We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (1,260)
Filter reviews
1,260 results
Traveller rating
519
420
196
72
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
519
420
196
72
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful hotel oldest hotel main building garden view tea house soup standard room persian garden saffron ice cream public areas new wing coffee shop beautiful architecture tea room traditional restaurant central courtyard international standards
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 1,260 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Lavish, opulent, palatial, genteel and unique, the public areas of this hotel are an appeal to the eyes. Formerly known as the Shah Abbas hotel, this historic hotel is the oldest hotel in the world built more than 300 years ago as a caravanserai which has been renovated since the 1950’s. This hotel is an architectural marvel with impressive and lavish indoor halls, hallways, staircases, and salons, in addition to magnificent outdoor spaces all reminiscent of opulent Persian gardens. A definite must when visiting Isphahan, Iran.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Maps18631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018 via mobile

We just ate dinner at the abbasi hotel as we wanted to see the garden, so this post only refers to the restaurant and not to the hotel itself.
Prices at the restaurant are really high, so we expected acceptable food and at least average service (here maybe it's worth mentioning that we are students so our expectations are not that high).
What we got instead: The main meal was served even if we didn't finish our appetizer yet (a soup). As we asked them to bring the meal 5 minutes later so we could finish, the waiter answered shortly that the meal will probably get cold in the mean time. Fortunately we were already used to it, as our soup was served cold as well. Also it didn't make a huge difference, as the meal (a steak) was a piece of stone with a spoon of old sauce on it. Other basic rules of service were not obeyed either.
Unfortunately even a nice ambiente can not compensate everything...

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank samira_a234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

We were a group of 11 and we all loved the place. We were in the Pardis suits. Lovely large sized rooms on the first floor with balcony. Tea and coffee in the room. 4 bottles of water a day.
We had booked with breakfast and it was well worth it.
The hotel is very old but they renovate it on a regular basis. Everything was in good working order.
The garden was absolutely fantastic. The cinnamon tea and mint tea and ash reshteh were fab. We would sit there for hours and enjoy it. Kids would play and run around. It was great.
The main restaurant was not that good. Very very mediocre at best. The fast food in the garden was lovely. Good quality. Reasonably priced and good service.
Location wise was amazing. Near Naghsh-e Jahan Sq. And a short taxi drive to most tourist attractions.
I strongly recommend this hotel. I would for sureeeee go back.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Sahar79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2018 via mobile

The hotel has a fantastic location and grand shared spaces, but the rooms were extremely old fashioned: I’ve read that the part were I was staying was created by the Shah, and probably that the was the last time they worked on that wing.
In particular my room was also quite dirty (stains in the carpet, not properly vacuumed cleaned, a used soap in the bathroom). The toilet blocked, even if following the rules of the hotel.
The staff was helpful, but not particularly nice nor efficient.
It was not dreadful, but for sure I would not consider this a 5 stars hotel, not according to any standard, nor western nor Iranian.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Zilv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018

Excellent Hotel, especially the gardens and the cafe. The rooms are quite big although we needed 10 min to walk to the breakfast lounge. The breakfast buffet is absolutely perfect, with continental and traditional specilaties.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MariaDiamanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews