We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,819)
Filter reviews
1,819 results
Traveller rating
765
698
244
58
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
765
698
244
58
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sports bar city max metro station budget hotel rooftop pool walking distance rooms are clean higher floor ski dubai enjoyed my stay public beach abu dhabi visit dubai business trip burj khalifa jumeirah beach special thanks
Filter
Updating list...
1,043 - 1,048 of 1,819 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2012

My husband and I have just spent 5 nights at the Citymax Al Barsha. It was our first visit to Dubai and we were unsure which area to stay in, until 2 different people recommended this hotel to us. They told us that the hotel was in a great location and they were right. It is located across the road from the Mall of The Emirates which is jam packed with shops, bars, restaurants and a cinema. In the mall you will also find Ski Dubai, the indoor ski resort, and a Metro station which is great for getting around the city. A one day pass costs just over £3 which is fantastic value.

The hotel was so reasonably priced that my expectations of the hotel were not very high; however as soon as we arrived we were immediately impressed by the hotel facilities and the service. The hotel is spotlessly clean with contemporary décor. The staff make you feel very welcome as soon as you step inside, going out of their way to assist. Our flight landed a few hours earlier than the 2pm check-in at the hotel, but the staff offered to take our cases while we sat by the pool and they endeavoured to get a room ready for us as soon as possible (which they did by 12:30).

The rooms are a nice size with air conditioning, a flat screen TV, a fridge and a power shower. My only criticism of the room is that I found the bed rather hard and would have preferred 2 pillows instead of 1 (although this is just personal preference). The room was cleaned to a high standard on a daily basis with fresh towels delivered whenever we needed them. There is no iron/ironing board in the room but one was delivered on request which remained in our room for the duration of our stay.

The facilities in the hotel are also really convenient. They have a dining area that serves breakfast, lunch and dinner (buffet style), a sports bar and also a bar/nightclub that has something on each night including Karaoke on Sundays and a live band most evenings. Alcohol is notoriously expensive in Dubai, but the bar has Happy Hour between 6pm-9pm each evening where you can get certain spirits are Buy One Get One Free, discounted beer and a choice of cocktails for AED20 (£4). The food menus in both bars are great. We ate in the sports bar on a couple of occasions and the food was great value and tasty. There is also free Wi-Fi in the hotel lobby for Smart phones, iPads, laptops etc.

There is a roof top pool at the hotel if you want to sunbathe, although we did not spend a great deal of time at the pool other than on the day of check-in. The pool is not very big and beds are limited. However the lifeguard was really helpful trying to locate us a sunbed and took orders for drinks/snacks. Towels are also provided.

Overall I would recommend this hotel if you want cleanliness, great service and good location. If it is your first trip to Dubai then you will find the nearby Metro station really convenient as it allows you to get around the city. However, if you are travelling to Dubai purely for a sunbathing holiday you may prefer to look for a hotel that is better catered for sunbathing (i.e. a bigger pool with lots of sun beds). However there is a free daily shuttle service to the public beach, just make sure you reserve your seats at least 24 hours before.

Room Tip: Smoking rooms are availble if you want one.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lugey1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Citymax H, General Manager at Citymax Hotels Al Barsha at the Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2012

Dear Lugey 1980,

First of all thank you for choosing our hotel for your first visit to Dubai and for posting the review.
It was a great pleasure reading your comments in detail and we are pleased that we could exceed your expectation of a midmarket hotel.
Please don’t think twice where to stay once returning to Dubai. We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Once again thanks a lot for the honest recommendation on tripadvisor.

With kind regards

Sven Drewitz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at the hotel. It's near the Mall of the Emirates, which was great for shopping. They had a complimentary shuttle bus to the beach. It's great value for money with brilliant service and good location.

The only negative is that you don't get complimentary slippers or robes.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fatima31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Citymax H, General Manager at Citymax Hotels Al Barsha at the Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2012

Dear Fatima 31,

Thank you for your choosing our hotel and taking the time for the review.
As we read, you had an enjoyable stay. Please visit us again upon return to Dubai.

With kind regards

Sven Drewitz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at Citymax hotel, it has nice location, and great price. The staff were helpful, it has underground parking for free which is an advantage in that busy area. I liked the fact it is very close to Mall Of Emirates which you can go by walking.
Bad : it does not have bath ropes or slippers, also we had to wait to get our luggage to the room.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Omar-Alaqeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Citymax H, General Manager at Citymax Hotels Al Barsha at the Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2012

Dear Omar-Alaqeel,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and writing about your experience.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and would be looking forward to welcoming you back again.

With kind regards

Sven Drewitz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Simply Citymax Al Barsha is great budget place for a short or stopover stay in Dubai. Rooms clean but very tight. Bathroom is standard except the shower which is very weak and poor. Breakfast which was included room charge is fine (Varity of international-like breakfast i.e., Cereals, Arabian and Indian dishes plus some western style food, yogurts, mixed fruits … etc).
Great location right across the road from the Mall of the Emirates that is offer you many advantages, starting from shopping, dining lasting to the riding Metro for Dubai exploring.
Bedding and air-conditioning is great as well and there is a mini fridge in room.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dr_Almussa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Citymax H, General Manager at Citymax Hotels Al Barsha at the Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2012

Dear Saqar,

Thank you for staying with us and the review.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit and would be looking forward to welcoming you back again.

With kind regards

Sven Drewitz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Was on a one day business trip to Dubai. Office checked me into this hotel which is very close to the electronic city.

Arrived at 1 am and was greeted in the lobby with thumping music pouring out of the night club. Was told that I only had a choice of a smoking room or something above the nightclub. I had no choice but to opt for the smoking room on the second floor. The staff though polite did not make any effort in accommodating me in any fashion.

The rooms are small but utilitarian. Clean bed washroom, coffee maker and internet connectivity (wired) through the room was more than what i needed for a night's stay. The only complain I have the hotel should provide separate shampoo and body wash instead of the gym kind of premix in a bottle.

Will stay here mainly because of location and price. Not recommended for holidays or families.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amitayu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Citymax H, General Manager at Citymax Hotels Al Barsha at the Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2012

Dear Amitayu,

Thank you for your opinion on tripadvisor and that your company has chosen us.
We regret that you weren’t made welcoming upon arrival at night and do apologize for the negative first impression.
I like to mention that in fact we have a large number of international guests who spend their Dubai holiday with us.
Although our rooms are economically sized we offer best value for money in a good location across Mall of the Emirates which has made us popular among leisure and business travelers.

We hope to welcoming you back again upon return to Dubai.

With kind regards,

Sven Drewitz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews