We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value - great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marina View Hotel Apartments
Ranked #186 of 556 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2012

I was a bit skeptical booking this property, but was very glad that I did. I booked a 1 bedroom apartment with a king size bed - the room had 1.5 baths, which were small, but nice and completely acceptable. We got a corner room on the 10th floor overlooking the Marina - the view was very nice. There is construction going on around the hotel (but, it is Dubai - where isn't there construction? It's just part of the experience and would only be bothersome if you were trying to sleep during the day - but the noise was very minimal anyway). The room has a efficiency kitchen with a apt sized refrigerator, cooktop and a sink. It comes with a pot to heat water for instant coffee, plates, cups, pans, silverware, etc.

If you book an apartment, I'd bring some instant coffee or whatever you'd like to have when you are staying. If you can't bring it, there is a small grocerey store nearby (it won't be obvious where it is, but it is close) - as you walk out of the building, turn right, make your first right, as you approach the bridge that goes over the marina, cross the first street and then walk down towards the water on the right side of the bridge. At the bottom of the rampway there is a small supermarket on the right hand side. It will have pretty much anything you need.

If you are into a 'resort pool' - don't book this hotel - it's pretty dissapointing. The pictures make it seem better than it is. Not sure about the fitness facility as I didn't have time to check it out. There is a resturant in the hotel lobby - Lebanese food. I didn't try it so can't objectively report on it.

The hotel was very busy with a lot of check in/out with tour groups, however our check in and out was very fast, efficient and pleasant. We arrived early (10:30am) and they had a room for us - many hotels would make you wait - points for that!

Regarding the surrounding area: I never stayed at the Dubai Marina before and I am glad we did. We ran the perimiter of the marina each morning (about 6.5 miles) and walked along the beach (lot's of shops and resturants) and thoroughly enjoyed the area. There are two Metro stations nearby and we were able to go to Diera, walked along the east side of the Dubai Creek, took a water taxi across to the Old Souk and then jumped on the metro back to the hotel - no taxis. If you are going on the metro, check out the day pass as it was our best option and cheap. We also were able to go the the Burj Al Khalifa (book tickets in advance to go to the 124th floor lookout - which is amazing - last minute, which we did, is expensive, but you get to jump all the queue's - which can be long since there are only 2 elevators) and the Dubai Mall, Mall of the Emirates, etc. Even if you are going to another part of the city, take the Metro and then cab it - again, affordable. On our way home, we took the metro to the airport - takes about 1 hour and drops you right at the terminal. Best thing Dubai did was to build that metro!

Room Tip: Rooms on the back corners of the hotel have Marina views...in the front corners you look at the Jume...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pellaz-CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (950)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

609 - 613 of 950 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2012

We spent a week with family in Marina View hotel apts in Dubai in February 2012.
We stayed in 1 bedroom apartment. We have been in Dubai many times and this has been our worst experience with hotel in Dubai, but to give justice to the hotel staff and mgmt, I need to mention that previous hotels we had stayed in were of higher standard and quality (like Jumeirah Beach Hotel, Rotana networks, Movenpick etc.).
Some services/factors were sub-standard, while the others were close to the standard for a 4 star hotel in Dubai.
Room: was large (but not as large as many other hotel apts in Dubai) and in general clean. Was equipped with fridge, microwave oven, washing machine, electric oven, and basic utensils and pots were provided. Two bathrooms in the room which is quite convenient. Water pressure acceptable for Dubai. Was cleaned every day. Mattress in the double bed - acceptable, in the extra bed - almost like wooden.
Location: close to standard, convenient for rest in the sea, not convenient for shopping. 5-7 min. walking distance to Marina mall and Marina metro station, which will link you to major locations in Dubai. Taxi cost from Airport 90 AED (around 25$). Nice promenade area in Dubai was nearby, as well as several moderately priced eating facilities. Nearby was also a supermarket, which would give you basic food staff and other consumables. Nearest public beach is 10-15 min. walking distance next to Ritz Carlton. No service in the beach, but cleanliness and quality of sand both in and out of the water quite acceptable. No fee for entrance.
Breakfast: sub-standard, place is small and variety absolute minimum. Totally unacceptable for Dubai standards.
Service: sub-standard. Hotel personnel do not anticipate the needs of the guests and you need to ask for most of your needs, basic requests will be met (like asking for adapter etc.), while more complex ones definitely will not. Mostly the staff is inclined to say NO to your request and then seek for justifications why no. In general, staff in this hotel definitely needs more training.
Internet/TV: wi-fi available in rooms and lobby, free of charge. Quality – sub standard. There are also 2 desktops in the ground floor connected to internet, which can be used by those travelers, who are without a laptop. 40 inch LCD TV was placed in the living room and 32 inch in the bedroom. Entertainment programme average. No Russian channels (which is another evidence of the hotel not caring about its guests, with majority of guests from Russia and not a single Russian channel offered by TV programme).
Pool: close to standard. Big enough for kids and adults.
Other travelers: Mostly from Russia, as it seems hotel offers good deals to travel agencies working in the Russian markets. Cost through travel agency seems to be better than in the booking.com and other sites. With due respect to all Russian tourists, other guests need to be prepared to the Russian way of having rest, so do not wonder hearing “noise” at nights in the neighboring rooms and hotel staff “taking action” only after your appeal.
View: some construction going on nearby, from higher floors you will see either hi-rises in the Sheikh Said road or from the backside Dubai Marina buildings. Noise is unavoidable, as the hotel is right on the main street and the windows do not offer good isolation.
Overall, can be considered good for in-experienced travelers or travelers with average needs, and definitely sub-standard for experienced travelers and in general for Dubai.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

The rooms were great, not too big but perfect for two people. Almost like a small studio apartment with a huge king sized bed. The location was also good, within walking distance to a metro station, Dubai Mall, the Marina, the Jumeriah Beach Residance and the public beach. It is on the main road so you can hear some street noise, but it didnt bother us. I would definately recommend this place.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Honestly, the only reason I booked this hotel was for the price, literally half the price of the other hotels in neat proximity. So I wasn't expecting much, but was pleasantly surprised. The studio apartment was spacious, modern & clean. Cleaning was done every day, even on days where I didn't vacate the room until early afternoon. I didn't use the pool area, simply because we knew we would have to get into a cab anyway to get somewhere nice for lunch. It looks ok, small, but nothing compared to the beach clubs available around. It is not seven minutes walk to a beach, as claimed! At least 12 or 15. Restaurants didn't look promising so I didnt try, gift shop is laughable. Pity the "'massage" services aren't better advertised - the windows are covered in posters, no sign of a price list and just looked too dodgy to even go to enquire even though I would have loved to get one. Staff are very friendly and accommodating. I would return for the price, it's worth remembering that no matter where you choose to stay in Dubai you will end up taxiing it a lot of the time as things are so spaced out.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doodot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We stayed here in Feb 2012 and found its location to be quite convenient.
The hotel is about 30 min drive from the airport.
The nearest Metro station (Dubai Marina) is 5 to 10 min walk, and the trains are frequent, comfortable and cheap. At the time of writing 15DHMS lets you travel all day. All trains and stations are air conditioned.
The nearest free beach is 15 to 20 min walk. It's gently sloping so safe for poor swimmers and it's clean, but there are no showers, toilets, sun loungers or sun umbrellas there, so take your own if you can !
There are supermarkets and decent Pizza outlets within 5 minutes walk.
The hotel has its own pool which (largest dimension) is about 20m long so can be used for fitness swimming, assuming it isn`t too full, or people start swimming widthways (why do they do that when the pool`s depth is the same everywhere anyway) ? ! ? The pool could also do with some lines painting on the bottom to help ensure everyone swims straight !
We had a "Deluxe room" and were pretty pleased with it. They`re quite large, have plenty of storage space, a fridge, cooker (only two rings) and a washing machine. They don`t have a heater though, which we actually could have done with when we were there ! The water wasn`t that hot either but we coped alright. Furthermore there wasn`t a full compliment of cooking utensils either, like a sieve and a measuring cylinder, aren`t they essential ? ! ? The helpful staff would bring you extra stuff if you asked for it but it`s a pain having to keep asking isn`t it ?
We were satisfied and would stay there again, partly because we found all the other hotels to be quite expensive.
Last tip ? Buy your beer/wine at the duty free on arrival because it isn`t available from shops in Dubai, you`ll be glad you did ! ! !

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JustinSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
The Marina
Wyndham Dubai Marina
Wyndham Dubai Marina
#129 of 556 in Dubai
863 reviews
The Marina
Pearl Marina Hotel Apartments
The Marina
Jannah Place Dubai Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Marina
Marina Byblos Hotel
Marina Byblos Hotel
#217 of 556 in Dubai
1,209 reviews
The Marina
Jannah Marina Bay Suites
Jannah Marina Bay Suites
#124 of 556 in Dubai
506 reviews
The Marina
Radisson Blu Residence, Dubai Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina View Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina View Hotel Apartments

Address: Dubai Marina, Dubai 454745, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai > The Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #186 of 556 Hotels in Dubai
Price Range: $142 - $358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marina View Hotel Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Marina View Hotel It means a warm welcome, a unique holiday experience and a sophisticated style of living. A hospitality company engaged in the operation, ownership, development, and redevelopment of hotels in gateway cities and resort markets.The Company aims to develop properties to the highest standards of design and comfort in the Gulf Region. Marina View prides itself in exceeding customer expectations and is dedicated to setting a new standard in the hospitality industry. It achieves this by recruiting, training and retaining the best quality staff available. Marina View Hotel ranges from homely to luxurious, but you can always be assured of generous hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Marina View Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing