We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (65)
Filter reviews
65 results
Traveller rating
16
16
13
16
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
16
16
13
16
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 65 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2015

I don't want to waste my time and yours by repeating everything that has already been said.
Yes, it's old, but it's well kept. The metallic elevators are fine by the way. You are not paying for elevators. The room decor and wood paneling is a bit of a time warp once you step in it, but the place is really okay when you get used to it. But the TV is modern and flat, no one can say no updating has occurred because clearly TV's have been replaced.

Check out the pool at night. There are multicolored lights in it. The place is so old fashioned including waiter and bell hop uniforms. Come on, the room internet is not that bad. It does work-most of the time. A few times it did go out but only for a minute or two, then I was able to get back on again right away. I mean if you're trying to do enormous downloads that's different, but for routine things it's fine and free.

Location and price can't be beat. They should just tell you they can give you access to the gym across the street. They shouldn't even bother telling you there is a gym "inside." Really, you don't want to see it. But this place is not a one or two star rating, that is just hypercritical. If that's how you feel then only stay in 5 star accommodations. The big room keys? What a laugh, how much more old fashioned can you get.

Also, this place has 3 o'clock check out. The room service menu is available 24 hours a day, the entire menu. These things make it a very guest friendly hotel in my mind.

The Sands reminds me of a hotel I often stayed at in California in the 70's and 80's. Another reviewer mentioned something about this place also reminded them of an old hotel in California. It too had multicolored lights I remember as a child.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the pool.
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank desertdiablo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2015

3 Star Hotel, positioned in a lively central area. 3 floors but spread horizontally .
Spent 3 nights there on B/B basis. A very old hotel but kept in a reasonably good clean condition. Still using the old door keys- old shabby small elevators.. Decorated with old wooden panels and a lots of wall mounted mirrors...
Owned and run by Lebanese people as it reminds you of similar hotels in Beirut.
room spacious same size as Holiday Inn rooms... water in shower powerful . Equipped with a mini fridge .
Breakfast very basic and you can order eggs to your liking.. Coffee provided from a press button machine...

Wi Fi free but extremely slow in rooms and a waste of time to use...

Hotel is in a very nice area where you have a lot of choices of restaurants and coffee shops just a walking distant away.

If I need to go back to Jeddah on another business trip this hotel will be my choice again mainly for LOCATION….

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Cameltamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2014

The hotel is great and located in the best part of Jeddah where it is surround of number of famous resturatnts and very near from malls and the famous shopping street Al Tahliah. The food in the hotel is great.

Will stay in the hotel again in my next visit to Jeddah

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fernando A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2014 via mobile

I just checked out from the hotel, has a great location, most the nice restaurant and shopping centers are near by. You can walk though. The room service is like a 5 stars hotel. Good job Sands hotel; the great value on the top of all these. Don't hesitate to stay over there, believe me you won't regret if you are going for business or pleasure. The hotel has a nice restaurant, beside a Japanese restaurant ( Benihana) and the best Shawarma place in jeddah are attached to the hotel and Pul cafe as well. Finally, thank you reception for the hospitality.

Stayed: December 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Nowaiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2014

Great hotel with excellent service and great value. Best garlic chicken sandwich in Jeddah, hands down. The hotel has very friendly staff, clean rooms and an ideal atmosphere for a family getaway. Definitely recommended while visiting Jeddah.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank amd707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews