We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I just wouldn't recommend it”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Media Rotana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Media Rotana
Ranked #139 of 540 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Magnitogorsk, Russia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“I just wouldn't recommend it”
Reviewed 16 May 2012

My reviews are usually very positive, mostly because I do some due diligence before choosing a hotel, but this one is the exception. I stayed in 100+ hotels on 5 continents, but this experience was the most ridiculous of all.
We stayed there by recommendation of our friends, whom we were visiting. We had issues straight from the start. When we showed up we were told that the room type we booked is not available, so we have to stay in a more expensive room. Even though we had the reservation confirmation on hand with the price and the amount clearly stated, the reception told us they can't help it. I am sorry, this is completely crazy! Never seen that happening elsewhere. So they placed us in an "apartment-like" room (not sure what was the official name), the next day my husband had a talk with the manager and they switched us to the type of room we booked initially. Ok, so we were switching rooms, warned the reception and the bellboy that our bags have to be moved, and guess what - in the evening when we got the keys from our new room, we found out that our luggage is lost, and nobody knows where it is. After 3+ hours of searching it was located - ta-da!- in our initial room where nobody cared to move it.
Should I even mention that we specifically stated in our reservation that we need a smoke-free room, reconfirmed it upon arrival and got a room that was STINKY with tobacco?
We also had a huge misunderstanding with the visa payment, because the hotel helped us with the visa and our friend who is from Dubai paid them for our visa directly (because we needed it urgently and the hotel said that the wire transfer might take too long). Then, they STILL charged us for the visa and it took our friend weeks to get his money back.
Can't comment on breakfast - it looked too expensive so we had ours elsewhere.
The hotel also owns a night club which is obviously very popular with the expat crowd: first, you will hear the sound of the music until morning if you're lucky enough to have the windows of your room on the club. Second, the ladies visiting the club are wearing very little... anything except for makeup... so I would definitely not recommend this place for a family stay (although I've heard it's good for business trips)
On the good side, the hotel is pretty modern, looks nice and AC works well

Room Tip: Ask for the ones not facing the club. Although this wouldn't help: we asked and they pretended t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Olga F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,675 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    758
    616
    183
    59
    59
See reviews for
281
336
107
698
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

This is one of the best Rotana Hotels in Dubai, rooms are comfortable and stylish with a business touch. Service is excellent wherever you go. This is my 10th stay in this property and keeps exceeding my expectations every time i go.
As a frequent visitor to majoprity of Rotana hotels in UAE this hotel is my 1st choice in Dubai and offers exceptional great value for money
well done all

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rani78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karachi, Pakistan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Rooms are good and clean except my room's carpet had stains and clear signs of being worn out. Bed was comfortable. Over all, I will say that this hotel has a very good and smiling staff, who always welcomed with a smile whether it was in elevator, in the lobby or anywhere else in the hotel and were always ready to do what you asked for. The breakfast is good however, in my opinion, was not upto the mark of a 5* hotel. The location is away from center but then, this is where Dubai is expanding to now. Initially, we were given a small room with a very small toilet however, this was quickly changed as soon I made a complaint after checking in. The staff is very cooperative and never says no to you. I was sent a birthday cake to my room and the guy who brought it also wished me, this was a surprise and a very good gesture. Over all, a very good hotel with excellent staff if they can look into the minor things that will make this good hotel an outstanding hotel.

Room Tip: ask for room facing sheikh zayed road and not for a pool facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imranz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012 via mobile

Our stay at media rotana in the Internet city/media city area was wonderful. The rooms are spacious, the staff is very friendly and always willing to help with any questions. The concierge, Kenneth and the greeter at the front desk, Emna from Tunisia were so friendly and always greeted us by our names. The both of them were always there to answer all our questions and greet us making us feel welcomed.
The breakfast buffet was delicious.
The pool /patio area was really nice area where you could smoke sisha/hookah.

Stayed May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Yei J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MediaRotanaDubai, General Manager at Media Rotana, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor

I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were happy with the hotel facilities and services provided by our colleagues. Thank you for mentioning so many positive elements about Media Rotana Hotel.

Thank you once again for your feedback and it would be our privilege to welcome you back in the near future.


Kind regards,

Rabih Melhem
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut Lebanon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

I was very pleased with hotel's service, room cleanliness, but the buffet breakfast although very rich is bit expensive at around 25 US$ per person. The staff is extremely friendly. The location is ok. Only 5 mn drive away from the Mall of the Emirates

Room Tip: ask for higher floors for quiter rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RamziM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
0.3 km away
Grand Millennium Dubai
Grand Millennium Dubai
#53 of 540 in Dubai
980 reviews
0.8 km away
TIME Oak Hotel & Suites
TIME Oak Hotel & Suites
#105 of 540 in Dubai
557 reviews
5.2 km away
Bonnington Jumeirah Lakes Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Auris Plaza Hotel
Auris Plaza Hotel
#136 of 540 in Dubai
965 reviews
13.4 km away
Villa Rotana - Dubai
Villa Rotana - Dubai
#82 of 540 in Dubai
760 reviews
18.1 km away
Jumeira Rotana
Jumeira Rotana
#182 of 540 in Dubai
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Media Rotana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Media Rotana

Property: Media Rotana
Address: Media Rotana Hessa St | Barsha Heights, Dubai 503030, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Business Hotel in Dubai
#83 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#95 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#110 Family Hotel in Dubai
#128 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price range (per night): $100 - $288
Hotel Class:5 star — Media Rotana 5*
Number of rooms: 536
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arrive at Media Rotana to find yourself greeted with a feeling of contemporary luxury. Imagine dramatic architecture and design where you are offered privacy, personalized service and peerless facilities. We take pride in offering you the best of everything; stylish restaurants, modern rooms and friendly service. Whether your stay in Dubai is for business or pleasure, it should be a worry-free experience that delights you. So choose Media Rotana and we assure you the best stay away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Odigeo, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Hotelopia so you can book your Media Rotana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Media Rotana, Barsha - Dubai Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing