We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
7 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
USD 456
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Jumeirah
USD 456
View deal
Agoda.com
USD 340
View deal
Hotels.comUSD 450
Expedia.comUSD 450
Orbitz.comUSD 450
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,487)
Filter reviews
5,487 results
Traveller rating
4,826
401
148
53
59
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
4,826
401
148
53
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviews butler service summer houses arabian summerhouse buggy drivers pat thai wild wadi half board main pool golf buggies restaurant reservations talise spa ice lollies hotel complex kids club every evening choice of restaurants amazing resort
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 5,487 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2021

The hotel is understaffed.
Every villa is supposed to have butler service on paper. In fact, we only saw butler twice. It was impossible to call the butler service even to call for a buggy. The hotel reservations we made through butler were also non existent. Five times we came to restaurant to find out that there was no reservation under our name even though the butler told us that there was.
The food in the room arrived always 1-2 hours late, cold and burnt once. Even after my complaints, I received no apologies or anything
The service is non existent. And the manager is useless. There is never a manager on a site.

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
4  Thank zhamilya0901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jumeirah Al Qasr and Dar Al Masyaf Management Team , Other at Jumeirah Dar Al Masyaf, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2021

Dear Zhamilya0901,

We would like to express my sincerest apologies for the disappointing experiences you had at Jumeirah Dar Al Masyaf.

Please know this is not the true standard and reflection of our services which we strive to achieve. Our team have discussed every point of your remarks and we wanted to reassure that we take feedback such as this very seriously for corrective actions and improvements to be made.

We trust that the areas of dissatisfaction raised in your feedback will not be experienced again and we would have the pleasure of welcoming you back again to amend you latest views.

Please feel free to reach out to us directly at AQDAMGeneralmanager@jumeirah.com in hopes that we may discuss further or would like to make any future bookings to allow us to redeem ourselves.

Sincerely,
The Management Team
Jumeirah Dar Al Masyaf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2021

I could have given an "average" review for many reasons but I stick to "very good" because of the few staff, like butler Stan, who still try to make the hotel what it used to be and to make the customers feel special.
Last time I visited the resort was four years ago over the same period (Easter) and the level has gone down sharply in the meantime.

Dar Al Masyaf are the villa extensions of the Al Qasr hotel. We had a gigantic suite but the amenities were worn out and several appliances like curtains or kitchen doors were broken. The butler service is useful but they cannot work miracles. In a week we went to only one signature restaurant, Kayto, which was amazing.
The breakfast at French Riviera is excellent.
But our positive culinary experience (we were in half board) was limited to that. The rest was just ok, not outstanding at all.

On paper, Dar Al Masyaf looks great but our experience is not totally positive.
Other reviews say that they are understaffed. This could be an explanation.
For example, the villas have their own pool. On the first day we came back from the beach at 4pm because the kids wanted to enjoy the villa's pool. It was closed. I mean physically closed by a net. I asked the butler to open it, it was only the middle of the afternoon after all. But he didn't manage to find a lifeguard to open and watch the pool that day. So the pool remained closed.

From what I have seen from the Jumeirah hotels of this gigantic resort, Al Naseem seems to be the best on the beach area. If we come back to those resorts, we'll go there, but we will avoid those areas in need of renovation.

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MarcusVienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jumeirah Al Qasr and Dar Al Masyaf Management Team , Other at Jumeirah Dar Al Masyaf, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2021

Dear MarcusVienna,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor after your recent stay at Jumeirah Dar Al Masyaf. Your feedback is very much appreciated.

It is with pleasure to share your comments with our team, in particularly Stan, who would be delighted to know that their efforts have been recognized.

Additionally we have noted that you were not satisfied with our services and pool facilities being closed. Please know we have shared your feedback with the department head concerned in order to review this.

Rest assured that every attempt will be made in order to make necessary improvements.

We hope to welcome you back in the very near future with the main focus on restoring your confidence in our hotel and services.

Sincerely,
The Management Team
Jumeirah Dar Al Masyaf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2021 via mobile

Me and my family travel 3-5 times a year. My husband prefers luxurious hotels with worldwide known name. We spent 15 days at vacation in Jumeirah Dar al Masyaf and we were dissatisfied to say the least. The hotel has amazing location and pleasant rooms. And this is where the good stops.

The hotel is extremely understaffed for the amount of guests. Every villa is supposed to have villa butler. We saw our butler twice in 15 days. It was impossible to reach any of the hotel staff to make a restaurant reservation. And the restaurants were fully booked a week in advance. If you try to order in room, the food arrived cold and 1-2 hours late.

I tried contacting the hotel manager regarding poor performance of the hotel staff and the only answer was “yes, hotel is full and we are short on staff”. No apology, no making up for the inconvenience.

Once I my kids received absolutely burnt pizza and I was fully charger for it even after my dissatisfaction speech. And again, no apologies from the hotel.

Very disappointing, that the beach is the best at jumeirah hotels but we will not want to come back, as the service is non existent

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank zhamilyar2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jumeirah Al Qasr and Dar Al Masyaf Management Team , Other at Jumeirah Dar Al Masyaf, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2021

Dear Zhamilyar2016,

Warm greetings from Jumeirah Dar Al Masyaf.

Thank you for your time to share your review regarding your recent stay with us. We want to assure you that all this feedback is very important to us to ensure that we make the necessary changes in line with our guest satisfaction. Please know this is not the true standard and reflection of our services and we regret that we have failed you on this occasion.

We trust that the areas of dissatisfaction raised in your feedback will not be experienced again and that our relationship with you will not be tarnished by this. Please accept our most humble apologies for these concerns and allow us to action these points for rectification.

Please feel free to reach out to myself directly at AQDAMGeneralmanager@jumeirah.com in hopes that we may discuss further or would like to make any future bookings to allow us to redeem ourselves.

Sincerely,
The Management Team
Jumeirah Dar Al Masyaf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2021 via mobile

The worst experience ever. I’ll never come to this hotel again. It’s not a 5 star hotel that it used to be. Rooms are not cleaned properly. And worst thing is that someone has stolen money from our two rooms. Couldn’t find general manager, if we compare with other madinat hotels, this is the one where you never have to come. Had to run after them, and even didn’t get any response. Nothing was done to compensate our wasted time and this situation. Have to work with staff, bad hospitality. They definitely lost their level of service in everything.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank A4202TWdianar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jumeirah Al Qasr and Dar Al Masyaf Management Team , Other at Jumeirah Dar Al Masyaf, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2021

Dear A4202TWdianar,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with regards to your recent stay at Jumeirah Dar Al Masyaf, Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve and deliver the highest level of service to our guests and we would like to express our sincerest apologies for any inconveniences which you have experienced.

We would like to discuss your concerns with you and would be grateful if you could provide us your contact details at AQDAMGeneralmanager@jumeirah.com in hopes that we may discuss further.

Sincerely,
The Management Team
Jumeirah Dar Al Masyaf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2021 via mobile

This was our fourth time in Al Quasr / Dar Al Masyaf over a period of 14 years. While it was a true 5 star experience when we went first the hotel has some serious issues by now because of a lack of investment, understaffing and poor service level. We love the place but they have to do something about it! On the positives: great property, great location, beautiful beach. On the issues: Hygiene in Dal Al Masyaf totally insufficient, our rooms were not properly cleaned once during our one week stay! On the last evening two cockroaches appeared which really destroyed our night! This must simply not happen in a 5 star hotel! Dishes were left standing in the lounge area for the whole night despite us calling butler service to remove it, no wonder animals are crawling around there. No sanitised pens anywhere, not even at reception, shocking at times of Covid. The facilities are getting tired, you can tell the place is coming of age, they should invest to make it more contemporary. In our bedroom there was a big stain in the ceiling, nothing I would expect if I have to spend EUR 1.500 for a room per night! Overall the place is pretty much unchanged since 15 years, only notable exceptions are Shimmers restaurant on the beach (really good), parts of the dining area and the meat restaurant. Overpricing is a general issues, eg an ice cream cone on the beach cost eur 25 / AED 99, a rip-off! The should also provide healthier food and more vegan options. Butler service at Dar Al Masyaf is a joke, they are not capable of organising anything that goes beyond calling a buggy, can’t even serve proper drinks (bringing unopened bottles without an opener or glasses ...). Concierge service is understaffed, sloppy and slow, you need to wait in the line for 10 minutes plus, no wonder if there’s is only 1 or 2 people for the whole hotel. 90% of guests from Russia, nothing against Russians but felt a bit out of balance. They should try to attract a more mixed group of international guests. Overall they urgently need to address these issues, otherwise we certainly won’t come back!

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
4  Thank JBassermann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jumeirah Al Qasr and Dar Al Masyaf Management Team , Other at Jumeirah Dar Al Masyaf, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2021

Dear JBassermann,

It is with extreme concern to read your review. This is not at all the type of experience we strive to create for our guests, so to read your detailed feedback regarding various aspects of your stay is very disappointing.

We want to assure you that each comment is reviewed with all the related management of the concerned teams and investigated in detail for necessary actions to be taken and we truly regret that we have failed you on this occasion.

We trust that this has not tarnished your reputation of our resort and we would have the opportunity to welcome you back with the main focus on restoring your confidence in our hotel and services.

Thank you for your honest feedback and your ongoing loyalty and support towards Jumeirah Group.

Please do not hesitate to contact us directly at AQDAMGeneralmanager@jumeirah.com, in hopes that we may discuss further.

Sincerely,
The Management Team
Jumeirah Dar Al Masyaf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews