We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the best value hotel we've stayed in!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Golden Sands Hotel Apartments
Ranked #203 of 561 Hotels in Dubai
Reviewed 26 April 2011

We stayed at the Dubai Golden Sands 3 for three nights during a stopover on our way to Morocco.

The room and the service we received at Golden Sands 3, our first visit to Dubai, was fantastic.

Our room consisted of two bathrooms, a main bedroom with another two single beds in the main living area. The kitchen had everything we needed, including a washing machine. When we couldn't get it working, someone came straight up and started it for us!

The room was spacious and comfortable with couches and a dining table. The bathrooms were clean. The staff were extremely helpful.

The only downside was that we couldn't use our balcony because of a pigeon nest in the eaves - droppings everywhere!

Golden Sands 3 (and the rest of the complex) is about a 10 minute walk to the Dubai Creek and the Souks. We only spent one afternoon here, and the rest of the time we travelled into the newer part of Dubai - for shopping, dinner, waterpark etc... We caught taxis everywhere, and these taxis were always waiting for us outside the hotel - you never needed to get the hotel to call them.

On the way back home to Australia, we stayed at the Grosvenor House, the completely other end of the hotel star spectrum, but would rate both hotels as good as one another! At the Grosvenor tho, you would be waiting about 10 minutes for a taxi to arrive.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cammyxxoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,620 - 1,624 of 2,196 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2011

WI stayed here with a friend for 8 nights (Golden Sands 5) and it was very clean and spacious with washer/dryer, fridge/freezer and cooking facilities. The downside was- no bar in the (very good) restaurant, in fact no bar at all. This is 2011 for goodness sake!
We struggled to get the card key to work and were constantly having to get it sorted at reception. There is a bus to the beach and the outlet mall but these are not advertised, nor is the fact that you have to book beforehand for the beach bus. overall it was a good stay.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angela55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2011

Good points - In a good area. Very friendly staff. Clean rooms with comfortable furnishings. Reasonable price. Breakfast was fine. They allowed me to check out at 2pm at no extra cost. Great kitchen in the apartment.

Down side - Unfortunately my first room smelt moldy so I asked to be moved. Then I was given a key to a room which already had someone in it (the lady was not to happy when I walked in on her in bed). My third and final room was fine except the balcony door wouldn't lock though and it took maintenance over an hour to fix it while I sat in bed (this was at 1am).

No wireless internet in my room.

The hotel overall is probably fine, I think I just got a couple of average rooms to start with...

Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
Thank bmjames07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2011

We stayed in the Golden Sands apartments (number 3 - there are about 10 different aprtment blocks) for 5 nights.

Typical 3 star hotel really, studio room was spacious and clean but bathroom could do with updating. Breakfast was ok - same things every morning and not much choice compared to what have had in other 3stars.

Location is good for the old part of the city, you will get taxis everywhere anyway, taxi to Burj Khalifa/Dubai mall will only cost you about 20-25 dirhams (£4 approx) for 20min taxi ride! Dont use the hotel taxi service though - make sure you flag down a cream one with different coloured roof - the hotel ones are not metered and will cost you more, as we found out!!

Overall a good base to explore dubai, but dont stay if you want luxury!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annie_bowdley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2011

We stayed at Golden Sands Apartment 3 just 2 days ago.

We understood it to be only a 3 star apartment so we were pleasantly surprised when we arrived and got 5 star treatment.

There was someone there to open the door for us, greet us and get our luggage. We arrived from our Emirates flight very early getting to the hotel at about 7:30 am. We had only paid for one night and were going to leave the luggage there until check in at 2pm.

The hotel staff allowed us to immediately check in from 7:30 am without needing to pay a night (ofcourse this was probably subject to the room being available)

Also, he knew we needed to check out by 5am the next day so the front desk staff encouraged us to use our free breakfast on the day we arrived. We never got to try this though as we had to leave for Dubai Mall for our ticket to Burj Khalifa.

We paid for the queen bed studio apartment. It was a large and clean room. My only issue would be (and I'm not sure if it's like this everywhere in Dubai) the toilet water was way too high in the toilet bowl. I mean if you saw that back home, you might think the toilet was blocked. But the toilet worked fine in the hotel.

The staff are incredibly helpful people and our feeling from our experience there is customer is always first. Put it this way, they will never allow you to open doors or carry your luggage yourself. They will always go to you and offer their help.

Some other things you might want to know:
Taxi ride from airport to Golden Sands - Not sure how much this would cost but we arranged a private transfer in Australia for AUD 30 each way through Orient Tours.

Taxi ride from Golden Sands to Dubai Mall - Cost us approx. 25 AED each way. The distance was about 15 minute drive.

Overall, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cherylandrichie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
0.2 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Downtown Dubai
0.3 km away
Citymax Hotels Bur Dubai
0.4 km away
Savoy Suites Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Dubai Airport
0.2 km away
Savoy Park Hotel Apartments
4.8 km away
Arabian Park Hotel
Arabian Park Hotel
#190 of 561 in Dubai
1,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Sands Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sands Hotel Apartments

Address: Al Mankhool Rd | Bur Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#40 Best Value Hotel in Dubai
Price Range: $64 - $453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Sands Hotel Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 750
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Golden Sands Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sands Dubai
Golden Sands Hotel Dubai
Golden Sands Apartments Dubai
Golden Sands Hotel Apartments Dubai
Dubai Golden Sands
Golden Sands Apartment Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing