We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Defied all expectations!”
Review of Atlantis, The Palm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Atlantis, The Palm
Ranked #99 of 545 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
surrey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Defied all expectations!”
Reviewed 25 February 2012

I really didn't want to go to Dubai, especially to a monster Vegas style hotel dumped at the end of a stagnant sand bar. How wrong I was and shame on all those people who had told me how 'soulless' Dubai was. There are lots of places you can go to for culture and whatever else holiday snobs who read Mr and Mrs Smith tell you is required of a top holiday destination, but I'll tell you when you have a 2 and 5 year old I defy you not to come back from a stay at the Atlantis having had a great holiday with exceptional low levels of stress.

Emirates from Gatwick amazing and no need for premium economy as the quality of their economy shames everyone else.

Clean efficient airport, aircon cabs as standard.

On arrival at Atlantis offered upgrade to suite, showed us our room, so big and clean no need to upgrade .

Breakfast every morning at Saffron restaurant was amazing, literally anything you want. Amazing.

Loads of loungers by the pool, great kids pool, lifeguards not the most observant but stick a life jacket on ASAP when near the pool.

Walk to the service road, jump on a golf buggy and pop in to Aquaventure for a couple of hours, quick go on the leap of faith, buggy back, bit more swimming, that is the great thing we could do a couple of hours everyday in water park without having to make a big deal out of it.
We also did the whole Dolphin experience which was amazing and worth every penny.

Having the aquarium in the hotel gave the kids a real kick every time they saw it.

Used crèche once when mums went out en masse, kids had a good time.

Only quibble is that a number of the restaurants have been removed from the half board option and the kids food is so reasonable I wouldn't go half board and just go to whichever restaurant you fancy. Burger joint great. Steak house great. The time difference meant kids stayed on uk time so got up at 8-9 and came out to dinner with us till 11 so no need for baby sitters. Staff all super helpful, we may be back twice this year as it is great for out of season sun with North Africa off the map at the moment and Cyprus regullarly disappointing with weather and service.
The heat is dry, no insects, all good.

See you there!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank reigatedad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16,401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10,758
    3,288
    1,321
    531
    503
See reviews for
8,505
4,445
206
606
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,683)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We just returned from a 5 day trip to Dubai where we stayed at the Atlantis. We arrived around 9:00 am from an overnight international flight with our 3.5 year old. We were immediately escorted to a special room for those who booked an Imperial Club room. As a silver Emirates member I was upgraded to a room with a balcony and great view of the beach area. We were taken to our room and given a thorough explanation of our benefits by staying on the Club level floor. I had waffled about booking club level as it does cost more but it was a great decision. You get breakfast included: in the Club Lounge, any of the restaurants or room service!!! This was great and we utlized each option. The Lounge has a kids area with toys, a TV, kid-sized tables etc. Our son loved it. Another great thing you get included when booking club level is morning and afternoon access to the Kid's Club. That place was fantastic. It is harder on the smaller ones if they are shy but it has alot to do. The older your child and more self-sufficient the better though. In the afternoon from3-5 the Lounge has Tea and snacks. You can really make a meal of this.... sandwiches, scones, fruit, cookies, etc. The from 6-8 is Happy Hour and canapes. All you can drink - good bar selection, sushi, appetizers, etc. If you want you could eat all day in the Lounge if you tijme your meals.

The hotel has AquaAdventure and The Lost Chambers aquarium as part of the hotel. Both are amazing. I had a blast at AquaAdventure - I hadn't been to a water park in years and really enjoyed this. The smaller kids area is very fun with a ship and slides. We also enjoyed the river with rapids. The Lost Chambers is mesmerizing with the amount of fish housed there. There was a HUGE parrot fish, sharks, sting rays, tuna, etc. The set-up is that of a submerged Atlantis. It is done very well.

The beach is well groomed and so many loungers are set up. No problem finding a seat. The pools are VERY large and there are life guards actively patroling them. I was impressed with the safety - I rarely see pools staffed like this.

I had 3 services at the Spa. It is huge but very well organized. I had a Balinese massage by a lday from Thailand, scrub by a lady from Ukraine and a spray tan from a laday from Indonesia. They have such an incredible International staff who are all fantastic. Get an initial consultation and you will be happy to understand what services are appropriate for you and if there is anything unusual you may need to plan for. As a Club level guest you get access to the sauna - use it, it is really nice.

The rooms are comfortable, nice sized bathroom, water is dropped each day in addition to coffee and tea. My only suggestion here is to offer pillow choices. I did not care for the down (flat) pillows.

You will see people from all over the world here. There are 2 towers and it seemed that one tower is booked for those visitors from the Middle East and the other tower for Westerners.

I will definitely visit here again. It is an easy ride from the airport and to the malls. The shopping is great!

Room Tip: Ask for a beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Geogrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

If you like paying £11 for a pint of beer, £30+ for an evening buffet and enjoy the company of literally thousands of people on your well earned vacation then this is the place for you.
Taken in by all the hype, publicity and advertising in the press we decided to take the plunge. After all our trips to the Jumeirah Beach and the Hatta Fort/Jebel Ali had been superb. Unfortunately despite the beautiful fish tanks and competitor with Jumeirah's Wild Wadi park this was like - to echo a previous reviewers comments - like a very expensive Benidorm.
The place was packed with screaming kids and loads of tourists who come visiting for the Aquaadventure water park, etc. The only time we could afford to drink alcohol was during Happy Hour when a small can of heineken or a bottle of Sol set us back nearly £4. A draft Heineken was averaging £8+ and on our arrival with no sign of a welcome drink we managed to get 2 bottles of peroni each poured into a pint glass for over £11. As the bar was closing staff were clearing everything away around us, switching on lights and turning off the music.
On the plus side the food was superb. A fresh, cosmopolitan selection including lobster, crab and oysters in the Saffron buffet was complemented with the parisian style breakfast buffet at the french restaurant. The Kaleidoscope restaurant was like something out of Butlins or Warner Brothers with kids running and screaming everywhere. No wonder as the chocolate fountain included an array of sugary sweets and we saw many youngsters indulging at nearly midnight. no wonder the corridors were filled in the early hours with crying or running kids!
If you're looking for a quiet, relaxing break this isn't the place for you. If you want somewhere where the kids can have a great time and you can occassionally throw caution to the wind and go down the Leap of faith, then give it a go. but be prepared to pay a lot of money for the privilege and make sure you're fit. We used the clinic and was charged £70+ for a consultation and some eye drops. God bless the NHS.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank angelofthedawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havant
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights on the way to the Maldives for our Honeymoon. Upon arriving at the hotel at about 0900am we were upgraded and shown our room straight away, the bell boy was excellent explained how everything worked in the room and was very helpful, we were upgraded to an Atlantis room it was lovely on the tenth floor with great views a huge bathroom and a terrace area.

We spent our 3 days exploring the hotel we went to the lost chambers (very good) the aqua adventure which was brilliant for all ages including grown up kids lol we ate at the buffet, the Italian and the edge the service was good everywhere and the food above average.

Overall I couldn't recommend this hotel enough it is huge, but it is amazing for anyone who likes the finer things in life but still likes a bit of fun!!!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JustlookingHavant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Stayed at the Atlantis, the Palm, for 1 week in February. Second time in Atlantis and it was just as good as the last time.

If you can, get a club room, especially if you have kid. Free snacks all day is perfect for children.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrlindberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
7.0 km away
Burj Al Arab Jumeirah
Burj Al Arab Jumeirah
#30 of 545 in Dubai
4,145 reviews
1.9 km away
Sofitel Dubai The Palm Resort & Spa
3.6 km away
Jumeirah Zabeel Saray
Jumeirah Zabeel Saray
#49 of 545 in Dubai
5,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Waldorf Astoria Dubai Palm Jumeirah
3.3 km away
Fairmont The Palm, Dubai
23.2 km away
Raffles Dubai
Raffles Dubai
#2 of 545 in Dubai
3,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantis, The Palm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantis, The Palm

Property: Atlantis, The Palm
Address: Crescent Road | The Palm Island, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Dubai
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Dubai
#42 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#43 Family Hotel in Dubai
#63 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#92 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price range (per night): $402 - $1,825
Hotel Class:5 star — Atlantis, The Palm 5*
Number of rooms: 1539
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atlantis is the majestic resort in Dubai situated on The Palm, a man-made island that has captured the world’s imagination with its magnificent scale and ingenuity.From the moment you arrive, you will be immersed in a dazzling world of imagination, pleasure and 5 star luxury. The resort offers relaxation and thrills for couples and families alike, including a landmark hotel, unique marine habitats, an exhilarating water park, pristine white beaches, world-class cuisine, indulgent spa and cosmopolitan boutiques. To stay or visit is to live out your dreams amidst warm Arabian seas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Odigeo, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Ctrip TA, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Hotelopia and getaroom.com so you can book your Atlantis, The Palm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantis The Palm Dubai
Atlantis The Palm Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing