good. I have found the staff to be friendly and helpful. As to that slightly 'out there' post in which the staff were accused of being illiterate (see previous posts) it is true English is not their first language but they were able to make themselves understood and had a desire to be helpful, and their English was a lot better than my Moslem which would make the non Moslem speakers illiterate I imagine? The staff was actually very nice and quite engaging. The young men had a dazzling smile probably aimed more at my wife than myself.

Is this post too long, am sure I have breached all posting etiquette but am unable to sleep and so very tired. In conclusion it is a hotel that is a Muslim establishment, reasonably priced, down to earth accommodation, friendly, clean and economical. A welcome counter to the very materialistic nature of Dubai. I might in honesty say the décor in the room was a little long in the tooth but I paid for and bought a Volkswagen and to expect a Rolls Royce is silly. If you check in and don’t like it there are several hotels around the corner you can easily shift to, The Ibis and the Novotel are a 5-minute walk. The Ibis at about 380 AED doesn’t have a swimming pool or free Internet in the rooms, rooms are small and modern and nice foyer if foyers are your thing and internet at snails pace is free in the foyer. Try the AL J. for a more authentic atmosphere. If you don’t like it no problemo, scoot around the corner for a more western feel at the Ibis. Well it's time to go, my work is done here.

Room Tip: stay away from the room next to the microwave oven on floor 5. it is noisy and used from about 6.30...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank patrick p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iran
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

I think you can find this hotel as one of the best four star hotel in Dubai.It is near Deira city center , you can go there on foot.
The breakfast and lunch acceptable and delicious. The staff are friendly and polite.
The best part of Hotel is its room, They are modern and spacious with good furniture , They offer you coffee and tea free of charge.
But you should consider this place as an Islamic place with its roles.
In a nutshell I recommend it to everybody.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Babak S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Reading some of the previous reviews I get the feeling that some travellers don't grasp the concept of the hotel. Dubai is a city with a lot of hotels; some are excellent and some have very bad reputations (a few things that annoy me about the mid-range hotels are the noises from the inhouse night clubs, drunk lads knocking on doors after a night out and hookers trying to chat you up in the lobby). This hotel chain aims to attract families and individuals who prefer a more conservative/Islamic atmosphere and will therefore be popular regardless of the service provided or customer reviews. If you are looking for a hotel where you can have a beer at the bar, sunbathe with your partner by the pool or bring a friend from the opposite sex back to your room then look elsewhere. This hotel is dry, no pork products are served and there are separate pools for males and females.

I stayed for two days on my way back from the far east. The 'standard' room was average and a bit dark but clean. The minibar was average but quite expensive. Good amenities in the room, a large LCD TV (not much English variety but okay if you can understand Arabic), a kettle, 2 arm chairs. The housekeeping and concierge services were good.

Liked: The hotel is very close to the airport (about 5 minutes by taxi). If travelling with a lot of luggage then you're better off getting a taxi (about 35 Dhs or £7) from the airport rather than requesting the hotel shuttle. If travelling light then take the metro to DCC.
Some of the other reviews seemed to stress that DCC is 'walking distance' from the hotel- this is true but be warned a 5 minute walk in the heat and humidity of Dubai may not be a pleasant experience. We ended up taking a taxi for the minimum fare of 10 Dhs. The food court at DCC is excellent so we didn't eat any meals in the hotel restaurant( the buffet breakfast didn't look too bad but is too expensive for 50 Dhs).
The Burj and Mall of Emirates are a 30 Dh taxi ride away (good if travelling in a group) or you can get the nearby metro.

Disliked: Despite arriving at 3pm, my room wasn't ready. I was offered a soft drink but still had to wait for an hour while they prepared the room. This is unacceptable in my opinion.
Check out was quick for me but I heard a lot of complaints from other customers about delays whilst the housekeeper checked the minibar and gave the front desk the all-clear.
Wi-Fi is not free but this is common in Dubai.

Tips:

- Book through late rooms or other third party site as this is cheaper than the hotel's website.

- The hotel is a 2 minute walk from a big mosque. This was great for me as a Muslim but I suspect some non-Muslims may not enjoy being woken up in the middle of the night by the call for the morning prayer.

- Non-married couples are not allowed to stay in the same room and the hotel sometimes asks married couples for proof of marriage. If this offends you then better book a room elsewhere.

This hotel is a good three star hotel (I wouldn't say it was 4)..... good value for the price... great for families and conservative/Muslim travellers or for a quick stopover.... but probably not everyone's cup of tea!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Dr_moe2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2011

I landed at 2 AM at Dubai and by the time I got out it was past 3 in the morning. A short taxi ride ($25 DH) from DXB. Check in was a snap but they do ask for your passport which was returned right away. They gave me a room on the 7th floor. Neat and clean room with Coffee / Tea maker, and a mini bar which I never used. Bathrooms were clean and well kept. Avoid the breakfast buffet (50 Dh), instead you could walk over (less than 5 min) to the Diera city center and have a nice buffet for about 20 Dh. I also converted currency there instead of the airport. It is also in a quiet area, no night clubs and is pretty much a family hotel as advertised. Staff were helpful and courteous. All in all a good 4 * hotel. I paid 540DH for my 2 day stay inclusive of 20% taxes.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RayMamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
26.3 km away
Auris Fakhruddin Hotel Apartments
0.0 km away
Al Jawhara Hotel Apartment
Al Jawhara Hotel Apartment
#335 of 550 in Dubai
19 reviews
23.9 km away
Auris Inn Al Muhanna
Auris Inn Al Muhanna
#218 of 550 in Dubai
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Raintree Hotel, Deira City Centre
0.5 km away
Tulip Creek Hotel Apartments
2.7 km away
Al Jawhara Metro Hotel
Al Jawhara Metro Hotel
#467 of 550 in Dubai
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Jawhara Gardens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Jawhara Gardens Hotel

Property: Al Jawhara Gardens Hotel
Address: 27th St #9 | Port Saeed, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #289 of 550 Hotels in Dubai
Price range (per night): $54 - $139
Hotel Class:4 star — Al Jawhara Gardens Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Agoda, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Hotelopia and Cancelon so you can book your Al Jawhara Gardens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing