We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way below expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach
Ranked #64 of 545 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Way below expectations”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Having stayed at a number of Sofitels around the world, I had high expectations on this one in Dubai. Unfortunately it was a disappointment.

Firstly, we had to wait several hours for our room to become available. As compensation, they offered late check-out, which I already was entitled to anyway, with my Le Club gold card. No upgrades were available as the hotel was full. Usually godl members also get a drink voucher and a welcome gift, but at this hotel, the drink voucher was the welcome gift. Silly to skimp out on such a small benefit, I think.

When we finally got the room, the condition was plainly unacceptable: several loose fittings and stained and worn furniture. When asked to change rooms, first another Superior room seemed to be available, but then not. Instead we got upgraded to a Luxury room (number 2109), but could only check in very late in the evening.

The room quality issues continued on the second day, when the bedsheets had big holes int hem! On my request the staff did change them, but it boggles the mind how this could even happen at what they call a luxury hotel.

Highlights of the Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach include the pool and poolside area on the third floor, which has great ocean views, and a fine breakfast. The location s good if you're looking for beach access (though no private beach) and want to stay in a touristy sort of area. Finding a cab at peak hours was sometimes a problem though, mainly due to traffic congestion.

Based on our three nights stay, with the issues mentioned above, I would recommend avoiding the Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach. With its dated design and maintenance, I would suggest that Accor downgrade it from their luxury brand Sofitel to a more appropriate Pullman or Novotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kanaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelDubaiJBR, General Manager at Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach on your recent visit to Dubai. I am happy to know that you are a regular guest at Sofitel hotels. I apologise for all the inconveniences you had during your stay. Please write to me on customer.service@sofiteljbr.ae as I would like to make things right for you for future.
I will share your feedback with all the departments so that we can improve in all the areas that you've mentioned in your review. We take all the comments seriously as it helps us in improving our service standards.

I want to thank you for taking the time to review your stay on TripAdvisor.

I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Sincerely,
Sami Nasser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,619
    1,268
    371
    108
    82
See reviews for
958
2,654
308
579
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,111)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We booked this hotel for a recent 4 night stay to visit the World Cup at Meydan. The first two days were fine with acceptable service and good facilities in the hotel. However, on returning from the races on Saturday night we had a note pushed throught the door explaining that due to a private event the pool area and bar would be unavailable from 5pm the following day until Wednesday. We were due to leave on Tuesday night. Obviously many guests were unhappy with this development, particularly that it was communicated in that way. It turns out that this event had been booked for some 12 months. We would not have booked here had we known, nor would we have checked in on the Friday. I suspect they knew this and that was behind their reluctance to communicate the bad news in advance. We moved to the Hilton down the beach to enjoy the remainder of our trip. Totally unacceptable and not something you expect from a so-called 5 star hotel. The end of our relationship with Sofitel hotels.

Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Stockporttwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelDubaiJBR, General Manager at Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach on your recent trip to Dubai for the World Cup. I deeply apologise for the inconvenience caused due to the pool closure. I understand you are upset also because of the way it was communicated to you. Could you please send me an email on customer.service@sofiteljbr.ae? I would like to discuss this matter further with you and prevent you from ending your relationship with Sofitel hotels.

I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Sincerely,

Sami Nasser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012 via mobile

Recently stayed at this hotel for 3 nights with my parents and partner and can honestly say that I could not fault anything. It was just brilliant and we would love to go back! The service, friendliness and professionalism on all of the staff we had the pleasure of dealing with was first class, other hotels could take lessons from this one!

Our room was beautiful with an amazing bathroom and the best bed in the world! It was also immaculate with lots of lovely touches!

Breakfast was just brilliant. We also dined I the hotel on two evenings, again we were not disappointed, the food was first class. Quality, quantity and presentation were brilliant.

I really could go on and on about this hotel but I think the best thing to say is just go! It is an experience not to miss and I really hope we will get to go back!

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Anon199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelDubaiJBR, General Manager at Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach with your parents and partner. I am elated to know that your stay was most pleasant and that you appreciate the high level of professionalism displayed by our Ambassadors.
I would also like to thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review about the service and facilities provided in the hotel. I will share your feedback as part of the Management policy.

I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Dubai.

Sincerely,
Sami Nasser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

This was our first visit to Dubai and just a two night stopover on the way home from New Zealand. We were very pleasantly surprised by the quality and location of this hotel. Our room was superb - quite luxurious, very comfortable, very well appointed, great view and not at all worn. Hotel breakfasts (included on our deal) were excellent. Didn't try the restaurant for lunch or dinner as it was rather pricey. Just outside the hotel there are loads of restaurants offering very reasonably priced meals of a wide range of cuisines. Would very happily stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheWilkosUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelDubaiJBR, General Manager at Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach, responded to this review, 8 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach on your recent visit to Dubai. I am glad were pleasantly surprised by the hotel and services offered. I hope now this is your impression of Sofitel brand. Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I will share it with the Management. Do not hesitate to contact me on customer.service@sofiteljbr.ae if you need any assistance in future.

Sincerely,

Sami Nasser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

I recently stayed at the sofitel for a short holiday in Dubai for the World Cup at Meydan. This is one of the few 'five star' hotels I've stayed in that is just that.

From the moment you step out of the hotel car or taxi, you are welcomed as if they have been awaiting your arrival. The staff are all so polite and willing to help and answer every question. The guest definitley comes first here.

The moment you step into the hotel, the lobby tells you just about everything you need to know. It's welcoming, modern, well designed and comforting almost. I stayed in a luxery king size room with the ocean facing balcony, and I couldn't fault it. The size was perfect, the bed one of the most comfortable I have slept in, and the bathroom modern and roomy.

When we arrive from an early morning flight, our room was not ready (we didn't expect it to be, considering check in wasn't until 3pm). However, the helpful staff showed us up to the health and fitness centre level where we could shower and change. Our room was ready by shorty after 10am, which was a pleasant surprise.

Apart from going to the races, we had no idea what we wanted to do, but concierge gave us many ideas and booked a great desert safari for us one evening. Nothing seems too much for them.

I've read a few people complaining about the location of the hotel. Yes, it is a good 25-30mins from the airport, but what does that matter when the airport transfer service they offer is fairly cheap and taxis are readily available 24hrs a day and also extremely cheap. The hotel is a 30 second walk across the road to a popular, and clean beach. The Palm Jumeirah is 20mins away and so is the Dubai Mall and Burj Khalifa. There are plenty of nice restaurants all within walking distance, too.

The one very minor disappointment came when we found that the steam room, sauna and shower room was closed at 10pm but no one had advised us that this facility closed at 10, but like I say, a very minor inconvenience.

Overall, I really enjoyed my stay at the Sofitel. In short, it's clean, the staff are very friendly and it offers a very comfortable stay.

Room Tip: The ocean facing rooms have a lovely view, and are away from direct sunlight until laer in the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NoChanceToDance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelDubaiJBR, General Manager at Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach, responded to this review, 8 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach for the Dubai World Cup. I am excited to know that your stay was great. Luxury room offers one of the best views amongst all the room categories. Our concierge is a member of one of the prestigious organisations and are highly appreciated by guests. I am glad to know that you liked the hotel location, your bedroom, service, and the ambience.
I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I will share it with the Management team as part of hotel policy.
Do not hesitate to contact me on customer.service@sofiteljbr.ae if you need any assistance in future.

Sincerely,

Sami Nasser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
The Marina
Hilton Dubai Jumeirah
Hilton Dubai Jumeirah
#130 of 545 in Dubai
4,795 reviews
The Marina
JA Ocean View Hotel
JA Ocean View Hotel
#58 of 545 in Dubai
4,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Marina
Amwaj Rotana
Amwaj Rotana
#62 of 545 in Dubai
2,519 reviews
The Marina
Hilton Dubai The Walk
Hilton Dubai The Walk
#99 of 545 in Dubai
2,644 reviews
The Marina
Grosvenor House Dubai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach

Property: Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach
Address: Jumeirah Beach Residence | Al Sufouh Street, 69; Dubai Marina, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai > The Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Dubai
#35 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#38 Family Hotel in Dubai
#45 Business Hotel in Dubai
#59 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price range (per night): $121 - $529
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 438
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury beachfront hotel combining French spirit with Dubai's most appealing features: waterfront location, sea-view and direct access to The Walk, the city's stylish beachside promenade and outdoor shopping area. 35 Minutes from Dubai International Airport, close to Dubai Media City, Jebel Ali Free Zone, two of Dubai's biggest shopping malls, and three prestigious golf clubs. Leisure facilities: Beauty Salon, Infini-pool, Health Club, Sauna and Steam room. One restaurant and three lounges present truly international flavors. A dedicated Inspired Meetings team meets the needs of business travellers. Free wi-fi and a separate meetings floor ensure a satisfactory business operation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Odigeo, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotelopia, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing