We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Thai Food”
Review of Tong Thai

Tong Thai
Ranked #99 of 10,445 Restaurants in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Enjoy unparalleled Thai service and a menu that showcases unique regional dishes, celebrating street food as well as authentic classics loved around the world. Simply Thai cuisine in an exquisite setting, lovingly prepared and served by an authentic Thai team.
Reviewed 14 January 2018

The Thai food here was wonderful. We came to celebrate my father's birthday and everyone thoroughly enjoyed themselves. We were served by Manee who was very friendly and served us well. The service was at this restaurant was one of the best I've experienced at a fine dining establishment.

The mango and sticky rice was so good, as well as the green curry and tiger prawn dish.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MoHasanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JW Marquis S, Manager at Tong Thai, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

Dear MoHasanie,

Thank you for your recent review of Tong Thai on TripAdvisor!

Our associates are committed to go above and beyond our guests expectations, and I am pleased to learn that Manee was able to make your dining experience an enjoyable one. Very glad to learnt that you and your family enjoyed the mango sticky rice, green curry and the crispy tiger prawn.

We look forward to your next visit to Tong Thai in the near future.

Sincerely,

Apichaya Khomson
Assistant Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (539)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

60 - 64 of 539 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2018 via mobile

Staying in Dubai, the choice of fine dining can be overwhelming but the Tong Thai restaurant within the JW Marriott is a must do. It doesn’t matter whether you are a connoisseur of Thai food or trying for the firs time, you will be delighted with your experience.
We started our experience with drinks at the bar, a large range of cocktails served by friendly staff proceeded our dining.
Once in the restaurant, seated by the window with spectacular views we asked our server, Manee to make some recommendations for appetizers. We tried the sampler plate and everything was delicious. The service was second to none, Manee was attentive, friendly, knowledgeable and took care of us completely. For a main course, the options were numerous, everything tasted amazing.
We certainly will go back every time in Dubai.
Thanks also to Maturada who also help make our evening memorable.

Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JW Marquis S, Manager at Tong Thai, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

Dear Robert B,

Thank you for taking the time to post a fantastic review on Tripadvisor regarding your recent visit to Tong Thai.

Our associates are committed to go above and beyond our guests expectations, and I am pleased to learn that we were able to make your dining experience an enjoyable one. I will personally praise Manee and Maturada for creating unforgettable experience for you.

My team and Chef Rittiyos would be more than happy to have you once again at Tong Thai and offer you more of our exceptional services.

We look forward to your next visit to Tong Thai in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Apichaya Khomson
Assistant Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile

Via recommendations did we book here. Glad we did. Beutiful food, clean, fresh and great flavour.
Rice paper rolls a stand out for me. Great wine list as well. Sticky rice for dessert also a stand out..
Service attentive and friendly.

Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JW Marquis S, Manager at Tong Thai, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Dear Michael M,

Greetings form Tong Thai in JW Marriott Marquis!

We are absolutely thrilled to know that you have enjoyed the overall dining experience on your visits, especially the spring rolls and mango sticky rice.

We look forward to another opportunity to welcome you at Tong Thai and once again, thank you for your positive comments.

Sincerely,

Apichaya Khomson
Assistant Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018

This is an impressive restaurant at JW Marquis. Walking through the beautiful, winding path inside the restaurant, you almost forget that you are in Dubai. Stunning interiors, lovely music and superb service is some of what you will be treated to here. The food was just exceptional, very tasty and beautifully presented. We had a coconut ball thingies dessert with light peanut butter sauce which was to die for!

Our one gripe was the lighting situation. The place is so dark that they have little lights attached to the menus. I get the idea, but eating in an almost pitch dark room wasn't fun. Forget about taking pics of the fabulous food, you could barely see what you were eating.

One last note, similar to Rang Mahal in the same hotel, the dress code isn't enforced at this restaurant. One shouldn't encounter people in their old jeans, worn out sneakers and t-shirts at a fine dining restaurant that bills as such. If it says smart casual, then it had better be at least that.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank fasttrackDxB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JW Marquis S, Manager at Tong Thai, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Dear FasttrackDxB,

Greetings from Tong Thai in JW Marriott Marquis!

Thank you for taking the time to post a fantastic review regarding your recent visit in Tong Thai. We are glad to hear that your enjoyed the ambience, and was delighted with the food. As for the lighting and the dress code policy, rest assured your feedback has been shared with the respective teams and we are continuously looking for ways in order to make sure our guests leave pleased and satisfied with their experience.

We do hope to see you again in the near future!

Best,

Graziella Nieto
Restaurant Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018 via mobile

I have been a guest of Tong Thai since its launch and they consistently exceed my expectation when it comes to service. Of course, the food is award winning from the simplest spring rolls to the signature dishes. The cocktails and mocktails are also very good and I advise starting your dinner with appetizers and drinks at the cosy bar before heading to the high ceiling restaurant area. The corner table for couples brings great intimacy and unobstructed views of business bay. It is our favorite. I have been to Tong Thai more than twenty times over the past four years and I am amazed at the personalized greetings both from old and new staff. Maturada (1/1/18) was exceptional and greeted us into the new year the Tong Thai way! Dr. N.

Thank WorldCTZen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JW Marquis S, Manager at Tong Thai, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Dear Dr. N,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a fantastic review regarding your visit in Tong Thai! My team and I are pleased to know that you enjoyed the dishes and that Maturada was able to make your visit a memorable one. Hope to welcome you back soonest.

Best regards,

Apichaya Khomson
Assistant Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tong Thai also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to Tong Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing